Originally posted by dumbdumb!:lol, it still doesn't change the fact that you did illustrate my point rather well.
like i said, i've long given up in contesting facts and reasoning. people have pretty much shown that they only believe and agree only when they want to, regardless whether it is right or wrong, good or bad, fact or fable, evident or theory.
ha ha ha go tell your pastor and other pastors the way you treat people and see if they agree with you. ha ha ha ha ha. ha ha ha ha! you are accountable to god. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.
reverse psychology backfires
Originally posted by Midlusionz:Yes that's no perfect idea.
Hence, everyone have their own defination and limit of "unloving" and "loving".
For example like, "oh, this person is loving" commented by a person mean there's something the person might or have done to deserve the comments from someone ma.
It does not need to be "approve" by others that "nah, that's not even loving" which in this case might be the defination of loving of the person who commented.
Love is complex so dun make it even more complex by analzying till one go paralzye lol.
lol. bad habit.
but i think it's a bad idea to use your own definition to determine what is considered to be "loving" or "not loving".
because firstly, your own definition is going to be flawed.
if christians are going to be forever labelled as "unloving" because of their desire to share the gospel, then so be it. i think it borderlines as pathetic to need to appeal to them just so they can listen to what they need to hear. like cajoling a kid to study hard because it's good for his future
but, i know. that's unloving. lol, it's just my own conclusion
Originally posted by Fantagf:
ha ha ha go tell your pastor and other pastors the way you treat people and see if they agree with you. ha ha ha ha ha. ha ha ha ha! you are accountable to god. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.reverse psychology backfires
actually, i didn't even use reverse psychology. all i did was just to analyse it and put it out there. i didn't even intend to convince you of anything, because like i've said, people only agree or believe when they want to.
i simply did it, because i thought it was interesting to see how you rationalize
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:that's only because she didn't step on your toes by challenging your thoughts and ideas. if she suddenly did that, i won't be surprised if you retract that compliment.
then i will question it again.
a person is either "peaceful" or "quarrelsome", "good" or "nasty". it's in that person's nature - which doesn't really change.
so if kager one day decides to challenge a thought process of yours, would you still think she's nice?
Ahaha... I do have lots of challenging thoughts... Oh yes I have... Lots of them...
Let us do all things in love then... We know that meat to one man is poison to another... I can't please everyone la... =D
I'll try to use scriptures as a base guideline... So that whatever we say will be within context and leave no room for baseless challenges...
And... I'm a "He", not a "She"
Kager =/= Kay Girl
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:actually, i didn't even use reverse psychology. all i did was just to analyse it and put it out there. i didn't even intend to convince you of anything, because like i've said, people only agree or believe when they want to.
i simply did it, because i thought it was interesting to see how you rationalize
ha ha ha ha ha hah. the next time i meet a pastor i will ask. ha ha ha haha ha ha
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:lol. bad habit.
but i think it's a bad idea to use your own definition to determine what is considered to be "loving" or "not loving".
because firstly, your own definition is going to be flawed.
if christians are going to be forever labelled as "unloving" because of their desire to share the gospel, then so be it. i think it borderlines as pathetic to need to appeal to them just so they can listen to what they need to hear.
but, i know. that's unloving. lol, it's just my own conclusion
Let's put it this way ..
There's this girl i might think she is hawt and pretty while maybe u dun think so.
Why did u think that she's just normal? Cos we got different defination of pretty and hawt.
As for unloving and loving .. There's no forcing of u to believe or think its loving or unloving. This might be my limit of praising ppl of being loving and that maybe your defination of labeling as unloving.
My defination is not = to ppl's defination and no i dun force them to take up my defination of things.
As for religion stuff, i do not wish to touch on that as i always believe in respecting other ppl religion like how i respect mine.
Originally posted by kager82:Ahaha... I do have lots of challenging thoughts... Oh yes I have... Lots of them...
Let us do all things in love then... We know that meat to one man is poison to another... I can't please everyone la... =D
I'll try to use scriptures as a base guideline... So that whatever we say will be within context and leave no room for baseless challenges...
And... I'm a "He", not a "She"
Kager =/= Kay Girl
exactly. we can't please everyone. so why are you so concerned with whether youyayu appealed to fantagf or not?
it's obvious she only believes or agrees when she wants to, regardless how she is being treated.
i don't know really. because i'm the type, if i think something is off, i'll just be blunt about it.
haha, sorry, i thought you were a girl. you know, ger is pronounced the same way? hahah. sorry sorry.
ha ha ha ha ha hah. the next time i meet a pastor i will ask. ha ha ha haha ha ha
you do that =)
Originally posted by Midlusionz:Let's put it this way ..
There's this girl i might think she is hawt and pretty while maybe u dun think so.
Why did u think that she's just normal? Cos we got different defination of pretty and hawt.
As for unloving and loving .. There's no forcing of u to believe or think its loving or unloving. This might be my limit of praising ppl of being loving and that maybe your defination of labeling as unloving.
My defination is not = to ppl's defination and no i dun force them to take up my defination of things.
As for religion stuff, i do not wish to touch on that as i always believe in respecting other ppl religion like how i respect mine.
hmm, honestly, i'd love to buy into that, really.
if you don't mind me being blunt (some people here can't take it),
in christianity, we believe in an ultimate right and wrong, and the consequences of wrong isn't really comfortable.
and if we really believe that, it's very hard to... not offend you and to be sincerely loving you.
i mean, i can only either, respect you enough to leave you alone, and feel really awful and full of regret that if you missed the chance to hear the gospel, when something bad happens.
or love you enough to tell you what you need to hear, and be labelled with all kinds of nasty labels as a result of my desire to share with you.
and to be honest, it is especially difficult, when people have their own conditions and definitions thrown in to what is considered "respect" and "loving". that pretty much ties our feet and hands together.
"you are only respecting me, if i don't feel insulted". With a condition like that, it's so hard to work with. Especially if someone's really sensitive and touchy.
i really can't see how i can balance these 2 issues. heck, Jesus spoke what people needed to hear, and was crucified as a result.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:no i don't. that's why i try not to say things like
"oh, this person is loving"
"oh, this person is not loving"
simply based on their actions
because love is so.. complex? you have to see the intent, and the action and how the other person perceives love to be, and how they receive it.
any one part don't fit in nicely, and you're labeled as "unloving"
Okay dumbdumb, first "challenge" for you =P (No offence taken ar~)
"The goal of this command is love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith." (1 Timothy1:5)
Reference the scripture, we see that love comes from 3 things: Pure Heart, Good conscience and Sincere Faith. Love is not really so complex as what we want to think of...
Sometimes, after being worldly for long, we tend to want to make guesses about other people's hearts, and see if they're really sincere... (Pure Heart)
I am in this "loving" manner so far because I see no need in challenging others yet... Chirstians ought to live in harmony (even with non-Christians), so if there is no need to challenge, then don't do it because of some pride issues... =) (Good Conscience)
As Chirstians we need to uphold the image of being the ambassador of Christ, and be Christ-like: think of what Jesus will do in our shoes lor =) (Sincere Faith)
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hmm, honestly, i'd love to buy into that, really.
if you don't mind me being blunt (some people here can't take it),
in christianity, we believe in an ultimate right and wrong, and the consequences of wrong isn't really comfortable.
and if we really believe that, it's very hard to... not offend you and to be sincerely loving you.
i mean, i can only either, respect you enough to leave you alone, and feel really awful and full of regret that if you missed the chance to hear the gospel, when something bad happens.
or love you enough to tell you what you need to hear, and be labelled with all kinds of nasty labels as a result of my desire to share with you.
i really can't see how i can balance these 2 issues. heck, Jesus spoke what people needed to hear, and was crucified as a result.
Nah, i am not offended.
I mean like u need to way to spread the love right in your case, grabbing every chance to spread the word of loving. Cool with that :) but of cos if the other party do not wish to listen, i am pretty sure u will respect their decision too ya?
As for mi, i always believe in å› and æžœ which simply mean there's always a reason for something to happen so like that's no point going againest nature.
Originally posted by Midlusionz:Nah, i am not offended.
I mean like u need to way to spread the love right in your case, grabbing every chance to spread the word of loving. Cool with that :) but of cos if the other party do not wish to listen, i am pretty sure u will respect their decision too ya?
As for mi, i always believe in å› and æžœ which simply mean there's always a reason for something to happen so like that's no point going againest nature.
of course! =)
but now in this case, Fatagf don't even care to see the logic behind her statements and is more concerned with labelling others as she sees fit.
so why should christians care what they are being labeled by her at all? since her conditions and definition are totally biased and imperfect. lol.
she shoos someone, and i used it as an illustration. it's the same as me teaching a kid not to steal and using a thief who was caught as an illustration.
who's in the wrong, the thief who steals, or the one who illustrated it as an example?
lol
you sound more and more like someone else.... sure you are not a clone???
Originally posted by kager82:Okay dumbdumb, first "challenge" for you =P (No offence taken ar~)
"The goal of this command is love, which comes from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith." (1 Timothy1:5)
Reference the scripture, we see that love comes from 3 things: Pure Heart, Good conscience and Sincere Faith. Love is not really so complex as what we want to think of...
Sometimes, after being worldly for long, we tend to want to make guesses about other people's hearts, and see if they're really sincere... (Pure Heart)
I am in this "loving" manner so far because I see no need in challenging others yet... Chirstians ought to live in harmony (even with non-Christians), so if there is no need to challenge, then don't do it because of some pride issues... =) (Good Conscience)
As Chirstians we need to uphold the image of being the ambassador of Christ, and be Christ-like: think of what Jesus will do in our shoes lor =) (Sincere Faith)
yeah. it's all great you know, but when push comes to shove, are you going to keep quiet, or stand up? so far, i've only seen you stood up to believers, not for them.
another thing, i try really hard to be "loving", but i am sick of getting makan-ed like in that muslim-catholic topic.
so what i do now, is analyse it, and see how flawed their statements are, and put it out there for themselves to see.
and usually the reaction i get are well, what you just saw from fatagf. lol.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:of course! =)
but now in this case, Fatagf don't even care to see the logic behind her statements and is more concerned with labelling others as she sees fit.
so why should christians care what they are being labeled by her at all? since her conditions and definition are totally biased and imperfect. lol.
she shoos someone, and i used it as an illustration. it's the same as me teaching a kid not to steal and using a thief who was caught as an illustration.
who's in the wrong, the thief who steals, or the one who illustrated it as an example?
lol
i shall talk to pastor. as far as I know, the bible and pastors do not teach people to behave such. ha ha ha ha
bible says to forgive, bible also preaches to show love. bible states christians to bear the fruits of the spirit.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:exactly. we can't please everyone. so why are you so concerned with whether youyayu appealed to fantagf or not?
it's obvious she only believes or agrees when she wants to, regardless how she is being treated.
i don't know really. because i'm the type, if i think something is off, i'll just be blunt about it.
haha, sorry, i thought you were a girl. you know, ger is pronounced the same way? hahah. sorry sorry.
I posted the "challenge" to yyy because I want him/her to know that it is not as easy being a Christian as answering to the "altar-call" or saying the "sinner's prayers"
Something that I hoped that yyy can come to terms with after knowing that a Christian must conduct themselves worthy of the gospel (Philippians 1:27) or end up being challenged, and ever worse still, throw Jesus Christ's face (in Singporean terms) ![]()
As for the "ger" issue, I got used to it liao
... So no offence taken ![]()
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:yeah. it's all great you know, but when push comes to shove, are you going to keep quiet, or stand up? so far, i've only seen you stood up to believers, not for them.
another thing, i try really hard to be "loving", but i am sick of getting makan-ed like in that muslim-catholic topic.
so what i do now, is analyse it, and see how flawed their statements are, and put it out there for themselves to see.
wow, must mention my name in almost every post, tsk tsk tsk so forgiving huh. Bible teaches love and forgiveness, and teach people not to bear grudge.
Originally posted by Fantagf:i shall talk to pastor. as far as I know, the bible and pastors do not teach people to behave such. ha ha ha ha
bible says to forgive, bible also preaches to show love. bible states christians to bear the fruits of the spirit.
lol, in this case, aren't you supposed to forgive me then?
it's just weird that you want others to do as the bible says, but you clearly aren't having any of it. lol.
wow, must mention my name in almost every post, tsk tsk tsk so forgiving huh. Bible teaches love and forgiveness, and teach people not to bear grudge.
of course mah. i was again, illustrating you as an example. if i was really mad, i'd have been more intensed. =)
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:of course! =)
lol
From wat i see and feel, Fant was giving her pov of things and of cos there's many ways to react to it.
Originally posted by Midlusionz:From wat i see and feel, Fant was giving her pov of things and of cos there's many ways to react to it.
lol, she seems to think that the person who was doing the illustrating was more wrong than the one doing the stealing.
what do you think?
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:lol, in this case, aren't you supposed to forgive me then?
it's just weird that you want others to do as the bible says, but you clearly aren't having any of it. lol.
speak for yourself you are a christian, finger pointing as a christian gets u nowhere.
another thing, i try really hard to be "loving", but i am sick of getting makan-ed like in that muslim-catholic topic. ---> just becos u experience this you now vent all your frustrations on me, ha ha ha, where is god's love? what u experience in that thread is not my fault.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:yeah. it's all great you know, but when push comes to shove, are you going to keep quiet, or stand up? so far, i've only seen you stood up to believers, not for them.
Hope you don't mind me using scriptures again ar... ![]()
"But I tell you who hear me: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you. If someone strikes you on one cheek, turn to him the other also. If someone takes your cloak, do not stop him from taking your tunic." (Luke 6:27-29)
This is my so-call "advise" lor... Christians really not easy de... haha...
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:lol, she seems to think that the person who was doing the illustrating was more wrong than the one doing the stealing.
what do you think?
Okay, you are right all the way , even to point fingers nastily without love, all you need to do as a christian is to allow god to speak to you on such matters. go read the bible and consult mature growing christians about it.
Oh ya , i am a great sinner to you, ha ha ha hah, that is only according to your own context, do consult god about it okie. ha ha ha ah ha ha ha
speak for yourself you are a christian, finger pointing as a christian gets u nowhere.another thing, i try really hard to be "loving", but i am sick of getting makan-ed like in that muslim-catholic topic. ---> just becos u experience this you now vent all your frustrations on me, ha ha ha, where is god's love? what u experience in that thread is not my fault.
Hi, you're not a Christian are you? ![]()
Hope you forgive the limitations of the online forum, being not able to express my sincerest apologies to you if anyone of the Christians here have offended you in anyways...
But I guess, it is good if we can have constructive discussions about the bible or doctrinal issues here since its a (so-call again) Christian Forum ![]()
You interested in the Gospel? Can I share my faith with you then?