no haven...btw...who said is at oct one??..Originally posted by nismoS132:i think in this case more likely will be you reservists joining us together at wallaby.
have they confirmed the dates with you?
we were told it's in november, but some rumors are saying it's been pushed forward to october.
My unit was Recon 1 during active time, only managed a Recon 2A during reservist a few years back. And my unit is the FIRST ONE to score Recon 2A during reservist in ATEC history.Originally posted by flash9933:I was posted to this Armour reservist unit to finish off my remaining 3 high keys. According to the unit, they acheived RECON 1 during their NSF days under MAJ Wong Ann Chai (now COL, ACGS), another president and SAFO scholar. Thus they are ambitious to scored another RECON 1 this time. They already scored RECON 1 in ATEC part 1. Deferment is now one of their setback as most of them are either going for post graduate studies or getting married as the reason.
you come from where arh? you know or do not know? b4 ATEC what was it called?Originally posted by dreamlander:It's a Guards Unit Exercise. Sometimes it might requires you to go Taiwan. You'll love it man, cause it's xiong
dunno, like i said it was a rumor.Originally posted by kengkia:no haven...btw...who said is at oct one??..
opposing force is not from another unit leh it is from within ATEC itself. I think in ATEC there are two core groups of peopleOriginally posted by tchiew:Hur? What guard exercise? ... ATEC is battalion level evalulation exercise conducted by X (name withheld). to evaluate comabt readiness of a unit. It's a two sided exercise with an op force from another unit (normally a company size, could be from Infantry, armour, guards, commando and other units). SAF used to have a full time NSF op force but i think it's non existance now. After the exercise, your unit will be graded and given a Recon status i.e. Recon 1,2, 3 etc. Can be local or overseas, likely the later. During my time, a poor recon status = redo, damn xian.
The results are one of the many criteria used to determine SAF best unit. It's normal damn xiong cos all the regulars want to do well (for apparent reasons).
ofcourseOriginally posted by antoh:reservist i still need to go ATEC
u suan can go a few times also.Originally posted by Deportivo:ofcourse
what u described is damn familiar... are u by any chance from 2 sir 11 mono scout platoon?Originally posted by Doulian:My ATEC was in Taiwan and it was a WONDERFUL experience!!!
I still remember tt my team was kena spotted by enemy patrols and our team of 4 had a small 'fire' fight even b4 the battlions came in. Obviously we were 'MASSACRED' !!
I was 'head shot' even b4 i could return fire *damn!!*
What was even more interesting was another team was also trying to cross the padi field my team was trying to cross and they also kena 'contacted'!! Even though we reported CONREP to our S2, that team still gong gong cross the field, *haii* (want to rest early also not like tt mahz).
In the end, I thought confirm will have 4th mission *sianz* since our platoon left only 4 teams to collect information, damn stressful sia~ but we still managed a 2B..keke..lagi heng!!
To all NSFs, enjoy your ATEC moments because that will be the finale to your journey of transition from boys-man.
RECCE Leads the way~
2 SIR HUA!!Originally posted by TVaddict:what u described is damn familiar... are u by any chance from 2 sir 11 mono scout platoon?
imposibble to siam lah, you will be posted to another unit doing ATEC to do make up for itOriginally posted by kops21:everyone also keng when it come to reservist
Hopefully ur CO will manage to get everyone back for ATEC. you need all tropper kia to make it easier for everyone
Oh thanks, thought they got rid of the OPFOR coy. So are they any good? During my time (ie. early 90s) SAF did use other units as enemies. Our "enemies" were not very on, think they just want to end the execise and enjoy their R&R.Originally posted by jeramy:opposing force is not from another unit leh it is from within ATEC itself. I think in ATEC there are two core groups of people
one is the core umpires group consisting mainly senior rank personnel (senior specialists, warrant, officers) who goes to every ATEC evluation as umpires. i wonder how long their posting is, coz if they are posted there 2 years then i think they will go overseas about 20-30 times man.
the other is commonly known as AGGRESSOR coy or OPFOR coy (stands for OPpoisng FORce). this is a full company of soldiers from OC, 2IC all the way down to each individual private soldier, much like our rifle company but they are structured exactly to the northern red force's hiraechy so as to provide realistic enemy simulation during ATEC evaluations. for your info they possess much better weapons and firepower than our standard rifle company, maybe thats why its SAF policy for a battalion to take out one OPFOR coy. (3:1 ratio)
being in the OPFOR coy also means you'll travel hell a lot of times throughout your NSF stint, which is not bad at all!
other active units/battalions send out supporting personnel mainly to support the core umpires during the evaluation.
11th mono? which team?Originally posted by Doulian:2 SIR HUA!!
U r?![]()
hahaha..u r 82 one, should be the man lo...11th mono Scouts!!Originally posted by TVaddict:11th mono? which team?
Originally posted by schrecklichkeit:You missed out Aussie . Armour did their ATEC either in Aussie or LCK. during my 38 days stay in SWBTA in 2001, fought a NSF armour unit, a NSF infantry unit, a reservist infantry unit and a Division . Yes infantry ATEC in Aussie.
[b]
stage 2:
normally this is conducted in one of 3 countries : singapore, thailand and taiwan. there is actually an equal chance of each country, so there is 66% it will be overseas. stage 2 is essentially one whole exercise. Your battlation against an enemy company of OPFOR (opposition force). opfor is a special company of soldiers (also nsf) trained by atec to be the agressors in such battles. they follow the template of the saf agressor (northern neighbour) and because they constantly fight with battalions, they are extremely competent. they also are not really bound to saf's "strict template on war" so they can do all sorts of unconventional tactics. never underestimate the OPFOR. i would say they are better than 80% of the units in singapore
/b]
I'm impress by the reservist units i had fought so far.. Armour , gurads and infantry reservist units... They are good... as for the performance difference betw the NSF and reservist units, I think its abit sensitive to discuss here.. all I can say is.. I have confidence in our all our reservist units shld they need to be deployed.Originally posted by schrecklichkeit:yah most people get redcon 1 for stage 1. except reservist. in fact no active bn has got redcon 2a or below for stage 1.. i think its quite screwd up if u do. most get 2B or 2A for stage 2 and end up with 2a 2b lor
Before ATEC was formed ( in 1991 i think ) , the unit is called BTEC, Battalion Training Evaluation Centre.Originally posted by Joshua1975:dun feel like replying but everytime saw this can't help.you come from where arh? you know or do not know? b4 ATEC what was it called?
KTHMKK.![]()
You are right and you are wrong .Originally posted by jeramy:opposing force is not from another unit leh it is from within ATEC itself. I think in ATEC there are two core groups of people
one is the core umpires group consisting mainly senior rank personnel (senior specialists, warrant, officers) who goes to every ATEC evluation as umpires. i wonder how long their posting is, coz if they are posted there 2 years then i think they will go overseas about 20-30 times man.
the other is commonly known as AGGRESSOR coy or OPFOR coy (stands for OPpoisng FORce). this is a full company of soldiers from OC, 2IC all the way down to each individual private soldier, much like our rifle company but they are structured exactly to the northern red force's hiraechy so as to provide realistic enemy simulation during ATEC evaluations. for your info they possess much better weapons and firepower than our standard rifle company, maybe thats why its SAF policy for a battalion to take out one OPFOR coy. (3:1 ratio)
being in the OPFOR coy also means you'll travel hell a lot of times throughout your NSF stint, which is not bad at all!
other active units/battalions send out supporting personnel mainly to support the core umpires during the evaluation.
Yes... I've seen that. It was an uh- awe inspiring moment...Originally posted by pufferfish_79:Nothing special about our hardware apart the the "simulation armour Vehicle"...
i did my ATEC in Assuie...fun..dont miss it.Originally posted by flash9933:I'm going Ex. Wallaby for Armour ATEC pat 2 in mid October to early November. Anyone??
But i'm tying to defer due to studies ... haha ..
Ex-commandos or current commandos trained to be in the Aggressor force? Siao bo, like that all our active units would get recon 3 liao lo~ The snakes, tigers and panthers will all become bbq-ed too, not just the sting rays trust me.Originally posted by pufferfish_79:You missed out Aussie . Armour did their ATEC either in Aussie or LCK. during my 38 days stay in SWBTA in 2001, fought a NSF armour unit, a NSF infantry unit, a reservist infantry unit and a Division . Yes infantry ATEC in Aussie.
My seniors are Guardsmen. Before I was posted to my unit, Opforce was mono intake guardsmen. Then before my posting they no longer " aggressors " to be guardsmen trained. Once in a while, the aggressors will be given a break, and other units are used as the Red Force.
The worst case I had seen, is the unit with the Sting Ray as the unit mascot. ( 5 SIR ?? ) They did their ATEC in ROC in 2001 i think. The red berets were the unit playing the aggressor role. My sympathy to the Sting Rays. They were literally turned into BBQ sting rays by the Aggressors. Cannot reveal too much info here, but among the countless ATECs i fought, I was abit shocked at the performance of the sting rays. They were unlucky to have red berets as aggressors.
Aggressors cannot do all sorts of unconventional tactics.At least not during my time. If only we are allowed to fight the exercise the way we wanted to, then I can be confident to say that the unit will be late to arrive at the fighting ground, and sustaining casualties before any fire fight. Or worse, we can even divert them to our killing zone, messing up their plans. But we are not allowed to haress them too much. And we aggressor do give chance, or rather, being forced to. At times, the aggressor company wanted to fight unconventional ways... but being diected to give chances... politics...