Hmm....which unit? GSMB?Originally posted by laurence82:In my unit, its a recent thing, my OC insist newly commissioned officers and OCTs go down and do repair works together with the specs and warrants.
Then afterwhich, when they took over some postions like PCs and 2ICs, they are usually mentored by the WOs...
And i can say its really a good idea, the new officers performed way better than last batches of officers..
This should be the way.Skills and specialisation should come first, only then can one gain any modicum of respect.Furthermore, if the men see their boss working alongside them, they will have a nicer opinion of the latter.Originally posted by laurence82:In my unit, its a recent thing, my OC insist newly commissioned officers and OCTs go down and do repair works together with the specs and warrants.
Then afterwhich, when they took over some postions like PCs and 2ICs, they are usually mentored by the WOs...
And i can say its really a good idea, the new officers performed way better than last batches of officers..
yeah, it was good tho..no more fantastics time wasting ideas from officers...no more fanciful policies people cant follow..and u communicate better, because they picked up the going-ons faster..Originally posted by LazerLordz:This should be the way.Skills and specialisation should come first, only then can one gain any modicum of respect.Furthermore, if the men see their boss working alongside them, they will have a nicer opinion of the latter.![]()
Oh yea. it's true.Originally posted by LazerLordz:This should be the way.Skills and specialisation should come first, only then can one gain any modicum of respect.Furthermore, if the men see their boss working alongside them, they will have a nicer opinion of the latter.![]()
For a 1WO to crossover to a CPT grade 1 is not very attractive, for his ROA is cut short by ten years and he may even have to realignment himself with a new career path and start from a level slightly below his own experience.If you think about it, a WO of high calibre might become MWO or SWO.Compare the numbers of such WOs and the number of MAJs and LTCs in the force.It's much more of an honor and testimony of your experience in the force to be MWO or SWO.Rank is not such a big issue when you are in your late 40s and early-mid 50s.It's more of your working experience and how people see you and value your contributions to the force.Better to be Army RSM than one MAJ out of many in the SAF.Originally posted by Shrapnel:i must be quite outdated...
So in fact now the army recognises the warrant officers as sort of subject matter experts and they can hold the officer appointments. then i think SAF should also up the quali benchmark eg recognising the degree (if any) held by the warrant officers, either in pay package or rocketed roa
but i guess, then it would somehow blur the line between commissioned officers and WOs... imagine a diploma MAJ and degree holder WO taking up same appt...
I think it would be difficult for WO who perform to become commissioned... quite physically tiring for the enciks to go through OCS and then upon comissioning... become LTA.... LOL... they would be better off as a WO, where they act as experienced advisers..
x2Originally posted by deathscythe99:Oh yea. it's true.
Sometimes, if you work in a line such as maintenace which requires you to have adequate engineering and technical knowledge, you will definitely be overwhelmed. Definitely not easy for a 2LT/LTA to take up the PC of a maintenance platoon unless you have first hand experience working/learning them
The term is MAC = Maint. Allocation Chart.Originally posted by laurence82:x2
That TAT and maintenance hours requirement is crap. The hours stated can be achieved only under perfect conditions, such as given proper tools, no disturbance, proper time management by higher ups and no other time wasting paperwork and activities.
But its not possible realistically. And i really hate to see my warrants fighting for us men, with the S3 demanding why we are not keeping to time schedule as stated (pardon me i forgot the term for the book they have for maintenance hours requirement for each kind of repairs)
But the officers who came down to work with us are NSFs officers with coy level positions. That eases a lot of pressure from coy hq, as they understand what is seriously the problem and work ard to solve them.
But that didnt stave off the unreasonable demand from the battalion S3. -_-!
Anyway, for those of u who know, i came from a unit where they at one point in time, have three female CPTs as S1, S3 and S4.
There is a way to go round the problem oneOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Lotsa targets set by the Army are only acheivable under in laboratory-like settings.What is needed is a favourable and acceptable level of outstanding items and a way to account for them.
ROA cut short by ten years? it means you retire at an older age as WO? then that changes the whole story.... even if the WO have mba i think he would have chosen to stay as WOOriginally posted by LazerLordz:For a 1WO to crossover to a CPT grade 1 is not very attractive, for his ROA is cut short by ten years and he may even have to realignment himself with a new career path and start from a level slightly below his own experience.If you think about it, a WO of high calibre might become MWO or SWO.Compare the numbers of such WOs and the number of MAJs and LTCs in the force.It's much more of an honor and testimony of your experience in the force to be MWO or SWO.Rank is not such a big issue when you are in your late 40s and early-mid 50s.It's more of your working experience and how people see you and value your contributions to the force.Better to be Army RSM than one MAJ out of many in the SAF.
yah, peacetime means no way of benchmarking... without actual war the benchmark now is only ISO, competition among various units, and up the image in local regions. SAF always highly regarded by analysts from other countries so in a way, the image portrayal is successful...Originally posted by LazerLordz:Well, to have a military unit tasked with a commercial goal and vision, it is a no-win situation for planners and people on the ground alike.Economically, we are losing money in the strictest fiscal sense, but this is overweighed by the fact the maintenance units are first and foremost designed to suppor our forces in war.Problem is, peacetime philosophy impacts greatly on mission due more weight being given to commercial considerations like productivity of a high and unrealistic standard, which can only be reached within its goals by out-sourcing, which ultimately might impair the unit's performance in actual wartime scenarios.But hey, we shall pray that war does not break out yeah?![]()
You've hit the nail on the head.Outsourcing is good for peacetime, but when war comes, do we have the critical mass required to sustain the supporting operations we have to give to the warm bodies in the field so that they might remain warm and not turn stiff an cold?Best way to balance both demands might be to create a partnership with our military engineers and their commercial equivalent.Or improve the instructional methods and up the educational requirements of regulars so that each person can subsume more than one role and be a "hub" from which OMers in the field can turn to and learn instead of having too many junior SMES running around with nothing to do in peacetime.Originally posted by Shrapnel:yah, peacetime means no way of benchmarking... without actual war the benchmark now is only ISO, competition among various units, and up the image in local regions. SAF always highly regarded by analysts from other countries so in a way, the image portrayal is successful...
but outsourcing is risky business.... i suppose the only partner would be ST (SG technologies). Their passion is in profits, not in defending. so when actual war comes, can they be depended to provide the highest readiness in logistics support?
i pray hope no war too.. and unlikely in these days when war is waged on the economic front
i dun understand... what upperstudy's upperstudy... ?Originally posted by Master -_-:So many OC estab is filled up by WOs. My upperstudy's upperstudy is a MWO. Everyday kena tekan sia by him. Sometimes become kopi kia for him. But he really taught him well. When it was time for him to leave, i heard he ask the then TRADOC commander and his PSOs to witness the handover and saluted my 2 x upperstudy(a fresh 3 months old 2LT) at the end of it all. So cute![]()