so that u can do more when u come back for reservice? ha~Originally posted by Gordonator:wonder what's the point of promoting u when u ORD.![]()
then may as well promote u when u come back reservist lah.Originally posted by qingsong:so that u can do more when u come back for reservice? ha~![]()
at least u r a lcp nowOriginally posted by pkchukiss:I was there on that day... My BMT buddies commisioned on that day. Same as with my good friend.
The cadets who fainted do not deserve any punishment. After all, people dropping in parades is a very normal phenomenon, and I don't see why anyone can stop himself from falling sick during the parade. The president's speech was quite lenghty, and I found myself playing with my phone (meant no disrespect, but what he had to say was pretty much predictable, and should I say very diplomatic?)
My friends were very happy... in fact, I felt a small pang of jealousy, and partly wished that I was with them. But then again, looking at the great guys I am with now, that pang is gone!
Uh, i guess the best way to cut short is by doing away with all those crappy lectures in TST which everyone sleeps thru anyway...Originally posted by one-niner:wah now OCS cut short their training by 4 wks ?? must be REALLY rush to train a cadet now man ...hey any one in OCS now ? i heard the sybullus has totally changed, with the final term cadets able to participate in a real combined arms finale mission,is it happening ?
Think they managed to consolidate the arms together for at least 2 of the commissioning parades....i.e. the Jan batch and the June batch.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Uh, i guess the best way to cut short is by doing away with all those crappy lectures in TST which everyone sleeps thru anyway...
Combined arms finale mission? sounds interesting...
they are not normal people so they cannot faint in paradesOriginally posted by pkchukiss:I was there on that day... My BMT buddies commisioned on that day. Same as with my good friend.
The cadets who fainted do not deserve any punishment. After all, people dropping in parades is a very normal phenomenon, and I don't see why anyone can stop himself from falling sick during the parade. The president's speech was quite lenghty, and I found myself playing with my phone (meant no disrespect, but what he had to say was pretty much predictable, and should I say very diplomatic?)
My friends were very happy... in fact, I felt a small pang of jealousy, and partly wished that I was with them. But then again, looking at the great guys I am with now, that pang is gone!
lemme think ar...2 frm navy...1 frm signal...1 frm arti/armor...nt too sure....Originally posted by sbst275:I want to know how many...
no la....they had plenty of rest ar...wher gt tekan...order by their SSM to hab enuff rest for e parade ar...e wing com also wont b so stupid to spoil e show den make themself ans to ocs cmdr le....Originally posted by 12qwaszx:hmm... did the cadets have to go through something siong before the commissioning parade? like 1 last tekan or what? hehehe...
or else with enough food/sleep. cannot collapse one wat. unless sick.
coz' during my BSLC POP, conducted right after the 32km route march and in FBO, no one collapsed leh
Got air force also...Originally posted by zrahf:lemme think ar...2 frm navy...1 frm signal...1 frm arti/armor...nt too sure....
Who was your SSM? Ours was SWO Richard Ee, all time favourite line, " Contingent XXX, GO!!!" = Rifle over head around old Sispec square. Lost count of number of rounds. Anyway, on actual day we had a prefect parade, even had single bang (all 10 contigents) during march-in. THose who wne thru will know how shiok it feels.Originally posted by deathscythe99:That is so so so true. The cadet has to take care and discipline himself on the water parades...Usually the CPC will still remind them to drink up, but well, as they are all officers-to-be, you know they will start thinking they are already
BTW, one-niner, are you from the recent batch? 'Cos i din know the SSM changed....but guess the one-liner "YOU BUNCH OF MAGGOTS" from them never changed
And the continuation: "You will morph into a beautiful butterfly" (or smth like tt....)
How many ppl?Originally posted by deathscythe99:Got air force also...
maybe they're not used to wearing no.1. somemore weather is pretty hot nowadays.Originally posted by tchiew:Honestly it's embrassessing! Attended 4 commission parades, including my own. Never seen someone faint.
Was the weather terribly hot and sunny?
hmm the CPRs attire were long 4 with peakcap,gloves and parade boots.So should not be the weather.more likely not water parading or went clubbing the night before, before i comissioned, Commander OCS issued an order in the RO for the saturday book out that all cadets to return to barracks by 2230 and be asleep by 2330...Originally posted by Gordonator:maybe they're not used to wearing no.1. somemore weather is pretty hot nowadays.
january is certainly not the hottest month.Originally posted by Gordonator:maybe they're not used to wearing no.1. somemore weather is pretty hot nowadays.
That was mineOriginally posted by CKtalon:The OCS SSM should be MWO BENEDICT GOH
I did the January commissioning before....weather during training was hot and cold, macham sauna....Imagine after rain then go marching, then run around with rifle around parade square on the slippery floor, then in and out of parade square on that surface also with those studded boots...Originally posted by wuming78:january is certainly not the hottest month.
there can be various reasons for their fainting, e.g. consumption of alcohol the night before leading to dehydration, genuinely not feeling well, gan jiong, etc.
im sure the few of them who fainted did not want that to happen too. imagine fainting infront of your friends and relatives who have came to support you, and the whole entire crowd, not to mention your superiors and your peers! how embarrasing that could be! and they would almost certainly miss the rest of the parade if not the dinner, after all the 9 mths of sweat and tears (its not just about the 4 wks or so of CPR). who in the right frame of mind would want that to happen? those who are seriously chao keng would have fallen out eons ago and not be in the parade at all!
so, let's try to be more empathetic to them.![]()
actually during my CPR, it was the first few days of drills that was intolerable. all the run-throughs were fun! our SSM (de Silva during my time) was really great. he was real nasty, yes, but he made all those damned funny remarks at the award winners, the appointment holders, etc, and we were all in the file, controlling our giggles, trying hard not to burst out luffing! otherwise, we would be mumbling to each other, commenting on things, talking cock, etc.. well. with all those distractions, fainting was hard! and we did the same even during the actual day!Originally posted by Master -_-:you all think it's damn easy not to faint?
Try going umpteen rehearsals after your PAC,ET Runs, Interval Trainings, BCCTs etc. Stand in your no.1s with your peak cap on under the streaking sun. Listening at attention to the SSM. Have early lunch. Go for more rehearsals. Lectures in the evening. 1 hour admin time. and the routine continues.