Shouldnt be a problem, if the person in charge is ok with itOriginally posted by chem:hey ask u guys arh.....if i kena clerk 8 to 5....can go out take part time degree courses that start at nigh one huh? or cannot?
wah take part time degree also cannot meh...even if let say i kena clerk 8 to 5 one..can go home de...sian like this...machiam like serving the jail what... NS=the days behind the bars...anything also cannot do..Originally posted by octega:Short courses ok.
Long term course is possible to do so but not advisable.
Because when you are serving, Army come first, regardless of what you are doing part-time. PES E also does not excuse one from performing orderly duties, in your case maybe duty clerk that requires you to stay overnight in camp and man the Ops-room with the other duty personnel (But I like to mentioned orderly duties will differ from unit to unit).
For example:-
1.) In a month, you might kena duty for 3 or 4 times that you required you to stay in camp.
2.) Ontop of that you still required to perform your job. In general, clerk is quite slack but different department different requirements. Some clerk requires you to do until very late one, sometimes even overnight. Example, Logistics clerks during exercise, S1 branch clerks during MOB exercise, etc, etc.
3.) And plus random calls of un-planned things. Like after work hours job, Unit event, plus alot alot of Sai Kang.
You also must pray that no special army events clash during your exam period, if not, be prepared not able to take leave during your exam periods.
As mentioned, it is not advisable because the likely hood of missing alot of lessons is there. But I am not saying you can't take up either.Originally posted by chem:wah take part time degree also cannot meh...even if let say i kena clerk 8 to 5 one..can go home de...sian like this...machiam like serving the jail what... NS=the days behind the bars...anything also cannot do..
totally agree!! i am one myself... sometimes i stay in, some times i book out at 7pm, 8 pm, etc.... i consider it a luxury to book out at 5.30pm.... yes its 5.30 pm not 5Originally posted by tErI-yAkI:being a clerk is not as easy as everyone think...
being a clerk need not necessary book in at 8 or 8+am, and book out at 5pm on the dot...
being a clerk need not necessary means that you have nights off everyday...
if possible, dun be a clerk la.
Ever try being a Combat Clerk?Originally posted by Augustin:totally agree!! i am one myself... sometimes i stay in, some times i book out at 7pm, 8 pm, etc.... i consider it a luxury to book out at 5.30pm.... yes its 5.30 pm not 5