ya ya. when i see RSAF beret, i thought how come looks so dirty too.Originally posted by Zooish:RSAF = blueish grey. The colour makes it look dirty and faded, even when brand new.
RSN = black
Tell u liao, NCC cadets oso wear jungle hat liao.. esp during CCA orientation!Originally posted by wuming78:i think the kids probably do not know the true meaning of the jungle hat to appreciate it. to them it's probably just another fashionable and unique head-dress, meant to attract attention of the have-nots.
I think that allowing NCC to wear the jungle hat is too much, even for a guy like me that advocates letting soldiers from any vocation wear it as long as they have pride in the hat.NCC is not ARMY.Period.Originally posted by wuming78:i think the kids probably do not know the true meaning of the jungle hat to appreciate it. to them it's probably just another fashionable and unique head-dress, meant to attract attention of the have-nots.
To me - NCC should not be wearing camo uniforms at all. It gives a wrong impression to foreigners. Can you imagine how 13-16 year old kids in camoflage uniform looks like to foreign visitors?Originally posted by LazerLordz:I think that allowing NCC to wear the jungle hat is too much, even for a guy like me that advocates letting soldiers from any vocation wear it as long as they have pride in the hat.NCC is not ARMY.Period.
and yes, the gore-tex jacket is a favourite fashion statement too.Originally posted by TVaddict:i've even seen a fat guy wearing a yellow tee shirt and a jungle hat walking along toa payoh... what more can i say...
Oh yea....ppl wearing it as a raincoat outta camp on rainy days, and they wear civ inside.Originally posted by wuming78:and yes, the gore-tex jacket is a favourite fashion statement too.![]()
Good point. Esp since these kids tend to be extremely rowdy in public, while in uniform.. This reflects very badly on the quality and discipline of our soldiers, esp since not everyone can tell an NCC boy (esp the upper sec ones) from an SAF NSF.Originally posted by bcoy:To me - NCC should not be wearing camo uniforms at all. It gives a wrong impression to foreigners. Can you imagine how 13-16 year old kids in camoflage uniform looks like to foreign visitors?
Originally posted by TVaddict:i've even seen a fat guy wearing a yellow tee shirt and a jungle hat walking along toa payoh... what more can i say...
hm.. yah i think the NPCC uniforms are not allowed to be worn outside, possibly because there is no clear distinction between their uniforms and that of the police (are there?). hence they probably thought that since "NCC" is printed on the epaulettes of the NCC cadets, they can be allowed to wear their uniforms outside.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Good point. Esp since these kids tend to be extremely rowdy in public, while in uniform.. This reflects very badly on the quality and discipline of our soldiers, esp since not everyone can tell an NCC boy (esp the upper sec ones) from an SAF NSF.
I think one way would be to strictly ban NCC boys from wearing no. 4 (and no. 3 as well, for that matter) in public, something which i believe they are doing now for the NPCC kids.
Sigh, at least the nice RSAF crest makes up for the dirty colour. That's why i kept the crest but dumped the beret after ord.Originally posted by Gordonator:ya ya. when i see RSAF beret, i thought how come looks so dirty too.
hmm... how come RSN also black? same as armour.![]()
Actually I believe NPCC epaulettes also got the "NPCC" embroided on.Originally posted by wuming78:hm.. yah i think the NPCC uniforms are not allowed to be worn outside, possibly because there is no clear distinction between their uniforms and that of the police (are there?). hence they probably thought that since "NCC" is printed on the epaulettes of the NCC cadets, they can be allowed to wear their uniforms outside.
but i agree with you that they shouldnt, especially the importance of upholding SAF's image is constantly impressed upon our soldiers. we do not want a case where this is entirely demolished by kids.
The RSAF beret colours are similar to the Israeli air force ones. They have more and weird beret colours like orange, purple, turquoise, silver, etc.Originally posted by Zooish:Sigh, at least the nice RSAF crest makes up for the dirty colour. That's why i kept the crest but dumped the beret after ord.
No more 'appropriate' colours left liao. Navy uses white peak cap, but white beret looks odd.![]()
I personally tink those NCC cadets should wear PT kit or their PE attire when they fall out. Their beret is always oversized so look like mushroom lor.Originally posted by Gordonator:the way the NCC boys wear their berets is... terrible. so is some other NSF i seem before, wear until like mushroom like that.![]()
maybe they didnt get the size rightOriginally posted by Gordonator:the way the NCC boys wear their berets is... terrible. so is some other NSF i seem before, wear until like mushroom like that.![]()
the smallest beret size is 6 and 3/4 right? no reason why the schools cannot intent all beret to be of this size?Originally posted by martin_lim85:maybe they didnt get the size right![]()
that may be too big for some of them!Originally posted by Gordonator:the smallest beret size is 6 and 3/4 right? no reason why the schools cannot intent all beret to be of this size?![]()