Everyone takes photos lah, just that this guy chose to post them on the web and unfortunately for him, he also happens to be an officer. I believe that much of the criticism is levelled at the latter fact, don't think you'll accuse him of breaching security if he is not an officer rite?Originally posted by g4ev:yes the law is dummy.
scroll back to the earlier dates and see the pics taken inside the camp. it is not about showing what kind of weapons or top secret stuff. it is about an officer being slack in the matter of security. it is about bringing in a camera into a SAF camp that strictly prohibit its usage.
what i mean to say is that being an officer, he should know better. Personal camera and photo taking is not allowed in SAF camp according to the letter with the SAF100. So what kind of signal is this 2lt sending out? That it is okay if you are an officer? Or that it is okay to ignore a security directive?
Yes, it's possible. I got one as I was asked to photograph events in camp. It is signed by the Unit Security Officer and CO. The LOA is supposed to be returned before leaving the unit. Camera phones are strictly not allowed as unlike normal cameras, PDAs, laptops, there is no relation to work.Originally posted by wuming78:btw it IS possible to obtain a letter of authorisation for authorised use of cameras, so as to bring cameras (not cameraphones) into camps.
Well....depends on the unit larzOriginally posted by duotiga83:Current MSD Directive is no-no for camera phones, but they will amend it pretty soon as more camera phone is out....
Currently the only camp allow it is 2PDF
Are you a disgruntled enlistee or something?Originally posted by g4ev:The last SAF100 i received comes with a letter specifically prohibit the use of camera and mobile with built-in cameras in the camp.
Check out this blog site. http://www.xanga.com/home.aspx?user=qinghao
I guess someone in SAFTI MI forget to teach him about security in SAF camps? I wonder what his commanders have to say about this? Or officer got privilege to carry camera around, take pics and post on web?
it is possible that he has been assigned to be the plt photographer for the duration of the course.Originally posted by Ponders:A lot of camps will ask you to declare if you have such devices before entering, eg, Hendon, ALB, and the "sensitive" ones.
Pulau Tekong seems to have mood swings on such things but resident unit can get LOA free.
One thing i don't understand about the officer in the blog site is that it seems he is allowed by his instructor during his OCS days to freely take pictures. Macam he official OCS photographer. haha
Hmmm... We were allowed to bring in cameras and take photos during my time leh, in fact my PC encouraged us to do so. Together with the training diary which we had to update everyday and which i still have with me and read from time to time, the photos bring back lots of memories of the good 'ol days.Originally posted by wuming78:it is possible that he has been assigned to be the plt photographer for the duration of the course.
it would have been great if there was such an appointment during my time. i regretted not having many photographs to relive my memories by.
Lol, he's got his SAF100 already.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Are you a disgruntled enlistee or something?
Training diary? OCS ah? :lolOriginally posted by cornyfish2000:Hmmm... We were allowed to bring in cameras and take photos during my time leh, in fact my PC encouraged us to do so. Together with the training diary which we had to update everyday and which i still have with me and read from time to time, the photos bring back lots of memories of the good 'ol days.![]()
Ya, worse if you're CPC also then gotta write the daily CPC report in addition to the diary. If the next day got field camp then lagi jialat. I remember bringing the table lamp to the floor, then doing the reports and diary while lying prone on the floor, all the while trying hard to remain tactical from the PC patrolling outside after lights out.Originally posted by deathscythe99:Training diary? OCS ah? :lol
I still remember that OCS make us write training diary....lolx. Shack still must do paperwork haha.
my PC allowed us to write the diary once a week.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Ya, worse if you're CPC also then gotta write the daily CPC report in addition to the diary. If the next day got field camp then lagi jialat. I remember bringing the table lamp to the floor, then doing the reports and diary while lying prone on the floor, all the while trying hard to remain tactical from the PC patrolling outside after lights out.![]()