Unless they have changed the PES classification, PES C1 is non-combat or at least it was 15 years ago when we introduced the C1 and C2 scheme. I know cos I was very much involved in the re-classification. Pes C was non-combat, C1 and C2 only related to eligibility for normal IPPT. The L1-3 scheme deals with deployment and was introduced later to allow a person to serve in a non-combat vocation in the frontline.Originally posted by Guile:Who says C1 is non -combat?
Im C1L1 perm upgraded from C2L2 after i broke my radius and ulna bones in half in my right master arm after a fall during Fibua trg.
Though i was out of action for 6 mths till i ORD, i was upgraded back during medical review and am now back to my normal vocation of Sect Comd in my reservists unit. I still had to go chiong suah and all during my previous ICTs though. The only training i was excused from doing was the Battle course in BCTC cos PES C and below are told to fall out by the instructors.
I have to be more careful these days when i go back for ICTs during outfield esp when proning etc cos my arm is not as flexible as before. I have not tested it to dig trenches and shell scrapes though.
Excused battle course during BCTC but not excused outfield exercise during ICT. During ICT, I still had to undergo mission exercise, Platoon battlecourse, coastal hook, night walk to dawn attack and hasty defence thereafter. All those are combat stuffs. I find it pretty bo liao to be PES C1L1 yet have to do all those stuffs. Might as well put me as PES B and dun excuse chin up and SOC.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Unless they have changed the PES classification, PES C1 is non-combat or at least it was 15 years ago when we introduced the C1 and C2 scheme. I know cos I was very much involved in the re-classification. Pes C was non-combat, C1 and C2 only related to eligibility for normal IPPT. The L1-3 scheme deals with deployment and was introduced later to allow a person to serve in a non-combat vocation in the frontline.
Perhaps they no longer consider section cmdr vocation as necessarily combat vocation...as you said, you were excused from the battle course...so I suppose that counts as non-combat.
It is only for the time being.Originally posted by kenshin_himura:i am given Pes BP status on the dae of my medical check up.. however todae i haven been issued a letter that i am referred to SGH for my X ray check up and haven been graded Pes D status now.. wats wrong wif me.. am i not allowed to returnj to normal pes status ( A or B)...
wonder if i have some chest probs.. anione have similar cases like me??Originally posted by will4:It is only for the time being.
What kind of chest problem? U have stress problem?Originally posted by kenshin_himura:wonder if i have some chest probs.. anione have similar cases like me??
no idea.. perhaps the layer of adipose tissues has made it imposssible for X rays to pass thru? lol seriously worried... man i hope i dun have heart probs..Originally posted by will4:What kind of chest problem? U have stress problem?
I enlisted in 2002, and ORD 2005, so hope my answer helps..Originally posted by gd4u:I have qn to ask.
1) Will weight affect PES status?? They measure using BMI or % ??
(%, ie, there is a suitable weight % between 80 to 120 ...)
2) If u are slightly overweight, will u tio the obese BMT ??
Your case does sound very odd. PES C is definitely still non-combat and yet you are still in a combat vocation. I suggest you check into this by speaking to your NS MO. You should not be in a combat position, although I'm not sure what is allowed and what is not. In any case, you can complain to your MP that you are non-combat and having problems, yet being posted and made to do combat related activities. Wasted, should have complained before elections.Originally posted by Guile:Excused battle course during BCTC but not excused outfield exercise during ICT. During ICT, I still had to undergo mission exercise, Platoon battlecourse, coastal hook, night walk to dawn attack and hasty defence thereafter. All those are combat stuffs. I find it pretty bo liao to be PES C1L1 yet have to do all those stuffs. Might as well put me as PES B and dun excuse chin up and SOC.
I got to thank SAF for sending me to hospital, making me go tru 2 operations and leaving 2 major, permanent scars on may hand and sending me back into battle in the front lines.
I thought the employers public or private never bother about pes status?Originally posted by ha8n:so many have pes status ..only genuine then consider d'grade lar or nx time ur job employment not easy..
certain jobs tt some may botherOriginally posted by will4:I thought the employers public or private never bother about pes status?
Anybody here can verify whether downgrade of status can face diffculty in
getting work?
What kind of work u refer to?Originally posted by ha8n:certain jobs tt some may bother
Those that require strenous tasks and outdoor activity? Industrial machinery etc?Originally posted by will4:What kind of work u refer to?
Ur answer is truly apprecited but I like to get a clearer picture cause many sevicemen esp those reservist mentioned if the lower the status, theOriginally posted by LazerLordz:Those that require strenous tasks and outdoor activity? Industrial machinery etc?