Originally posted by Master -_-:reminds me... how many stars are there in saf? let's list it out
CDF = Chief Defence Force
COA = Chief of Army
CNV = Chief of Navy
CAF = Chief of Airforce
OCAT = Dunno whats this.. but the commander is 1 star
TRADOC = Tradoc Commander
CAO = Chief Armour Officer
CGO = Chief Guards Officer
Comdt SAFTI
FSA = Future Systems Architect
Carmo = He got star already?
Commander PLAB
What else?
AFAIK, chief arty is still a colonel...Originally posted by Joshua1975:
hey "PAO ONG" where?Chief ARTY not in the list leh or he is a COL?
one more oso missing where is our "DJ"?Chief Signal leh? oso a COL?
Chief Driver?
OCAT not sure. Tradoc is short for "training and doctrine." It's the Army's think tank. Current Commander is BG Neo Kian Hong, former Commander 9 Div.Originally posted by nightzip:
anyway whats trodoc commander??? whats ocat?![]()
COL winston Toh!Originally posted by patriot:Commander 9 Div/Infantry is still COL (pending promotion this June).
...Originally posted by patriot:LG (Ret) Lim Chuan Poh is actually Perm Sec of Education, which is a pretty respectable post. Though not as high profile as CDF, it kinda makes sense if you follow the logic that you don't want any one individual to accumulate too much political influence over the span of his career lest he become a threat to the political establishment.
Originally posted by mdfjami:TRADOC stands for Training and Doctrine Command and to say its a think-tank is not entirely true. Basically TRADOC is responsible for the way we train and fight, of course they now have other responsibilities but let's not go into that. The Estb rank for TRADOC is a one-star and is normally a very senior/experienced offr due to the nature of the job. In theory, he is 2nd in line after COA, together with COS-GS (Army).
hmm.. let's put it this way .. easier to read.. dunno whether it's accurate or not, this is just my perception.. basically everything's one rank down from "what it should be".. div comd "by right" is by a major general, in Spore it's a BG.. Bn commanders "by right" should be LTCs, in Spore it's a Maj
[b]MAJ Estab
CO/ CO equiv
(Promotion pending good service)
LTC Estab
Bde Comd/ equiv
(Promotion pending good service)
COL Estab
All Fmn officers
All ACGS staff officers
Major commands, like TRADOC, OCS, BMTC
Div Chief of Staff/ equiv
(Promotion to BG pending good service)
BG Estab
??
Joint Level planning?
Div Comd
(Supposedly there are more BGs then SWOs? That's what I heard)
MG Estab
Chief of Service (COA, CNV, CAF)
icicOriginally posted by gonegoose:TRADOC stands for Training and Doctrine Command and to say its a think-tank is not entirely true. Basically TRADOC is responsible for the way we train and fight, of course they now have other responsibilities but let's not go into that. The Estb rank for TRADOC is a one-star and is normally a very senior/experienced offr due to the nature of the job. In theory, he is 2nd in line after COA, together with COS-GS (Army).
... they tend to give you the position first, then promote you..Originally posted by Master -_-:OCAT is somewhat of a sensitive unit? Can't seem to get information in it. I am currently at TRADOC/ATEC, thus i know who my boss is laor else die sia
Honestly speaking, i never heard of a Chief Signals Officer coz i thought it would just be the COs of Signal battalion.
CSTO is only a LTC coz changed appointment. Division commanders can also be a COL (e.g 9 DIV/INFANTRY) Why ah?
HD JID is also a BG (BG TAY LIM HENG). Not sure about other Hd Joint
Logistics got 2?Originally posted by mdfjami:... they tend to give you the position first, then promote you..
in US, they see your rank first, then give you the position.. rarely would you see a MAJ as a Bn comd, for example.
Every formation has a formation head ... except Logistics which has 2![]()
CSTO and CMEOOriginally posted by Master -_-:Logistics got 2?
Comd ALTI and CSTO?
MG Desmond Kuek Bak Chye is an Amour officer. I believe all generals' beret insignia is the same ....Originally posted by patriot:Current COA, MG Desmond Kuek, is an arty officer; that's why the cannons in the beret insignia.
COL's insignia is the standard one, though they can have it embroidered.
actually there is are two logistics formations, not oneOriginally posted by mdfjami:... they tend to give you the position first, then promote you..
in US, they see your rank first, then give you the position.. rarely would you see a MAJ as a Bn comd, for example.
Every formation has a formation head ... except Logistics which has 2![]()
Hmmm.. then that must be a very long time ago..Originally posted by Gordonator:today i just found out that the current CDF and COA used to be the commander of 3 Div.
they were still BG back then.![]()