sit n reach..Originally posted by SeraphimX:Hi, I go into NS in about 2 years time and was wondering what is the beast training I shld do such tt when I go in, I can be all that I can be..
I need advice on how to train for the 5 stations and the 2.4. Right now I have started running 3kms every day and it usually takes me 15mins...which is v slow most of my frens keep telling me...as they do their 2.4 in under 9.30...so I'm damn worried that I'm not good enough to get promoted in army..need advice for the 5 stations as well so pls help guys!!
Thanks
*two thumbs up*Originally posted by nightzip:no lah..he's NOT NSmen leh..but NSF....
dun just train for "long" distance, that will only develop stamina, endurance and strength (if got some slope).
What you need is to develop SPEED!...how?
do interval trainings to vastly increase your cardio-strength....something like anaerobic..
1). run at near to MAX speed for 400 meters, then jog or walk next 1 to 2 mins, then do again and again...
2) Do. no.1 slowly and later increase to near Max. speed for 600m, 800m, etc.
and including the 1 to 2 min rest time.....
3). by the time you can do that for 1000m, you should have improve your overall speed (due to lungs accustomisation), and therefore decreased your timing by at least 1min 30s.
This is assuming when you run, its your lungs that "heat" up first and not your legs that get tired first. (i.e. assuming ample leg muscles and back, adominal muscles)
How back and lat-adominal muscles help to maintain or improve overall running performance?
1). When running, you are in the upright position and slightly crouged, etc.. so you always see people running 2.4km, cannot tahan the sides of the stomach and use hands to support them...so u need to improve this...do some stomach lat-exercises, best u got gym to do.
Next, when running, dont anyhow breathe in and out. Do "chronised"-breathing...that is either
1). 2 steps breathe in , 2 steps breathe out or 3,3 or 1,1
2). Best is, when you start running 2.4km, u can start with 2,2....then at the last 800m, change to 1,1...i.e. left leg breathe in, right leg breathe out...
this will give additional oxygen to your lungs and give you more energy and stamina. But use this as your last power-boost, i.e. dont use it at too early a stage. else it will "over"-oxygenate your lungs and "heating" up will occur and that will decrease your endurance drastically.
Lastly, go borrow books from library about running or visit the mindef.gov.sg website, where they give you general instructions to "PASSING" all your stations in IPPT.
CHEERS!![]()
brother, for your info, there's no sit and reach for army IPPT.Originally posted by Rockhound:sit n reach..
just stretch in ure free time
the advise given here are good! anyway you really do not have to be too worried. they will train you up in there. what you can do is to achieve and maintain a certain level of fitness so the learning curve would not be too steep.Originally posted by SeraphimX:Hi, I go into NS in about 2 years time and was wondering what is the beast training I shld do such tt when I go in, I can be all that I can be..
I need advice on how to train for the 5 stations and the 2.4. Right now I have started running 3kms every day and it usually takes me 15mins...which is v slow most of my frens keep telling me...as they do their 2.4 in under 9.30...so I'm damn worried that I'm not good enough to get promoted in army..need advice for the 5 stations as well so pls help guys!!
Thanks
endurance training, which is aerobic, and speed training, which is anaerobic, are equally important for soldiers. so do not focus on one and forget about the other.Originally posted by nightzip:dun just train for "long" distance, that will only develop stamina, endurance and strength (if got some slope).
do interval trainings to vastly increase your cardio-strength....something like anaerobic..
1). run at near to MAX speed for 400 meters, then jog or walk next 1 to 2 mins, then do again and again...
3). by the time you can do that for 1000m, you should have improve your overall speed (due to lungs accustomisation), and therefore decreased your timing by at least 1min 30s.
CHEERS!![]()
he doing napfa first wot..still 2 years to go before he ns...so when its time to take his napfa...still gotta do sit n reachOriginally posted by Gordonator:brother, for your info, there's no sit and reach for army IPPT.
anyway, can anyone tell me the passing standard for all 5 stations to get silver for cat x. thanks.![]()
and always remember the proper warm-ups and cool-downs, proper attire, sufficient rest and water!yup...thumbs up for this.
but when u breathe 2 fast u will get stomach cramps one lo...tried it b4Originally posted by nightzip:no lah..he's NOT NSmen leh..but NSF....
dun just train for "long" distance, that will only develop stamina, endurance and strength (if got some slope).
This is assuming when you run, its your lungs that "heat" up first and not your legs that get tired first. (i.e. assuming ample leg muscles and back, adominal muscles)
How back and lat-adominal muscles help to maintain or improve overall running performance?
1). When running, you are in the upright position and slightly crouged, etc.. so you always see people running 2.4km, cannot tahan the sides of the stomach and use hands to support them...so u need to improve this...do some stomach lat-exercises, best u got gym to do.
Next, when running, dont anyhow breathe in and out. Do "synchronised"-breathing...that is either
1). 2 steps breathe in , 2 steps breathe out or 3,3 or 1,1
2). Best is, when you start running 2.4km, u can start with 2,2....then at the last 800m, change to 1,1...i.e. left leg breathe in, right leg breathe out...
this will give additional oxygen to your lungs and give you more energy and stamina. But use this as your last power-boost, i.e. dont use it at too early a stage. else it will "over"-oxygenate your lungs and "heating" up will occur and that will decrease your endurance drastically.
Lastly, go borrow books from library about running or visit the mindef.gov.sg website, where they give you general instructions to "PASSING" all your stations in IPPT.
CHEERS!![]()
Originally posted by nightzip:ohh..this one..2,2
is not double breathe...
what you should do is actually, Not, breathe in breath in, breathe out breath out, 4times...this is wrong
you have to do this: breathe in....2 steps (left right), breathe out ...2 steps (left right)...
so effectively is just 2 breathings in 4 steps.....i.e. it will not "heat" up your lungs too fast, but at the same time, it limits oxygen into your langs too fast.
And one thing!!!!! Never open your mouth to breathe in and out, close your mouth and breath in and out by the nose during running!![]()
the mouth should not be closed fully. one should breathe in through the nose, and breathe out through the nose and mouth, with the mouth slightly open.ohh...and the "synchronised" breathing method is to be used for controlled running...as in your 2.4 km run..where you start at moderate speed.
This method NOT to be used when you doing interval training.![]()
yup..correct for boths points. Except for second point, just dun wanna confuse them cuz if they not doing correctly, may be bad for them.Originally posted by wuming78:the mouth should not be closed fully. one should breathe in through the nose, and breathe out through the nose and mouth, with the mouth slightly open.
hm.. why is synchronised breathing not to be used for interval training? i think it can still be used even for sprinting. just that the frequency of breathing would have to increase too.
the idea of synchronised breathing is to make your breathing rhythmic, and follow your steps. so you should be comfortable with the breathing rather than forcing yourself into a certain rhythm. for starters, you may need to breathe quite frequently even though you have only run a short distance. but as you build up your fitness and endurance, you would be able to sustain longer distances with infrequent breaths, all the time still maintaining synchronisation between your breaths and your steps.Originally posted by SeraphimX:Whoa...lotsa knowledgeable ppl on here... thx all for the advice..
Just came back from running 2.4 k...tried doing the 2 left then breathe in...worked for a bit then too exhuasting..However for the last stretch sprint, breathing really fast really helps!! feel kinda shacked after that, but I think it was pretty fast...
Now I gotta nurse my blisters...curse flat feet!! ATRGHHH