Originally posted by eimerz:Does that mean i stand no chances to enter OCS? It has always hurt my pride to wear hearing aids so i never wore them but i dont mind having them as long as i can 'upgrade' my pes? Will i end up in E? I only have certificates for color blindness but do i need one for night blindness and hearing? Please advice thanks.
i can only advise u this: pride and health r important to oneself, but health takes priority over pride. i believe u want to live life to the fullest till a healthy good old ripe age...
u r strongly urged to disclose ur conditions truthfully to ur cmpb doctor... u r considered falsifying ur pes... not "upgrade" if u still choose not to disclose these underlying conditions.
does that mean i'm pes E or F or something? :( damn. No more OCS. Oh well. What's the best I can be now? Clerk?
hi...i have a complete ACL tear, and ive been designated to pes c2l2, havent got my enlistment yet and here are my qns.
1. SGH doc strongly recommend me for reconstruction operation, i cant really afford it as im from a low income family...will SAF subsidise the cost for me after i've enlisted?
2. Anybody encountered anyone who went for reconstruction surgery while they are serving? how long MC can they get?
3. i havent receive any note that i would be excuse for running, marching, jumping. i want to get excuse for these as i know my knee really cant make it, cant squat properly at all! how should i go about doing that?
thanks for the help
Originally posted by eimerz:does that mean i'm pes E or F or something? :( damn. No more OCS. Oh well. What's the best I can be now? Clerk?
no. even more serious medical conditions r under e or f.
for u, most likely is within the pes c range... for ur exact pes, only when u go to cmpb checkup then u will noe... and pls don't withhold ur medical conditions info.
Originally posted by sebosebo:hi...i have a complete ACL tear, and ive been designated to pes c2l2, havent got my enlistment yet and here are my qns.
1. SGH doc strongly recommend me for reconstruction operation, i cant really afford it as im from a low income family...will SAF subsidise the cost for me after i've enlisted?
2. Anybody encountered anyone who went for reconstruction surgery while they are serving? how long MC can they get?
3. i havent receive any note that i would be excuse for running, marching, jumping. i want to get excuse for these as i know my knee really cant make it, cant squat properly at all! how should i go about doing that?
thanks for the help
1. just show saf 11b card within ur ns period, will get subsidised. get the ops date after u noe ur enlist date.
2. sure to have. light duties (attend b) for abt 2 mths.
3. inform sergeant and platoon officer. just don't do them lor. sound out if in pain or can't tolerate.
Hi EAC,
i wonder if you heard of a condition called Arterio-venous malfunction(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arteriovenous_malformation)
Before NS, I already had this condition but it was undiagnosed. I was therefore PES A. I would suffer from wild headaches now and then which affected my BMT performance and in the end I didn't make it to command school. The Tekong doctor said that I was only suffering from stress-induced headaches and gave me nothing more than painkillers.
Fast forward through my NS life, I was a pioneer in 39 SCE and represented SAFSA in dragonboat. Can safely say I did my part and did not chaokeng. Near ORD, I had my condition diagnosed and the AVM removed.
However now that I have ORDed, the AVM has returned. Whenever I exercise, the blood rush engorges my AVM with rapidly pumping blood and I get headaches of varying severity.
I plan to go for another operation to remove this new AVM but hope to get downgraded and excused from IPPT. AVMs are a congenital disorder of the cardiovascular system so I can be permanently downgraded even after the AVM has been removed?
Doctor says possibly after this AVM is removed, another one will take its place and there are might be other undiscoverered AVMs in my body.
If I want to downgrade, I have to take a specialist letter to the MO in my reservist camp, right?
Originally posted by crimson soldier:Hi EAC,
i wonder if you heard of a condition called Arterio-venous malfunction(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arteriovenous_malformation)
If I want to downgrade, I have to take a specialist letter to the MO in my reservist camp, right?
yes, specialist report/memo/hospital discharge summary... whatever supporting documents u already have, then book for a medical review thru the eHealth module in www.ns.sg after u logged in in the reservist (NSman) page.
how do temp pes work? after how many pes reviews then will it become perm?
otherwise every 6 months have to renew temp pes, all the way to reservist days?
Originally posted by Zerqkk:how do temp pes work? after how many pes reviews then will it become perm?
otherwise every 6 months have to renew temp pes, all the way to reservist days?
it depends on whether the condition is medically stabilised to be considered as a perm medical condition... depending on where and what type of injury or condition...
take an analogy.... like u have a deep cut. but it will sure to be healed right... there might be as though nothing had happened or a scar is formed... all depends.
I got psoriasis , and i went to NUH to get specialist letter , the letter says , i need long term treatment , and condition will worsened if expose to heat. then i went down to cmpb at 11+ , the person told me to come back at 1pm , so i did , and when i go back , he told me to take a seat , and yeah , i waited till 2pm , before i can see the MO , i reuqested for a downgrade and there is the specialist letter for evidence , showed him all my rashes , and the MO says , your pes status remains , because , i must have 20% rashes on my body then can downgrade to pes C , and he says mine is like only 5% , and this MO cant even read doctor words. And yeah i want to ask the MO , if my condition worsened , who is going to be responsible? i dun think he know what is psoriasis , what 5% cannot downgrade? only 20% then can? , psoriasis can never be cured , and the fact that i have so few rashes , is because i try not to expose to sunlight. If i ever chiong sua , my psoriasis will act up , and who is going to take responsible? dun tell me go see unit MO al those crap , cos MO will always think u are trying to keng. I want to know , am i still eligible for a downgrade? if yes i will go to skin centre and get another specialist letter.
and yeah to add on , my skin cant even take it , when i play sports. so no need say army training.
may i know does cmpb MO see letter? what if i go and get letter from mount Elizabeth hospital will it be better? got high chance of getting a downgrade? because my condition i stil condition mild , there are quite a lot of small plaques at the back of my upper body and a few lower body , and there is a patch on my face the 2 sides of the chin , and scalp also got a lot. does that consider mild? i don't know , the MO says so. i tend to go back for review again. so what advise would u give me? get a letter from mount elizabeth?
-
-
Originally posted by Resentment:I got psoriasis , and i went to NUH to get specialist letter , the letter says , i need long term treatment , and condition will worsened if expose to heat. then i went down to cmpb at 11+ , the person told me to come back at 1pm , so i did , and when i go back , he told me to take a seat , and yeah , i waited till 2pm , before i can see the MO , i reuqested for a downgrade and there is the specialist letter for evidence , showed him all my rashes , and the MO says , your pes status remains , because , i must have 20% rashes on my body then can downgrade to pes C , and he says mine is like only 5% , and this MO cant even read doctor words. And yeah i want to ask the MO , if my condition worsened , who is going to be responsible? i dun think he know what is psoriasis , what 5% cannot downgrade? only 20% then can? , psoriasis can never be cured , and the fact that i have so few rashes , is because i try not to expose to sunlight. If i ever chiong sua , my psoriasis will act up , and who is going to take responsible? dun tell me go see unit MO al those crap , cos MO will always think u are trying to keng. I want to know , am i still eligible for a downgrade? if yes i will go to skin centre and get another specialist letter.
and yeah to add on , my skin cant even take it , when i play sports. so no need say army training.
may i know does cmpb MO see letter? what if i go and get letter from mount Elizabeth hospital will it be better? got high chance of getting a downgrade? because my condition i stil condition mild , there are quite a lot of small plaques at the back of my upper body and a few lower body , and there is a patch on my face the 2 sides of the chin , and scalp also got a lot. does that consider mild? i don't know , the MO says so. i tend to go back for review again. so what advise would u give me? get a letter from mount elizabeth?
well, since the cmpb doctor already said that >20% then can down pes to C range, then thats the case for downgrade due to psoriasis basis.
getting extra memos from NSC and mt. elizabeth specialists MAY help in further supporting ur case, if stronger words r used. (i'm not asking/urging u to spend extra money...)
if after all these appeals still cannot help b4 u enlist, then just wait till u get into bmt or unit...
and pls dun post multiple replies... dun clog up the topic...
Originally posted by eac:well, since the cmpb doctor already said that >20% then can down pes to C range, then thats the case for downgrade due to psoriasis basis.
getting extra memos from NSC and mt. elizabeth specialists MAY help in further supporting ur case, if stronger words r used. (i'm not asking/urging u to spend extra money...)
if after all these appeals still cannot help b4 u enlist, then just wait till u get into bmt or unit...
and pls dun post multiple replies... dun clog up the topic...
Originally posted by Resentment:
so even my psoriasis does not have 20% i still got a chance to appeal? like getting a memo from mt elizabeth or nsc? as u said MAY , so i still got a chance? but what are the chances? i am worried that they will ask me why last time i came for 2nd medical review then cannot downgrade then now still come again? how can i reply them back?
-_-"'......
i really buay tahan liao... may = possbility... what r the % of chances... this question now i throw back at u... u now go calculate for ur own good....
how u reply them is up to u, use ur cognitive skills and reasoning/judgement/perception ability... whatsoever.
apart from the >20% rule, u have to convince the specialists at nsc or mt. elizabeth why ur case is worth the downgrade reason at cmpb... if u got money n willing to fork out, get a specialist report instead of a memo.
how and what to tell the doctors abt ur own conditions is based on ur medical severity deemed by the specialists...etc...
if after all these still cant grant an pes review appeal, then just accept the fate and dun be like the 'goldevil' forumer... whining and ranting just for things to be in his way... reality vs illusion.
if u succeeded in getting those specialist reports, and u still want to try for a review, call up cmpb and schdeule for an appt for a pes review. and if u did so, when the time comes, inform the cmpb doctor to pls submit ur case statement for a pes review at the medical board meet, for review discussion chaired by a MAJ rank (saf regular) doctor, who usually is a specialist... and if so did this happen, and the official pes review letter assign u the pes, whether still the same or downgraded. just accept it and enlist for bmt.
not that i wish so, but ive got a family member with this situation and would like to ask for some advice.
kanna cancer while still serving NS, still 2-3 months to ORD. but is not terminal illness. It is curable.
is it that the army will kick u out asap (giving u pes f) ??? somemore his medical board bloody fast - within 1 month. is that normal anot?? cos i heard med board usually 3months time. also they said cannot appeal. got like that wan ah??
anyone any idea - is it all cancer straightaway pes f wan huh?
anyone heard of cancer cases - does that take very long/short time to the med board? or cases whereby cancer patient not kanna pes F??
hope to hear some reply soon. Thank you.
Originally posted by ksin:not that i wish so, but ive got a family member with this situation and would like to ask for some advice.
kanna cancer while still serving NS, still 2-3 months to ORD. but is not terminal illness. It is curable.
is it that the army will kick u out asap (giving u pes f) ??? somemore his medical board bloody fast - within 1 month. is that normal anot?? cos i heard med board usually 3months time. also they said cannot appeal. got like that wan ah??
anyone any idea - is it all cancer straightaway pes f wan huh?
anyone heard of cancer cases - does that take very long/short time to the med board? or cases whereby cancer patient not kanna pes F??
hope to hear some reply soon. Thank you.
if its still in early stage, n with medication/treatment, thus curable.
medical board within 1 month is far more normal already... this is called efficiency... if u dun want, then wait 2/3 mths later, ur case file will only be stack in the medical centre's metal cabinet labelled "Med Board KIV PENDING". the medical centre immediate attention tagging to ur relative's case file liao, still complain...
cancer or not, or any other conditions ALL NEED SPECIALIST MEMO/REPORT/SCAN REPORT/BLOOD REPORT.... so long as its a certified diagnosis, u have a case.
n if doctors at medical board says so, then it is it. u want to appeal, go find hospital specialist to write more details in the report. n give the report/memo again for review, its that simple. no proof, no talk.
a slightly off topic question, what is the highest cat status for a nsf?
Originally posted by stellazio:a slightly off topic question, what is the highest cat status for a nsf?
I assume you are asking about cat status that is related to IPPT?Highest as in the fittest?
If that is the case,it will be Cat X,which all IPPT eligible recruits will start under.When they hit 25,they will be under Cat Y and so forth.Lowest Cat for the older Nsmen is Cat Z or even Cat ZZ IIRC.
nono, cat status as in your security clearance.
Ah,sorry.
I believe that to be Cat 1/1A.But your average clerk won't go beyond 2A unless he is in somekind of Admin Sup position.
cat 1/1A i know, but are they given to nsfs?
I personally have not come across any NSFs with that high clearence.This is probably due to the fact that such clearence is not permanent and has to be reviewed frequently by the MSD.So I believe only senior regulars have such high clearence.
Originally posted by baikachuchu:I personally have not come across any NSFs with that high clearence.This is probably due to the fact that such clearence is not permanent and has to be reviewed frequently by the MSD.So I believe only senior regulars have such high clearence.
correct. cat 1/1A has to attend an interview with MSD. + an application form.
cat 2A at most is done online via the ACRES intranet at S1 br.
cat 2A already have clearance to view limited SECRET docs. cat 1/1A is seeing TOP SECRET docs.
ok, end of discussion. back to original medical topic.
Originally posted by baikachuchu:Ah,sorry.
I believe that to be Cat 1/1A.But your average clerk won't go beyond 2A unless he is in somekind of Admin Sup position.
same, 3sg admin sup also only cat 2A.
Originally posted by stellazio:cat 1/1A i know, but are they given to nsfs?
definate NO.
ALL nsf got cat 2A is mostly need ISAC card + OA email, e.g. clerks, medics, ps, pc, perm staff such as regulars. else, there is nothing much to apply for cat 2A.
ok, end of discussion. back to original medical topic.