i dun think u get what i mean
the above stated are excesses and something is wrong when the congregation still approve of it
it is very sad that even non-christians can see something wrong with these excesses, but christians cannot
i definitely get what you mean, what i don't get is the solution to it.
the mathematic is simple. everyone gives 10% as a tithe. if you don't want the pastor to have so much money, either everyone gives lesser tithe, maybe from 10% to 2% (which is disobeying God), or get everyone to leave the church so that the population is smaller (which is self defeating)
most christians tithe according to the same rule. whether a pastor is rich or not, solely depends on his church population. a pastor of a small church obviously gathers lesser tithe, compared to a pastor from a really big church.
these are the only 2 solutions i can see, care to give a better solution?
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i definitely get what you mean, what i don't get is the solution to it.
the mathematic is simple. everyone gives 10% as a tithe. if you don't want the pastor to have so much money, either everyone gives lesser tithe, maybe from 10% to 2% (which is disobeying God), or get everyone to leave the church so that the population is smaller (which is self defeating)
when the bible say tithe 10 percent, it never say must reward the pastor handsomely!
this is why it is so wrong, when the modern pastor is now a CEO instead of a man of God
no wonder pple like ming yi said:"we are living in modern times."
because it is perceived as normal in "modern times" to reward the clergy excessively
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:to do that, means everyone has to give lesser isn't it. but God says give a tenth.
so how does one give 10% without "over pampering" the pastor?
should the church should reduce its population (which is self-defeating, because churches should grow)?
Hmm... The tithing doesn't go to the church leader fully right? Even with 10% per person, it simply means there'll be more money for the poor, for the welfare and for the missions...
That's what I felt... =)
hey, people, don't your church leaders or whoever explain to you how the money collected are used? I once visited a church and saw the church talking about tithe and where money from tithe goes to. how many percent to utilities, how many percent to mission, how many % goes to pastors' salary and so on. They even had a pie chart to show.
Originally posted by Fantagf:hey, people, don't your church leaders or whoever explain to you how the money collected are used? I once visited a church and saw the church talking about tithe and where money from tithe goes to. how many percent to utilities, how many percent to mission, how many % goes to pastors' salary and so on. They even had a pie chart to show.
yup definitely.
no, the tithe do not just go into the pastor's pocket, at least not my church, since my pastor takes not a single cent from the tithe. he has his own day job.
Originally posted by kager82:
Hmm... The tithing doesn't go to the church leader fully right? Even with 10% per person, it simply means there'll be more money for the poor, for the welfare and for the missions...That's what I felt... =)
no. but the pastor is entitled to take a portion for his usage, i believe. how much i guess is his own judgement call already.
of course there will be cases of abuses definitely. you see that all the time. but, it's too quick to point fingers la. if you're not happy about it, then write in to that church and ask for an audit and stuff lor.
personally i feel that now most churches audit quite strictly because of all these ugly cases, so i'm not really concerned
Originally posted by laoda99:
when the bible say tithe 10 percent, it never say must reward the pastor handsomely!
this is why it is so wrong, when the modern pastor is now a CEO instead of a man of God
lol i get you. so far from the bible, i only know that paul lives off the tithes without the audit of anyone. alot of honesty is needed i guess. and there are times he chooses not to live off the tithes because he don't want to be a burden on the church, instead he became a tent maker.
so if u have a good pastor, good lor, if you have a greedy money grubbing preacher, gg.
Originally posted by dumbdumb:
so if u have a good pastor, good lor, if you have a greedy money grubbing preacher, gg.
Hi dumbdumb, how about this; the good pastor goes to heaven in his afterlife and the greedy preacher goes to hell in his afterlife. Or is it, both the good and bad preacher go to heaven in their afterlife? What is the position of your church on this question?
Donate to?
me of cus
Originally posted by Aang:
me of cus
=P
Fat hope~
Heard about a church keep getting people to baptize and with motive of getting more money from tithe.
Originally posted by Creation1656:Hi dumbdumb, how about this; the good pastor goes to heaven in his afterlife and the greedy preacher goes to hell in his afterlife. Or is it, both the good and bad preacher go to heaven in their afterlife? What is the position of your church on this question?
a christian's position is that he is saved by grace, through faith.
but his actions and motives will of course be revealed during judgement, and he will not be rewarded for his works.
that's what i think
Originally posted by Fantagf:Heard about a church keep getting people to baptize and with motive of getting more money from tithe.
Baptism without knowledge is like no baptism at all... Why do they do that?
Sigh...
There is no such thing as 'GOD'.But there are human;if you have been reading my message or saw this.You are indeed ahuman begin with red color blood flow in your body.Therefore ,i urge everyone of them to stand up for humanity against the craps of nonsense and insanity of christainity .secondly; i urge you diligentily to stop pronation of your hand with dollars to supination hands of crapping idoits who increasing of their own wealth by just opening their mouth to talk craps.Finally,i urge you to believe in yourself of begin who you are and what you are,science and social pyscholoy .The further is in your hand for the sake of human race.ONCE against i urge the entire population of human race to stand up and resistant this bullshit and holycrap religion.they are the money sucker and hunger wolf.They don't even know whether they will or will not go a better place after dead.what they know is bullshit from the so call bible written by man? I diligent urge you not to believe in them and begin manipulated by them.
Originally posted by Joolead:There is no such thing as 'GOD'.But there are human;if you have been reading my message or saw this.You are indeed ahuman begin with red color blood flow in your body.Therefore ,i urge everyone of them to stand up for humanity against the craps of nonsense and insanity of christainity .secondly; i urge you diligentily to stop pronation of your hand with dollars to supination hands of crapping idoits who increasing of their own wealth by just opening their mouth to talk craps.Finally,i urge you to believe in yourself of begin who you are and what you are,science and social pyscholoy .The further is in your hand for the sake of human race.ONCE against i urge the entire population of human race to stand up and resistant this bullshit and holycrap religion.they are the money sucker and hunger wolf.They don't even know whether they will or will not go a better place after dead.what they know is bullshit from the so call bible written by man? I diligent urge you not to believe in them and begin manipulated by them.
Hmm...then can i ask u where the first humans came from?
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
Tithing is giving what you can, not what you cannot.
oh serious ar??i always thought tithing is a kinda tax imposed by the church..something worse then the GST..
tithing was done last time as a gratitude to God for what he has blessed them with..good harvest..many sheeps..etc..when Jesus came..he has done away with so many old traditions as he fufils them..that doesnt mean we no longer show gratitude to God..we do it even more by living our lives imitating Jesus..we give money to the congregation to run the regular meetings and the maintanance of the building..thats giving what we have..the way mega churches scams..thats asking for what we dont have..thats making use of the greed humans have..thats a sin..
tithing is but a tool to earn money now..
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
...apparently a lot of people can.... they look to their god to prosper them... miraculously...
cai2 shen2 dao4...cai2 shen2 dao4 ni3 de4 jia1 meng1 kou3.....god of fortune lor..huat ar..
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
It is not so simple... otherwise it would be obvious to the followers of the prosperity preachers....
They way they put it is, Jesus died poor so you can be rich....
Then how is it Christian girls in Indonesian got raped for their beliefs?
Jesus died so that they can be raped?
It is mind boggling!!!!
eh,,maybe..jesus died a virgin mah...
Originally posted by domonkassyu:oh serious ar??i always thought tithing is a kinda tax imposed by the church..something worse then the GST..
tithing was done last time as a gratitude to God for what he has blessed them with..good harvest..many sheeps..etc..when Jesus came..he has done away with so many old traditions as he fufils them..that doesnt mean we no longer show gratitude to God..we do it even more by living our lives imitating Jesus..we give money to the congregation to run the regular meetings and the maintanance of the building..thats giving what we have..the way mega churches scams..thats asking for what we dont have..thats making use of the greed humans have..thats a sin..
tithing is but a tool to earn money now..
that is the reason why mainstream churches are not agreeable to these mega modern churches.
Something wrong somewhere.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i definitely get what you mean, what i don't get is the solution to it.
most christians tithe according to the same rule. whether a pastor is rich or not, solely depends on his church population. a pastor of a small church obviously gathers lesser tithe, compared to a pastor from a really big church.
maybe small church serving niche market therefore earning super normal profit??i mean gathering super normal tithing..
Baptism without knowledge is like no baptism at all... Why do they do that?Sigh...
remind me again why people do infant baptism??does baby have the ability to think i should get baptised so i can serve God??do they know God yet??
People need to realise that God has no need for money.
Money was created by human beings for human beings.
What is the logic then by saying that the more money u give to the church, the more you will get back in return?
If that's the case, all the poor people can go home and sleep because they ain't gonna get anything since they don't have the money to give to the church in the first place.