maybe NS can be further shortened after phasing out such half-hearted training. since it's not very practical in real combatOriginally posted by IntegraType-R:tats good enuf lor.....wat to expect from those wif no martial arts background?
even the warm-up is siong for them liao......
im a assistant uci....whenever i see those who phia mia to split already close 1 eye liao....as long as they learn wat movement n wat to do is good day liao

Originally posted by IntegraType-R:actually its not half hearted training lah.....its sort of close quarter attack/defence lah.....since riflemen oso fight in FIBUA...its good oso to equipt one wif such training.....those who dun put in effort is their lost.....or more tekan for them lor.....jus like everything u do in the army, if u put in effort things will be much more easiler for everyone....as the saying goes gimme 1 good 1 and chop chop good day
btw thats a good pic of a turning kick to the head
great analysis i must say. so what would you recommend SAF teach to our soldiers instead?Originally posted by lwflee:Dude...pls dun make the system taught by SAF seem so deadly here.
I went through UC and part of ICCT before i had to leave the army.
UC = Bullshit.
You should not be encouraging high kicks. High kicks are dangerous moves that makes you susceptible to being taken down. Also, with SBO on, it is worse. We should train to kick Just enough so you can kick up to Rib level. Any time spent trg to kick higher than that is time wasted in a CQC program.
One-step sparring = waste of time. To train timing and sense of distance,m you should make us do sparring with Gloves.
Kicks dun have to look nice, but correct. Kicking the pads shoud not be a test of how loud you can shout, but how hard you can kick.
And you can cut out the no contact sparring in UC1. Wasting time. It degenerates into a shout and slap fest.
Oh and Cut the kata. It teaches you to dance.
Also, LOTS more emphasis should be put into making sure ppl keep their guard up. This is not tae kwan do. Ppl punch your face if your hands are down.
UC1 Grading test = Bullshit. Frens that kick with "chichken wings" thereby demonstrating inflexibility and a lack of power still pass! Yet you see ppl who can kick well but dun shout loud enough fail. Absolute bullshit.
ICCT = since i only went thorugh part of the course, i cant comment much.
BUT please, cut out all the bullshit wrist locks and wrist lock based "throws". When you are fighting and filled with adrenaline, you lose fine motor skills, how can you expect to grab a sweaty wrist and execute your wrist lock w/o kepping punched repeatedly in the face?. Judo and wresting takedown WORK much better. The double-leg takedown should be standard and it works!!!!.
Wrist-lock based hold down = useless for the above reasons. Should be teaching judo based arm + shoulder lock.
Just my 2 cents. SAF Unarmed Combat needs to be changed.
a cocktail of Krav Maga, Sambo, Tukong Moosul and San Shou. never kick when you can punch. take-downs are good for 1 to 1 combat. but when engaged with a group of aggressors, we also need joint-dislocation techniques and long kicking. shoulders should be main targets for dislocation. for kicking, we should optimize the length advantage of our legs and kick at or slightly above groin level. we need to know both stabbing and swinging kicks. a fencer stabs and a parang-wielder swings. stabbing kicks are harder to block but easier to side-step, swinging kicks are the other way round. that's for un-armed combat. also need to learn bayonet strikes.Originally posted by wuming78:great analysis i must say. so what would you recommend SAF teach to our soldiers instead?

Originally posted by lwflee:............
Takedowns does not neccessarily mean going to the grnd. It can consist of bringing the guy down thus giving stomping opportunities. I feel that the double leg takedown is a high percentage move that should be taught to all soldiers. Similarly, basic Judo throws like O-Goshi is relatively simple and effective.
you may suggest to relevant authorities to replace TKD and hapkido with aikido and Gracie jujitsu instead. because the latter 2 have less high kicking and very simple and safe and needing very little energy. definitely will gain popularity among NSF who are less karangOriginally posted by Tango12:At first, CCT was based on ju jitsu.Thats why u are able to find alot of techniques similar to it.However, after krav maga was introduced,we find that it is more suitable for the military and begin to adopt it.
Well, one must understand now that SAF is very very concern on the safety of the soldiers.The officers or instructors are to write a report if any injuries happened.Also, even for doing throws, the trainees are required to wear headgears now.Any changes or new techniques implement must be approved by the CO or chief of army.That is why u dun get to see dangerous moves in CCT anymore.Remember that the pioneer batch of commandos who learnt the UC used real bayonets for their training on knife defence.Then why is it no more now?Your idea on using pen kife is a gd idea but i dun tink it will be adopted by the army.Also, not all the soldiers are as karang as u tink.Many of them just wanted to serve n fxxx off.They do not even like to serve ns and yet u expect they to be siao on on this.If u ask them to use pen knives in the training, many will either calling the SAF hotline or dare not carry on training.On the next training, you will get to see many on att C.If you are an instructor who faces thousand of diff soldiers everday, u will get wat i mean.
Also, u once feedback that the majority of trg should consist of hitting pads/bags instead of looking good hitting the air. Looking good should be secondary to generating power w/o losing balance. One must understand that many of the units do not have enough punching bags or pads. We did try to give them several punching bags to be put up so that when CCT is conducted, the trainees can train on them.However, the unit fears of the bags been stolen, they rather keep them in the store.Also, to control a company or a whole battlion for training is not an easy task.If you can only ask a few of the trainees to come up to train the punching bags while the rest of the company wait.Soon, u will find those waiting behind playing around and much time is wasted. They can only have 14 lessons for CCT and 1 lesson is onli 2 hrs unlike other countries who have UC almost everyday.(South korea elite force the Black Beret takes UC and TKD everyday n up to 4 hrs a day)
Sometimes, much time is wasted when the medic or supervisng officer is not around.This caused the instructors unable to start the lesson and have to wait for they to arrive 1st.When the unit is busy, they will also cancel some the lessons.
Originally posted by Tango12:[quote.]
At first, CCT was based on ju jitsu.Thats why u are able to find alot of techniques similar to it.However, after krav maga was introduced,we find that it is more suitable for the military and begin to adopt it.
Then make them take it out before training. I believe we have identified one of the root of the problems already - Logistical. We do not have enough logistical support. Hmm i always thought that we had enough pads because my unit had enough last time. No matter, i understand the limitations now. All i have to say is the SAF can put in all the dealiest techniques in the syllabus, but w/o proper training, those techniques are useless.
Also, u once feedback that the majority of trg should consist of hitting pads/bags instead of looking good hitting the air. Looking good should be secondary to generating power w/o losing balance. One must understand that many of the units do not have enough punching bags or pads. We did try to give them several punching bags to be put up so that when CCT is conducted, the trainees can train on them.However, the unit fears of the bags been stolen, they rather keep them in the store.
Again logistical problems. Not sure what can be said except i symphatize with the UCIs because they are not goven the proper support to do their job. Some generals need to see this thread. Worse are the discipline problems. Again, hope some generals see this thread.
Also, to control a company or a whole battlion for training is not an easy task.If you can only ask a few of the trainees to come up to train the punching bags while the rest of the company wait.Soon, u will find those waiting behind playing around and much time is wasted. They can only have 14 lessons for CCT and 1 lesson is onli 2 hrs unlike other countries who have UC almost everyday.(South korea elite force the Black Beret takes UC and TKD everyday n up to 4 hrs a day)
Sometimes, much time is wasted when the medic or supervisng officer is not around.This caused the instructors unable to start the lesson and have to wait for they to arrive 1st.When the unit is busy, they will also cancel some the lessons.Again discipline problems, but this time it is worse because it involves OFFICIERS. 'nuff said. Another issue is the commitment of some units. They skip lessons then they should not be able to pass their UC package.
Yeah they use very little energy . . .but do you have any idea how long it takes for one to master akido or jujitsu to be effective in combat?Originally posted by boy in blues:you may suggest to relevant authorities to replace TKD and hapkido with aikido and Gracie jujitsu instead. because the latter 2 have less high kicking and very simple and safe and needing very little energy. definitely will gain popularity among NSF who are less karang
I totally agreed with wat you say... basically, i was previously trained in aikido. After a year of training, i could only confidently say that i understand on how the techniques are performed, but on effective applying it in actual situation is a totally different thing... the instinct of performing a techniques is very important... and it only comes after years of committed training... my sensei once said that one with average talent takes at least 5 years of training for him/her to effectively defend themselves, and in traditional aikido schools, trainees takes at least 7 years in order to attain their 1st dan...Originally posted by CenturionMBT:Yeah they use very little energy . . .but do you have any idea how long it takes for one to master akido or jujitsu to be effective in combat?
It is easy to kick and punch lah, but to train the people to such a stage where you have to go into the enemy's punch and perform some throwing moves on him really takes alot of training and experience. Just look at this, aikido just to move one belt from a white belt you need 12 sessions of 2 hours each minimum. So with 14 sessions of 2 hours, you can barely even cover the basics, not to mention utillising it for actual combat.
What Prestroz said is right.All those martial arts take alot of time to master.Learning and mastering the techniques take years.It is not just going through the motion.Like what i have said before.If you want the soldiers to be a fighter in just 14 lessons is impossible.Why the SAF choose tkd over other martial arts is because tkd is much more straight forward and easy to catch up. If tkd is really that useless then why did bruce lee learn it?People think that he learnt his kicks from gongfu but he learnt it from tkd.All those who learn wushu will know that the famous sidekick by bruce lee doesnt even exist in wushu.He learnt it from a korean tkd master named Lee Jungu.The main objective of close combat is that our soldiers are able to defend themselves instead of standing like a log without knowing what to do.If you learnt CCT before you will noticed that it is focusing more on defending than attacking.Why is this so?Well, our army is more like a peace keeping force.Especially after 911, our army are to protect vital places like jurong island or airport.They are not supposed to anyhow shoot at any suspects.Their duty is to arrest them.That is why saf changes unarmed combat to close combat.UC is meant to kill while CCT is used for control and restraint.This is the reason why CCT has alot of locks in it.Originally posted by Prestroz:I totally agreed with wat you say... basically, i was previously trained in aikido. After a year of training, i could only confidently say that i understand on how the techniques are performed, but on effective applying it in actual situation is a totally different thing... the instinct of performing a techniques is very important... and it only comes after years of committed training... my sensei once said that one with average talent takes at least 5 years of training for him/her to effectively defend themselves, and in traditional aikido schools, trainees takes at least 7 years in order to attain their 1st dan...
so wat i'm trying to say here is that, although aikido may seem to be a effective art by using minimal force to overcome aggressors, but its techniques that involves various spherical movements are difficult to pick up... thus, its is not very suitable for the SAF... as for jujitsu, although there are lesser sphercial movements, effectively picking it up still takes at least 3 years... for NSFs that has only little time to spare, they may not seem to be a good choice...
seriously, in my point of view, striking art like taekwondo and karate may prove to be a better choice, they are easlier to pick up compared to grappling art like aikido, jujitsu or hapkido... at least the soldiers know the correct way of punching and kicking... better than half f*** fists and knee level kicks... I guess this is the problem of conscription.... not enough time to spare...![]()