1) Yes, subject to having accumalated a certain amt of accident free mileage. Obviusly, this would be easier for driversOriginally posted by sword:have several qns regarding military driving licenses...
1) when u learn driving thru e SAF, wld u be able 2 convert e military driving license to a civilian license?
2) is it true that only Man would be sent for driving lessons thru e SAF and not Officers?
3) Are SAF vehicles manual or automatic?
thanx in advance...
the rest are manualOriginally posted by deathscythe99:Conversion...i think after a certain mileage has been clockeD? Not too sure of this.
For SAF vehicles, less the MAN 5T, the rest are manual
the lsv is semi-autoOriginally posted by Joshua1975:the rest are manual
check 1st than post lar.
have several qns regarding military driving licenses...
1) when u learn driving thru e SAF, wld u be able 2 convert e military driving license to a civilian license?
2) is it true that only Man would be sent for driving lessons thru e SAF and not Officers?
3) Are SAF vehicles manual or automatic?
1) U can only convert the miliitary license (ML) to civilian license (CL) aft u clocked more than 7000km mileage accident free. (sometimes small accidents depend on unit wana cover for u or not loh.) Only convert class3.
2) Well from what i know rite now. Drivers.... SAF REGULAR vehicle mechanics... tpt supervisors or so call MT sergeant (both NSF and REG)... will be sent for the military driving course. Well normally officers will not be sent for this course due to their job scope which mostly doesnt need much of driving... they can always indent transport to bring them ard. Whereas for Motor Transport Officer(MTO) i dun think they go for the course too... for those who have CL . They can always apply for LOA to drive MID vehicles... just like those high ranking commanders driving those white staff cars.
I am sure there wouldnt be any chances officers will drive class 4 vehicles meaning those tonners lah so they can just apply LOA so they can hop onto those GP cars ... staff cars for errands loh.
3) A mixture lah... well i just list out what i can remember for auto transmission one.
MAN 5 ton
GP car... the newer ones... Ford forcus... daewoo nubira....opel astra
Ambulance.. the newer civilian model ones... merc sprinter... ford transit.
Merc recce jeep...
Ssang yong rexton SUV
Staff car (proton wira... audi a4)
The rest all should be manual loh...
Well any more questions>? I am always willing to clarify.![]()
First of all I'm not a driver. I'm sure there are merits and joy in the vocation. However i wanna highlight the stress of a driver. During my time, it's quite normal for drivers to get charged (RP, DB or extras) for reckless driving, accidents, speeding, tampering with speed limit device etc.Originally posted by bismarck:how is it like being a driver ? how many types are there ? drive for the generals etc or drive those land rovers ?
thought abt being driver or something while i am in there. anything to do with the PES status? i dont think so right ?
yup that's true.Originally posted by nAkAnO:1: after clocking 7000km then can convert to civilian class3. almost impossible for most pple who have underwent the driving course UNLESS ur vocation is a driver.
2: depends. currently im undergoing e 5 wk driving course at Kaki Bukit. but i aint a driver.. just POPed from BMT in March, posted to my vocation as an autotech 'B', which is a spec course ( meaning ill get my 3SG during my 1yr 10 mths in NS. yes.. 1 yr 10 mths.yep when i took my course there was a 1wo - he was the rsm of some 3x SCE - i don't remember, gerard yeo or sth iirc, and he was taking the course so he could drive the gp car which came with the job. :-)) and along with me taking the course now include drivers, transport sups, and loads more la. there's even a 27yr old SSG autotech taking e course with us as well. so.. for ur answer, not just MEN la. specs ( logistics specs and combat specs alike ) are sent for the course often enough, tho i haven't seen any officers in the nominal rolls of the 5 groups undergoing the course right now. hope that answers ur question!
I saw 83 MID outside Hyatt Hotel once, driver was a LCP in No.3.Originally posted by Gordonator:drivers must be of what rak to drive CDF, COA's MID car? last time when Teo Chee Hean come my camp, his driver is a SSG (in civilian clothing).
good luck man...be prepared when the testers fail you on puropse just 2 hit the quota of passing....i kanna that b4 and went into "backlot"Originally posted by nAkAnO:1: after clocking 7000km then can convert to civilian class3. almost impossible for most pple who have underwent the driving course UNLESS ur vocation is a driver.
2: depends. currently im undergoing e 5 wk driving course at Kaki Bukit. but i aint a driver.. just POPed from BMT in March, posted to my vocation as an autotech 'B', which is a spec course ( meaning ill get my 3SG during my 1yr 10 mths in NS. yes.. 1 yr 10 mths.) and along with me taking the course now include drivers, transport sups, and loads more la. there's even a 27yr old SSG autotech taking e course with us as well. so.. for ur answer, not just MEN la. specs ( logistics specs and combat specs alike ) are sent for the course often enough, tho i haven't seen any officers in the nominal rolls of the 5 groups undergoing the course right now. hope that answers ur question!
83MID? how can a LCP drive his car?Originally posted by LazerLordz:I saw 83 MID outside Hyatt Hotel once, driver was a LCP in No.3.
Reasons why SAF driver kana charge:Originally posted by Altis84:well those driver driving the high ranking senior commanders and ministers are saf regular... they can range from 2sg onwards loh...
well there is no nsf drivers driving the ministers, coa, etc lah... unless they really cannot find replacement when one is on mc? hahaha
well what vehicle the driver drive depends on which unit he goes loh... etc... if he goes.. light transport company (LTC) ... he will mainly drive admin vehicles only... send vip in staff cars... admin details in gp and minbuses... If he posted to combat unit... mainly he will drive more of the tonners and ops vehicles loh..
It really depends lah.
I think for pes status wise... c9l3 ... nothing below than that for driver.
Wana be driver during service.... wow.... so siao on ah.. ya true... driver easily get charged one... so better think twice... its different from driving civilian vehicles ah...the only good thing is ... for some drivers... they have the chance to drive from the smallest vehicle to the biggest vehicle u can imagine loh... so experience gained lah ... but must have the guts too.
got la got officers go for the course one. most Scout platoon commanders go as well as scout instructors from SMI. most should be 2LT though.Originally posted by Altis84:no officers as i said... well the SSG reg tech mah.
I think they will give piority to drivers first.
Well there is this class 4m course for pple who have license liao... shorter course...
u know 83MID belongs to who first or not?Originally posted by Altis84:Of course 83 can be driven by a LCP... haha i personally driven quite a few times the audi a4 too.