It's a Guards Unit Exercise. Sometimes it might requires you to go Taiwan. You'll love it man, cause it's xiongOriginally posted by kengkia:my unit wld be fighting atec in nov.....and i dun noe a thing abt it...although pple got tell me here and there but i curious to noe abt e full details..pls enlighten me..
why?Originally posted by relackjack:which unit u from?
Hur? What guard exercise? ... ATEC is battalion level evalulation exercise conducted by X (name withheld). to evaluate comabt readiness of a unit. It's a two sided exercise with an op force from another unit (normally a company size, could be from Infantry, armour, guards, commando and other units). SAF used to have a full time NSF op force but i think it's non existance now. After the exercise, your unit will be graded and given a Recon status i.e. Recon 1,2, 3 etc. Can be local or overseas, likely the later. During my time, a poor recon status = redo, damn xian.Originally posted by dreamlander:It's a Guards Unit Exercise. Sometimes it might requires you to go Taiwan. You'll love it man, cause it's xiong
The reservist armour unit I'm posted to will be going for ATEC part 2 fo Ex. Wallaby in Nov.Originally posted by tchiew:Hur? What guard exercise? ... ATEC is battalion level evalulation exercise conducted by X (name withheld). to evaluate comabt readiness of a unit. It's a two sided exercise with an op force from another unit (normally a company size, could be from Infantry, armour, guards, commando and other units). SAF used to have a full time NSF op force but i think it's non existance now. After the exercise, your unit will be graded and given a Recon status i.e. Recon 1,2, 3 etc. Can be local or overseas, likely the later. During my time, a poor recon status = redo, damn xian.
The results are one of the many criteria used to determine SAF best unit. It's normal damn xiong cos all the regulars want to do well (for apparent reasons).
Sounds like funOriginally posted by flash9933:The reservist armour unit I'm posted to will be going for ATEC part 2 fo Ex. Wallaby in Nov.
I also had a chance to be an umpire back in 2001 duing an ATEC ex. in Thailand. The unit is basically fighting against the hot weather rather than the enemy troops. The crouching temperatue was as high as 45ºC in the month of April. It was really siong even though it is a reservist unit going thru the ATEC.Originally posted by kops21:Been through ATEC, as an empire as well as an exercise troop.
ATEC is fun and SIONG.
Need to get yourself mentality and physically prepared for a tough session as it is a test and the instructors and pressure from the top will put make it more difficult.
If you are not prepared, find ways to skip or else must be prepared to take up the challenge.
Enjoy your experience. Once a life time....![]()
41sar?Originally posted by flash9933:The reservist armour unit I'm posted to will be going for ATEC part 2 fo Ex. Wallaby in Nov.
i tot ATEC at Thailand.....Originally posted by dreamlander:It's a Guards Unit Exercise. Sometimes it might requires you to go Taiwan. You'll love it man, cause it's xiong
Eh, you know one or not? Dun act clever leh. Not sure say mah. Now you tripped yourself with this statement, you not embarrassed?Originally posted by dreamlander:It's a Guards Unit Exercise. Sometimes it might requires you to go Taiwan. You'll love it man, cause it's xiong
did my umpire & exercise troop for ATEC in Aussie.Originally posted by flash9933:I also had a chance to be an umpire back in 2001 duing an ATEC ex. in Thailand. The unit is basically fighting against the hot weather rather than the enemy troops. The crouching temperatue was as high as 45ºC in the month of April. It was really siong even though it is a reservist unit going thru the ATEC.
oh yeah i forgot...i from armour...Originally posted by dreamlander:why?
oh itz cool...my armour unit oso going to wallaby in nov oso..i heard that some of the reservist are used as stand in/replacement fill up the "gap"....for some nsf...am i rite???Originally posted by flash9933:The reservist armour unit I'm posted to will be going for ATEC part 2 fo Ex. Wallaby in Nov.
never heard of that, but the reverse did happened where a bunch of NSF, join my unit for ATEC(Aussie) a few years back.Originally posted by kengkia:oh itz cool...my armour unit oso going to wallaby in nov oso..i heard that some of the reservist are used as stand in/replacement fill up the "gap"....for some nsf...am i rite???
hmmm..nv heard of the 'reverse' but i heard e original one b4....from some storeman in my company...i frm 41 sar btw...but i think the latter is likely to happen oso cos some nsf just keep chao kengingOriginally posted by kops21:never heard of that, but the reverse did happened where a bunch of NSF, join my unit for ATEC(Aussie) a few years back.
Enjoy ur ATEC in Aussie.
Once Armour Always Armour
everyone also keng when it come to reservistOriginally posted by kengkia:hmmm..nv heard of the 'reverse' but i heard e original one b4....from some storeman in my company...i frm 41 sar btw...but i think the latter is likely to happen oso cos some nsf just keep chao kenging
I was posted to this Armour reservist unit to finish off my remaining 3 high keys. According to the unit, they acheived RECON 1 during their NSF days under MAJ Wong Ann Chai (now COL, ACGS), another president and SAFO scholar. Thus they are ambitious to scored another RECON 1 this time. They already scored RECON 1 in ATEC part 1. Deferment is now one of their setback as most of them are either going for post graduate studies or getting married as the reason.Originally posted by kops21:everyone also keng when it come to reservist
Hopefully ur CO will manage to get everyone back for ATEC. you need all tropper kia to make it easier for everyone
i think in this case more likely will be you reservists joining us together at wallaby.Originally posted by kengkia:hmmm..nv heard of the 'reverse' but i heard e original one b4....from some storeman in my company...i frm 41 sar btw...but i think the latter is likely to happen oso cos some nsf just keep chao kenging