Rear Admiral (Lower-Half) 1 starOriginally posted by cornyfish2000:If i'm not wrong in Singapore, even the CNV (2 stars) is still called a rear-admiral.
Don't think we'll ever have a CDF from the navy..
I think the only non-army CDF we ever had was Bey Soo Khiang, from the air force. And i believe that was the one and only time there was a non-army 3-star general in the SAF.
yup, the no.3 they wear has the stars popping out..and in the middle of the star seems to be a small stick too..dun ask me wat's that for..Originally posted by Gordonator:ranks of generals in the SAF.
if u all look closely at the ranks of generals in the SAF (provided u can get so close to him), the design is very different, the stars are like poping up.
The general epaulettes for the formal uniforms are even more zai... the whole epaulette is golden colour. From far can tell that he's a general liao.Originally posted by CKtalon:yup, the no.3 they wear has the stars popping out..and in the middle of the star seems to be a small stick too..dun ask me wat's that for..
the no.4 doesn't pop up though..boring rank..can't see much anyway
Desmond Kuek??Originally posted by Bejean:That Chief of Army guy is so chubby....keke...
No sure leh about the name and i dun give a damn also.....only thing that irritates me is he look more like a fat provision shop owner (no offense to them) than being a leader of our ARMY.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Desmond Kuek??
Or are u referring to the CDF (and ex-COA) Ng Yat Chung?
Hehe.But of course that is not true..Originally posted by Gordonator:i was told before that CDF is a 3 star general because each star represent the 3 forces he commands. army, RSAF and RSN.
ROFL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Originally posted by Bejean:No sure leh about the name and i dun give a damn also.....only thing that irritates me is he look more like a fat provision shop owner (no offense to them) than being a leader of our ARMY.
I mean wtf...he got no "killing air" to him at all....i lost confidence at him at just once glance..doubt he can even do one pullup.
never judge a book by its cover.Originally posted by Bejean:No sure leh about the name and i dun give a damn also.....only thing that irritates me is he look more like a fat provision shop owner (no offense to them) than being a leader of our ARMY.
I mean wtf...he got no "killing air" to him at all....i lost confidence at him at just once glance..doubt he can even do one pullup.
ya especially a very thick book.... nothing inside but words....Originally posted by Gordonator:never judge a book by its cover.
CDF is a top schoolar from a world well known university. but i forgetton which one liao. can anyone enlighten me?
Nimitz from the navy, so not General of the Army. Fleet Admiral (of the Navy?) or something like that.Originally posted by tkw88:5 star is a US army rank. It is only given during war time. The rank is called General of the Army.
Previous recipients include MacArther, Eisenhower, Marshall, Nimitz during the second world war.
In the UK rank system, there is an equivalent rank called Field Marshall.
Haha.. that's a good one..Originally posted by flash9933:Who knows the SAF might want to call a 4 stars General as "Senior General" and a 5 stars general as "General Mentor"
.. heard the previous COA/now CDF got whacked up by Chief Guard in some wargames exercises..Originally posted by Gordonator:CDF got to be the highest ranking officer in SAF without any military badges. don't be fooled by his physical appearance. the man fights with his brains.
how does that work? you can give the generals 10 stars and a moon, and it doesnt change anything does it? Its just a rank.... the individual is more important.Originally posted by mdfjami:i think it's the govt deliberately want to keep the army under their control, that's why they have this practices..
There is truth in this.Rotation prevents a cult follwing to be builkt around any leader for too long.Originally posted by mdfjami:.. heard the previous COA/now CDF got whacked up by Chief Guard in some wargames exercises..
How to have an effective general if you keep on changing the COA/CNA/CAF/CDF all the time?
And technically the army is a full corps (3 stars), so + airforce + navy should be 4 star general liao..
i think it's the govt deliberately want to keep the army under their control, that's why they have this practices..