lol you think, he thought, who comfirm?Originally posted by pufferfish_79:Before ATEC was formed ( in 1991 i think ) , the unit is called BTEC, Battalion Training Evaluation Centre.
"Aggressors cannot do all sorts of unconventional tactics." ROLF... We've Been There.Originally posted by pufferfish_79:You missed out Aussie . Armour did their ATEC either in Aussie or LCK. during my 38 days stay in SWBTA in 2001, fought a NSF armour unit, a NSF infantry unit, a reservist infantry unit and a Division . Yes infantry ATEC in Aussie.
My seniors are Guardsmen. Before I was posted to my unit, Opforce was mono intake guardsmen. Then before my posting they no longer " aggressors " to be guardsmen trained. Once in a while, the aggressors will be given a break, and other units are used as the Red Force.
The worst case I had seen, is the unit with the Sting Ray as the unit mascot. ( 5 SIR ?? ) They did their ATEC in ROC in 2001 i think. The red berets were the unit playing the aggressor role. My sympathy to the Sting Rays. They were literally turned into BBQ sting rays by the Aggressors. Cannot reveal too much info here, but among the countless ATECs i fought, I was abit shocked at the performance of the sting rays. They were unlucky to have red berets as aggressors.
Aggressors cannot do all sorts of unconventional tactics. At least not during my time. If only we are allowed to fight the exercise the way we wanted to, then I can be confident to say that the unit will be late to arrive at the fighting ground, and sustaining casualties before any fire fight. Or worse, we can even divert them to our killing zone, messing up their plans. But we are not allowed to haress them too much. And we aggressor do give chance, or rather, being forced to. At times, the aggressor company wanted to fight unconventional ways... but being diected to give chances... politics...
why cdo bullet-proof or wat ?Originally posted by Doulian:Ex-commandos or current commandos trained to be in the Aggressor force? Siao bo, like that all our active units would get recon 3 liao lo~ The snakes, tigers and panthers will all become bbq-ed too, not just the sting rays trust me.
Not that i look down on our infantry units but physically and tactically, we already lose out to the commandos le and so many other factors. But if all units can really pit their skills against the commandos for all the evaluation, i believe our army will really be more than capable of dispelling any intrusion forces.
But have you seen the hilarious moment where all the BXs and M113s racing into the jungles once they spotted our rover-mounted-with-the-pvc-pipe "MBT".Originally posted by lwflee:Yes... I've seen that. It was an uh- awe inspiring moment...
Read my post carefully. Before my time, my seniors are guardsmen. My time we were infantry. When i ord, heard they converting back to guards ??? . At times, other units will be used ,to be the Aggressors. Infantry and red berets are used. That batch of stingray were suay to have the Red berets as their aggressors.Originally posted by Doulian:Ex-commandos or current commandos trained to be in the Aggressor force? Siao bo, like that all our active units would get recon 3 liao lo~ The snakes, tigers and panthers will all become bbq-ed too, not just the sting rays trust me.
Not that i look down on our infantry units but physically and tactically, we already lose out to the commandos le and so many other factors. But if all units can really pit their skills against the commandos for all the evaluation, i believe our army will really be more than capable of dispelling any intrusion forces.
Aiya, maybe during your time can. But after you Ord... we had alot of restrictions. Or shld I say, OpFor coy been ka jiao/ pressurize. We cannot fight the way we want to, we cannot give our best. Higher authority will " decide" how opfor will fight. sad,,,Originally posted by Joshua1975:"Aggressors cannot do all sorts of unconventional tactics." ROLF... We've Been There.
KTHMKK.
You confirm lorOriginally posted by Joshua1975:lol you think, he thought, who comfirm?
The forming of 1st and 2nd mono ATEC OPFOR is mainly for their secondarily role in reserve and of course a neutral and fair ex. play or you wish to call it as evaluations.
he 3rd batch one lah.. dun bully him lah... think it's that batch that kena re-opfor training by our Col Chong for been to Farkup lah..he sure know ur old fren oil drum oneOriginally posted by Joshua1975:lol you think, he thought, who comfirm?
Nope. The sight of all them tanks assembled on the Parade Square is a sight i never want to see again.Originally posted by pufferfish_79:But have you seen the hilarious moment where all the BXs and M113s racing into the jungles once they spotted our rover-mounted-with-the-pvc-pipe "MBT"...haha
no la.. i'm later than that batch....Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):he 3rd batch one lah.. dun bully him lah... think it's that batch that kena re-opfor training by our Col Chong for been to Farkup lah..he sure know ur old fren oil drum one![]()
so u mean red berets to act as aggressors and not ATEC-trained rite? That is not surprising tho~Originally posted by pufferfish_79:Read my post carefully. Before my time, my seniors are guardsmen. My time we were infantry. When i ord, heard they converting back to guards ??? . At times, other units will be used ,to be the Aggressors. Infantry and red berets are used. That batch of stingray were suay to have the Red berets as their aggressors.
of coz not~ just that they are a slightly better breed of soldeirs compared to the normal infantry thats all. Altho they r just normal people, its their training that separates them from the rest. Try being in a cdo and feel the difference.Originally posted by crazy monkey:why cdo bullet-proof or wat ?![]()
still can train in taiwan meh? i thot trainings there was halted indefintely? But in any case, training n atec there will be fun. Seriously, just the surrounding itself will be an advantage for u to do well there. Vegetation not as thick, humid and moist (unless u wander off to somee restricted areas laOriginally posted by Geforce3:my active unit going for taiwan for atec in.... AUGUST arr hot weather grrr
Ya. They were the aggressor for that 1 ATEC. Same as other units. sometimes other units will play the aggressor and relieve the Atec's own opforce.Originally posted by Doulian:so u mean red berets to act as aggressors and not ATEC-trained rite? That is not surprising tho~![]()
I disagree with you. Based on my experience fighting with Infantry, Guards , Armour and Cdo, all of them are different in their own sense. Throw in the Arti, signals, engineers. All of them are trained for a specific role. I think cannot compare 1 formation with another and say who is better than who. All have different training. Its like comparing an apple with an orange. Maybe comparing NSF infantry with reservist unit might be more balanced. I do see a difference btw NSF and reservist units. I can really see the fighting spirits and experience in the reservist units.Originally posted by Doulian:of coz not~ just that they are a slightly better breed of soldeirs compared to the normal infantry thats all. Altho they r just normal people, its their training that separates them from the rest. Try being in a cdo and feel the difference.![]()
can, as a matter of fact one of the brigades here just finished an ex over thereOriginally posted by Doulian:still can train in taiwan meh? i thot trainings there was halted indefintely? But in any case, training n atec there will be fun. Seriously, just the surrounding itself will be an advantage for u to do well there. Vegetation not as thick, humid and moist (unless u wander off to somee restricted areas la) and best of all, the people there r so welcoming, they makes u think u r actually fighting for them!
Do enjoy ur stay there, it will b one of the highlights in ur ns stint or maybe even ur life~
It will still be Nov, no changeOriginally posted by nismoS132:i think in this case more likely will be you reservists joining us together at wallaby.
have they confirmed the dates with you?
we were told it's in november, but some rumors are saying it's been pushed forward to october.
It was call BTEC(Battalion Training Evaluation Center)untill some day in 95. Sorry not confirm, check for you ....if i rememberOriginally posted by Joshua1975:dun feel like replying but everytime saw this can't help.you come from where arh? you know or do not know? b4 ATEC what was it called?
KTHMKK.![]()