well. limiting officers to only regulars would not solve your perceived problem - an officer can sign on before he enlists, and hence commission in his late teens or early twenties.Originally posted by nismoS132:i think that NSFs should either be men or specialists, and leave officer posts to regulars.
gets irritating seeing 30-40 yr old men cowering to stubborn 19yr old punks.
erm.. to me, the skills to overcome similar obstacles is secondary - if you know you may be dead if you spend one more second overcoming an obstacle, you would definitely know what to do and do it double quick time! the physical training was primary for me. till now, it is still one activity i love and loathe at the same time! but i do not need to do it anymore...Originally posted by TVaddict:actually it's not like we suffered tt's why they muz suffer also... but soc is really good training for military personnel imo. be it recruits or lao jiaos... no doubt it's a shagging activity, but when they encountered similar obstacles in outfields, they will 'naturally' know what to do...
Originally posted by Patrik:Then we arent training soldiers.
Rmb last time when i see SOC in training program in BMT i will try to siam..Originally posted by TVaddict:actually it's not like we suffered tt's why they muz suffer also... but soc is really good training for military personnel imo. be it recruits or lao jiaos... no doubt it's a shagging activity, but when they encountered similar obstacles in outfields, they will 'naturally' know what to do...
its not really regulars or nsf...its their attitude...Originally posted by nismoS132:yes but if the rank were restricted to regulars only, the important appointments that come with the rank would at least go to people who care (more) than those who'll just be around for 2 years.
the obstacles? you can find monkey bars and parallel bars around neighbourhoods. the rest are quite unique though. heh. but its not only the obstacles that make SOC what it is. it is the run-down, the final run, and of course, the long 4, SBO, helmet and weapon. without these, SOC would really be chicken feet.Originally posted by gnoik:Rmb last time when i see SOC in training program in BMT i will try to siam..
But now wanted to try the diff obstacles oso cannot liao..where to find one outside?![]()
I rmb i cant clear low rope..then have to do 20 pushups in return to clear that obstacle..Originally posted by Gordonator:i still remember how i was always unable to clear the low wall last time. until i eventually invented a unique way to clear it.
bring back the memories.
What? Bring the wall down with a bull rush?Originally posted by Gordonator:i still remember how i was always unable to clear the low wall last time. until i eventually invented a unique way to clear it.
bring back the memories.
I remember going up against the low wall during the first few SOC runs.Originally posted by lwflee:What? Bring the wall down with a bull rush?
haha. i see so many recruits running towards the wall and banging themselves agaisnt the wall. so funny.Originally posted by lwflee:What? Bring the wall down with a bull rush?
the low wall is also the only obstacle i always had problems with. and it doesnt help that it is the first obstacle after a harrowing 700m run down. by the time you reach the wall, it seems to have grown to twice its height!Originally posted by Gordonator:haha. i see so many recruits running towards the wall and banging themselves agaisnt the wall. so funny.
the correct way should be stand near the wall and just jump. that's what i do.![]()
i usually run up the wall, meaning master leg run up ..then jump with left..then once up ...both arms tuck in and refuse to let go ..then lean whole body forward..then swing right leg across to get the cutting edge ..and then lean on the wallOriginally posted by wuming78:the low wall is also the only obstacle i always had problems with. and it doesnt help that it is the first obstacle after a harrowing 700m run down. by the time you reach the wall, it seems to have grown to twice its height!
just stand near the wall and jump? dont think it works leh... sigh. that's the problem for light-weight persons like me. jumping with all the barang-barang on is really a challenge!
hey! that exactly what i did! ^5! especially the swing left/right leg across to get the cutting edge.Originally posted by one-niner:i usually run up the wall, meaning master leg run up ..then jump with left..then once up ...both arms tuck in and refuse to let go ..then lean whole body forward..then swing right leg across to get the cutting edge ..and then lean on the wallto catch breath then contiune to next obstacle..
actually the SOC can do without, so swey, only reservice then go star light & wallabe excerise,Originally posted by Gordonator:hey! that exactly what i did! ^5! especially the swing left/right leg across to get the cutting edge.![]()
times do change bcoy, well my brothers time back in 1996 was still gd old tekan , under the famous PTI in 7 BTS, his cadet days still had stand by bed in parade square ..so much difference when i enlisted in 2001, no log PT , no tekan..just training.Originally posted by bcoy:Maybe someone can update me - what is BMT these days? What kind of training is conducted? Sorry, but I did mine 15 years ago - IPPT, SOC, shooting were all part of the passing criteria back then. There's no more log PT, what about bayonet fighting, forced marches?
yes. at least 3 exercises in the warm up directly strengthen the back.Originally posted by one-niner:Just a small side track, i implemented back strenghtening excercise to my men last time, explaning to them the seriousness of back injuries , many tot as a easy way out of combat vocations, but i reasoned to them the purposed to strengtening the back etc. most of them took it seriously and i wrote in WITS couple of times...has the SAF educated the men regarding the importance of it yet ?