Originally posted by chunyong:1 word, WAYANG
PDF means PEOPLE'S Defence force, doesn't it?Originally posted by nightzip:hmm since 6SIR under public defence force, then ofcourse must protect the public lah...and those key infrastructures ofcourse...![]()
1 thing note:is evergreen and soon this yr is gonna be like bmtc sch 1: meaning ABCDEF and 2SP HQOriginally posted by nightzip:hmm since 6SIR under public defence force, then ofcourse must protect the public lah...and those key infrastructures ofcourse...![]()
Don't tell me you're from there?Originally posted by duotiga83:1 thing note:is evergreen and soon this yr is gonna be like bmtc sch 1: meaning ABCDEF and 2SP HQ...we are mor busy than norm SIR
yes i am thereOriginally posted by SBS9611D:Don't tell me you're from there?
God bless you if I'm right.
Originally posted by wuming78:1) if u can spot a terrorist 800m away either means
Soldiers specially trained to protect key installations
By Goh Chin Lian
BODY searches, spotting homemade bombs and holding down intruders are among the new skills taught to soldiers from a battalion given the task of protecting key installations here.
Unlike the conventional infantry battalion, the Sixth Battalion Singapore Infantry Regiment has a company of troops with unique abilities to handle security threats.
They include [b]surveillance specialists, along with experts in detecting and isolating chemical explosives and communications for command and control.
Among them are also military police, who have the authority to arrest suspected saboteurs in a restricted area, snipers who can hit terrorist targets 800m away, and personnel equipped with powerful shotguns and automated grenade launchers that can stop a speeding vehicle.
Revealing the battalion's make-up and its training for the first time yesterday, its commanding officer, Major Wong Weng Kong, 36, told reporters that it takes about 29 weeks to train full-time national servicemen who have just passed out from basic military training, for their specialised jobs.
The soldiers, who are screened to see if they have criminal records, learn, among other things, rules of engagement with civilians, how to operate a light patrol vehicle and how to cordon off an area where a bomb is suspected to have been planted.
They are also taught to remember key details for reporting incidents.
If they spot a suspicious person taking a video of a key installation and then jumping into a car, they are expected to be able to recall the car's model, colour and licence plate, and the person's features and attire.
They also learn how to set up an operations room in an emergency, and, for some, how to front interviews with the media.
Since turning operational in November, the troops have been taking turns in 24-hour protection of key installations around the island, such as the petrochemical hub on Jurong Island and Changi Airport.
They relieve patrols of other Singapore Armed Forces soldiers who guarded these places after the Sept 11, 2001, terrorist attacks in the United States.
Having a dedicated battalion also means there can be a focus on refining the training, said Major Wong.
This includes testing new training methods and gadgets, including equipping troops with personal digital assistants that can take pictures and transmit them to their commanders.
THREAT CONTAINMENT: Soldiers demonstrate how a suspected terrorist would be dealt with. -- EDWIN KOO
--ST[/b]
4SIR?Originally posted by Geforce3:emm, my unit taking over them for ops bacinet hahha.
And shouldn't the bugger be lying sprawled on the floor instead?Originally posted by chunyong:oh yah...and dats not the proper way to call a search, the fella's hands should be above his head and legs spread wide....and you don't stoop down one....and u dun do it agaisnt a glass window cos the bugger can see clearly what you are and will be doing......and they still claim 24 weeks of training....LMAO. sigh.....![]()
Haha.. Observations from a police officer..Originally posted by chunyong:1) if u can spot a terrorist 800m away either means
1) part of a big wayang show
2) he is a famous T like Been Laided
3) he is carrying a lighted molotov and walking linearly towards the building...
2) MP arrest people in Restricted area just means
Terrorist got in, MP got Terrorist and Terrorist got all of the people in the base by detonating....
3) stop a speeding vehicle
1) bomb carrying vehicles do not speed one....no one is that stupid to draw attention prior to detonating.
just a week or so STAR re-re-re-iterated maritime thingy, now is SAF turn, next will be STS saying maritime thingy then SAF then back to STAR to re-re-re-re-iterate maritime thingy or other things dat has been said b4 many times. just keep bouncing between SPF, SAF and maybe even SCDF. wats new ?
oh yah...and dats not the proper way to call a search, the fella's hands should be above his head and legs spread wide....and you don't stoop down one....and u dun do it agaisnt a glass window cos the bugger can see clearly what you are and will be doing......and they still claim 24 weeks of training....LMAO. sigh.....![]()
but if they put on papers must be 'flawless' mah....24 weeks leh...now 24 hrs. still dare write so much....sighOriginally posted by Zooish:And shouldn't the bugger be lying sprawled on the floor instead?
The whole SAF is a big wayang show afterall, so seeing them do this security thing isn't too surprising.![]()
Having seen first hand how security in SAF works, all i can say is that we have been extremely lucky all this while that no terror attack has happened. Maybe the big wayang show that has been put up has worked... or we're juz really lucky.Originally posted by wuming78:not sure why so many people here are skeptical about this, and about the capability of the unit.
so does it mean you all feel rather insecure in singapore, that we will not be able to deter and handle terrorist attacks?
hm..ok. have you surfaced your concerns and observations to your superiors?Originally posted by Zooish:Having seen first hand how security in SAF works, all i can say is that we have been extremely lucky all this while that no terror attack has happened. Maybe the big wayang show that has been put up has worked... or we're juz really lucky.
I was from FDS, handling security of airbases, supposedly the highest priority military installations. But the resources we're given are really pathetic, old equipment, and there is a constant lack of manpower. Also, there's poor co-ordination between the different agencies such as MSD, DSTA in terms of issueing clearances for private contractors and foreign workers.
There are many loopholes that terrorists could have exploited quite easily.
But apparently the situation is changing and more budget and manpower is being allocated to security units.
Of course wayang lah. My friends who served in combat units before told me all about stand-bys. Everything in their haversack must be in peak condition and tightly compacted into ziplocs. In actual war time, it would be very impractical. And it seems they are expecting KL troops to invade from Gelang Patah. But I'm sure those people with designs on PSA know better.Originally posted by lwflee:Actually, while i agree that the suspect should be made to stand with his legs further back so that he is leaning against the wall, and that his hand should be higher up, i don't agree that the soldier's stance is wrong.
Putting his legs in between is an effective way of preventing the guy from wriggling away; You can push your hips in if needed to keep him on the wall. By lowering his hips, he is making sure that he has a stable stance and that he can exert continual pressure on the suspect.
Many cage fighters use that tactic to keep their opponents off balanced and against the cage.
EDIT: I do agree that there much be much Wayanging here though.
if u pose dat bugger properly, no need for the middle leg thingy one....Originally posted by lwflee:Actually, while i agree that the suspect should be made to stand with his legs further back so that he is leaning against the wall, and that his hand should be higher up, i don't agree that the soldier's stance is wrong.
Putting his legs in between is an effective way of preventing the guy from wriggling away; You can push your hips in if needed to keep him on the wall. By lowering his hips, he is making sure that he has a stable stance and that he can exert continual pressure on the suspect.
Many cage fighters use that tactic to keep their opponents off balanced and against the cage.
EDIT: I do agree that there much be much Wayanging here though.
Oh yah, my immediate superiors were well aware. But many problems ultimately go beyond their level, up to the galaxy of 'stars' above.Originally posted by wuming78:hm..ok. have you surfaced your concerns and observations to your superiors?
tio lar hahhaaOriginally posted by duotiga83:4SIR?![]()