PLEASE NOTE IF YOU CANT answer them, you are just an empty vessel
For the benefit of those who are not able to distinguish between what an atheist is and what a secular organisation is.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atheism
Atheism, as an explicit position, either affirms the nonexistence of gods or rejects theism. When defined more broadly, atheism is the absence of belief in deities,alternatively called nontheism. Although atheism is often equated with irreligion, some religious philosophies, such as Jainism, secular theology and some varieties of Buddhism such as Theravada do not include belief in a personal god as a tenet of the religion.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Secularism
Secularism is generally the assertion that certain practices or institutions should exist separately from religion or religious belief. Alternatively, it is a principle of promoting secular ideas or values in either public or private settings over religious ways of thought.
These are the advantages, why are you dismissing them????? please state reasons, since you have said this.
you havent answered them
like the way you define, Atheism do not equal to Secularism, but however, atheism can be a subset of secularism, since secularism DO NOT link practices with religion, how does it proved that these two are mutually exclusive? if atheism do not believe in god? Please dun just copy and paste wholesale without even reading or understanding.
Ok how is it even relevant to my earlier question of: since you have already said that its your group doing it, then why not do more? are you just trying to be selfish and not help them? poor thing, is it even an excuse for not doing something, as my religion have done so? is there even a limit for charity?
Originally posted by snowfoxx:how do you define a rant? lol, funny your own self defination? i have stated the
AIMS, OBJECTIVES and CONCLUSION, in all my posts
let me put in to you in this way
AIM: TO HELP CANCER PATIENTS AND PROVE TO THE WORLD CHRIST EXIST
OBJECTIVES: TO COME TOGTHER AND SHOW THE WORLD HOW, BY MY EARLIER STATED EXAMPLE
CONCLUSION: TO PROVE YOUSELF CORRECT.
like what i have said earlier, you can help cancer patients and spread the love of god. These are the advantages, why are you dismissing them?, please give reasons, instead of self imploding and cry fould play
These are the advantages, why are you dismissing them????? please state reasons, since you have said this.
err... I am not dismissing the objectives.... I am dismissing YOU as an intelligent person.
as stated by some, cancer patients, plus people who are sick through other illnesses and people with various social disorder are being help. there are various religious organisation already doing it.
Helping Hands and Fei Yue Community are some of them, and if you actually read the newspaper, you will come across various individual Christians and organisations that does lots of good work for the sick and the needy.... but of course, YOU can choose to ignore these.... it's up to up and it does not bug me a single bit.... as I'd said, you're just ranting... like a spoilt kid.
Originally posted by snowfoxx:PLEASE NOTE IF YOU CANT answer them, you are just an empty vessel
This one if funny
, after all the crap you've posted....
Up to you lah.... we let the readers decide who the empty vessel is.
i am not asking new questions, answer them and stop diverting the questions, you can dun answer them, if you can't, its ok
you have not even managed to answer one question. its sad
Originally posted by snowfoxx:like the way you define, Atheism do not equal to Secularism, but however, atheism can be a subset of secularism, since secularism DO NOT link practices with religion, how does it proved that these two are mutually exclusive? if atheism do not believe in god? Please dun just copy and paste wholesale without even reading or understanding.
Ok how is it even relevant to my earlier question of: since you have already said that its your group doing it, then why not do more? are you just trying to be selfish and not help them? poor thing, is it even an excuse for not doing something, as my religion have done so? is there even a limit for charity?
yes atheism is a subset of secularism, but the Cancer Society of Singapore is NOT an atheist organisation. So inherently you are still wrong. If you right, please prove that the Cancer Society of Singapore IS AN ATHEISTIC ORGANISATION.
i copy wholesale but i also left a link for you to read more, because you were obviously wrong and know nothing about the difference between atheism and secularism.
why not do more? do more according to who? to you? an imbecile?
there is no limit to charity, so inspite of what i'd said Christians have done, apparently it is still insufficient to you.... but in the first place why are we accountable to you?
fact is, Christians and folks of various relgions have done a lot to the society....
please name one openly atheistic organisation doing good social work.
Lets grow up and stop undermining others to insult, reason out, ok, hahaha, make a statement and support it, i can see you making statements but not supporting it and running away from questions
Originally posted by snowfoxx:you have not even managed to answer one question. its sad
it's all in your kind dude. answers are already given, but you either refuse to see it or is a total moron.
anyway I am going for dinner now, so have a good day.
Originally posted by snowfoxx:Lets grow up and stop undermining others to insult, reason out, ok, hahaha, make a statement and support it, i can see you making statements but not supporting it and running away from questions
go check helping hands and fei yue website.... these are christian organisations doing good work.
support? what have you supported your arguments about Christians not doing good works?
as I'd said, you are doing nothing but ranting.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:yes atheism is a subset of secularism, but the Cancer Society of Singapore is NOT an atheist organisation. So inherently you are still wrong. If you right, please prove that the Cancer Society of Singapore IS AN ATHEISTIC ORGANISATION.
i copy wholesale but i also left a link for you to read more, because you were obviously wrong and know nothing about the difference between atheism and secularism.
why not do more? do more according to who? to you? an imbecile?
there is no limit to charity, so inspite of what i'd said Christians have done, apparently it is still insufficient to you.... but in the first place why are we accountable to you?
fact is, Christians and folks of various relgions have done a lot to the society....
please name one openly atheistic organisation doing good social work.
aiyo, you have been killed by your own words again, since you said that atheism is a subset AND the cancer society is a secular organisation, then obviously, atheism fractions would exist within this organistaion right? since they are not mutually exclusive, i am a member of the cancer society FYI. yeah........
for the accountable part, yes you are not accountable to me for any good work and charity that you should do, but are you accountable to god? to preach and spread the love? you are isnt that? and my proposal is nicely in line, i thought of this for you le :)
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
go check helping hands and fei yue website.... these are christian organisations doing good work.support? what have you supported your arguments about Christians not doing good works?
as I'd said, you are doing nothing but ranting.
if you check earlier i have said that i know christist organsation are doing good deeds, but atheism has also done more in fact, AND it have absolutely no link with you doing more good deeds, IS there even a limit on good deed? (previous question)
The grand of question that is still left unanswered: These are the advantages, why are you dismissing them????? please state reasons, since you have said this.
still not answered...
Originally posted by snowfoxx:if you check earlier i have said that i know christist organsation are doing good deeds, but atheism has also done more in fact
Are there many atheistic organizations doing good deeds?
If you say atheists doing good deeds, I believe you. However, they will join a secular organization, not an atheistic one. It is hard for an atheistic organization to thrive doing social work and be well received by the public.
Originally posted by Icemoon:Are there many atheistic organizations doing good deeds?
If you say atheists doing good deeds, I believe you. However, they will join a secular organization, not an atheistic one. It is hard for an atheistic organization to thrive doing social work and be well received by the public.
actually i'm more curious to know how he knows that athiests do more good works than ppl in religion. shrugs.
why would u say that, icemoon?
say what?
Originally posted by snowfoxx:if you check earlier i have said that i know christist organsation are doing good deeds, but atheism has also done more in fact, AND it have absolutely no link with you doing more good deeds, IS there even a limit on good deed? (previous question)
actually, on questions not answered, you have a some too... I have asked polite before, name one openly Atheistic organsation doing good work.
I have another.... how so has atheism "DONE MORE"?
The Cancer Society thing? The website is still down. Sure you can belong to one, but find me ONE clause in their vision statement that states that they are ATHEISTIC and maybe you have a case. I would think the cancer society will be deeply offended if you want to label them as atheistic. You know, once their website is up again, I will write them a note and ask them officially, if they are atheistic. That will settle the score, wouldn't you say. If, however, you have another link to the Cancer Society of Singapore, please be so kind as to share it with me so that I can find out by either writing in or calling them.
So far, you've done nothing but rant and kpkb. You have not provided anything even remotely substantial to support your arguments except making dubious claims without evidence...
There are many atheists who have issues with religious organisations. Many of these are extremely intelligent individuals whom I enjoy discussion with....
Most certainly, you are not one of them.
Originally posted by Icemoon:Are there many atheistic organizations doing good deeds?
Actually, that's also my point, but I am trying not to sound offensive to the atheists who may read this in the wrong way.
Originally posted by snowfoxx:for the accountable part, yes you are not accountable to me for any good work and charity that you should do, but are you accountable to god? to preach and spread the love? you are isnt that? and my proposal is nicely in line, i thought of this for you le :)
...so what do you know about me that you think I am not doing any good work and preach and spread the love.????
...if you are as atheistic as you say you are... then God does not exist in your universe. If God does not exist in your universe, why are so worried about what God is going to do to me?
...my business with God, is.... my business with God.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:actually i'm more curious to know how he knows that atheists do more good works than ppl in religion. shrugs.
yup, it's one of the greatest mysteries of the day...
how do quantify "more" good deeds? the man (oops, sorry, I meant to say boy) is truly a genius.
he is unable to quote any atheistic charitable organisation, and there are many good religion based charitable organisation all over Singapore catering to different groups, yet he says that atheists do more good work....
and he gets into the murky definition of atheists being a subset of secularism, therefore the conclusion is secular organisations are atheistic....
i betcha that most secular organisation WILL NOT WANT TO BE labelled as atheistic.
Found this short but telling note....
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20071123063457AAyfOP2
Ok the whole point is from the start, not about which organisation doing more good work and stuff, but Chin Eng with her ability to side track and stuff just brought us to have a go around her garden,
the point rather being that my proposal being benefitical to her religion and the community and why is she not giving reasons for not accepting it? unless she retains doubts or an lack of faith to back out from it.
She has already stated her intention to do good, : "
...so what do you know about me that you think I am not doing any
good work and preach and spread the love.????"
then i have provided her a tailor made chance for her to convince us of god, i am sure dumbdumb and co and the rest of the world who has seen her feat to become devotees, and achieve her calling, but it seems she has her own doubts and reservations
chin eng's a girl? i've always thought... chin eng's a guy!
Originally posted by Chin Eng:
...so what do you know about me that you think I am not doing any good work and preach and spread the love.????...if you are as atheistic as you say you are... then God does not exist in your universe. If God does not exist in your universe, why are so worried about what God is going to do to me?
...my business with God, is.... my business with God.
obviously you can do whatever with your life, but think again, do you and your fellow friends preach? if so then you have just stepped into the boundaries of other.
for starters, you participating so actively in such a public forum as a christian, has already highlighted the fact that your words are intended to be read by other people of the public, if you are truly sincere about keeping your religion as a 'personal thing' like how you said, then keep a diary for your god's sake
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:chin eng's a girl? i've always thought... chin eng's a guy!
lol, haha really? i judged on behavior, 'it tends' to be more emotional than logical