won't the downgrade be temporary?Originally posted by Arena:the complications of sending a candidate to lasik is too much... doubt they will do it... in saf directives, after a person went for lasik will be downgraded to pes C dunno wat wat... and will assume a clerk job temporary...
thus the requirement of sof personnel of pes A are then not met and thus can't be trained liao... then what do the sof wants the person for??
wont tt means a waste of rations??(j/k)
errrr...dun think tats true...Originally posted by Arena:the complications of sending a candidate to lasik is too much... doubt they will do it... in saf directives, after a person went for lasik will be downgraded to pes C dunno wat wat... and will assume a clerk job temporary...
thus the requirement of sof personnel of pes A are then not met and thus can't be trained liao... then what do the sof wants the person for??
wont tt means a waste of rations??(j/k)
Sounds like those hollywood movies.Originally posted by nismoS132:someone decribed an SOF recruitment to me once.
they were in this recruitmen theatre in hendon camp.
at the top were a few target boards, no.12 if i'm not wrong. those super small one. all the cdos were sitting around waiting for the recruitment officer to come in. suddenly the lights went out, few seconds later you hear gunfire. then the lights came on. everything over in about 10 seconds.
then 1 of the SOFs took off his headgear and asked "who wants to join SOF?"
so its only Temp...even if its true..i re-enlist few mth back..went for my Medical Checkup again..i did ask the MO abt Lasik...its sound difference from yours..Originally posted by Arena:as i'm interested in going for lasik(paid by myself), i ask my GP for a referal, he gave me but the hospital told me to seek approval from camp MO. Then I go find him and he told me nowadays saf got directives which says if a person goes for lasik will be temporary downgraded to dunno PES C dunno wat N dunno wat for 3 mths and hence can only does a clerk job.
so i dun think sof can afford to let its trainee to go idle and be a Special Clerk, haha(j/k) for 3 mths while his batch boys undergoes training right...
Something doesn't sound right here - they shot up an auditorium? Unless it was in the killing house, I can't see too much chance of that happening.Originally posted by nismoS132:someone decribed an SOF recruitment to me once.
at the top were a few target boards, no.12 if i'm not wrong. those super small one. all the cdos were sitting around waiting for the recruitment officer to come in. suddenly the lights went out, few seconds later you hear gunfire. then the lights came on. everything over in about 10 seconds.
Woah... scary sia...Originally posted by nismoS132:someone decribed an SOF recruitment to me once.
What's the killing house? sounds damn cool.. Is it reserved for the exclusive use by sof personnel? Commandos sure have lotsa fun...Originally posted by Gedanken:Something doesn't sound right here - they shot up an auditorium? Unless it was in the killing house, I can't see too much chance of that happening.
As for shooting with NVGs on, laser sights are a wonderful toy. The more challenging part would have been getting into the room without making noise.
correct me if i'm wrong... since they're shooting in a theatre and using live rounds.. won't the theatre's wall become a 'bee hive'? agree with Gedanken.. it is highly unlikely that it happened... then again... i might be wrong...Originally posted by nismoS132:i forgot to mention, the no.12s all tio headshot. can't remember is 1 or 2 bullet holes.
Are you sure you got to see where the rounds land? They will not use live rounds in the auditorium and the kill house is certainly out of bounds to you.Originally posted by nismoS132:i forgot to mention, the no.12s all tio headshot. can't remember is 1 or 2 bullet holes. and the demonstrators were wearing night vision goggles. you imagine how hard it is to aim while wearing those.
The killing house is a building used by SOF for FIBUA training - it is out of bounds to the rest of the battalion. There's nothing really special about it excapt that the walls are lined with heavy padding to prevent ricochets.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:What's the killing house? sounds damn cool.. Is it reserved for the exclusive use by sof personnel? Commandos sure have lotsa fun...
not live rounds, they're using those "red-ink" rounds... err, forgot what it calls.Originally posted by Gedanken:Something doesn't sound right here - they shot up an auditorium? Unless it was in the killing house, I can't see too much chance of that happening.
As for shooting with NVGs on, laser sights are a wonderful toy. The more challenging part would have been getting into the room without making noise.
Ah well, must be something fairly new then. They sure didn't have that kind of recruitment drive when I was in the battalion. We did share Serimbun with them when they were training, though - their chopper insertion was way cool.Originally posted by lion02:not live rounds, they're using those "red-ink" rounds... err, forgot what it calls.
yep...invented by the canadians..Originally posted by palmerised:it's called simunitions. instead of FMJ-ed or HP-ed tip, it's a gelatin shell filled with water based dye. despite it being 'soft', it still hurts when you're hit and may cause large bruises.