ermm..., gold ring or 'O' ring?Originally posted by |3rYaN®:hi, juz recently my mechanic told me its time for my spocket n chain to be change.. he is charging me $80 for e set of original spocket n chain n $150 for a better n much durable chain which he say will last.. dunno pronounce as wat "ring" something lidat de.. so juz to check with u guys izt worthwhile for e set of spocket n chain or u guys can recommend me some better workshop tat charge at a more afforadable price.. thanx..
hmm i think if never heard wrongly shud be 'O' ring lor..Originally posted by milkshake:ermm..., gold ring or 'O' ring?
haha, sckali kips use 'wedding ring'
ya.. heard frm my frds tat hkl quite a gd workshop to go to.. thx.. btw can i ask wats e difference btw all tis different chains.. nt so familiar with chains stuff n heard frm soem forums tat "DID" chains is much better.. wats e dif. frm wat "gold" ring, "O" ring n "DID"Originally posted by TZR:can lah, change lor, change orginal or not, as long as its for kips can liao. Chain and sprocket is "durable" or "not durable" nia. Better get a durable one coz if not will slack and spoil very fast.
Hock Kim Leong at Bt Merah sells these stuffs at very cheap prices, can check it out if you want.
Chains comes in different brands. Daytona, D.I.D, RK etc.Originally posted by |3rYaN®:ya.. heard frm my frds tat hkl quite a gd workshop to go to.. thx.. btw can i ask wats e difference btw all tis different chains.. nt so familiar with chains stuff n heard frm soem forums tat "DID" chains is much better.. wats e dif. frm wat "gold" ring, "O" ring n "DID"
icic.. finally i get wat it all means hee.. thanx for advice.. think i shall get a x-ring ba since it sounds so gd n durableOriginally posted by TZR:Chains comes in different brands. Daytona, D.I.D, RK etc.
RK and D.I.D are the very top graded brands of chains available.
Normally there's 3 kind of chains,
1.) Normal
2.) O-ring
3.) X-ring
I think D.I.D and RK carries only O-ring and X-ring. Gold is just the colour, looks more nice.
O-ring is the technology that traps the grease in every gap of the rings so that your chain will stay lubricated all the times, and to prevent it from drying so fast.
X-ring has the newer technology, to trap the grease in it.
So i suggest, u get a X-ring chain. (i'm using for the moment) D.I.D or RK, also very good, up to you.
And lastly, O-ring and X-rings lasts very long and very durable, provided u lubracate it frequently, and take good care of it.