Where is that school ah? Didnt see it last time.Originally posted by Manager433:Ever been to the old primary school near the jetty? Try stay there over nite for 4 straight days.![]()
The 'official' statement is that the recruit died of a 'ruptured stomach'.Originally posted by Gordonator:he was having fever, then he drank cold water. since his body temperature is already very high, it is like poring cold water onto hot class. sure break.
I been there in 1996. Now I am not sure if its still there.Originally posted by Icemoon:Where is that school ah? Didnt see it last time.
So..I see.Originally posted by w88:As far I know, the Sunday Times write-up is accurate.
The Charlie incident took place in ITD (Infantry Training Depot), Tekong, Camp 1. March 1983 BMT intake. I was enlisted at the same time. I was in Alpha company as recruit when the unfortunate event took place. We were the last batch of recruits at ITD to be issued with Tamasek green uniforms.
Apparently, only found out that poor guy was missing when clearing arms in the evening after return to camp. If I am not mistaken, he was form HCJC, only son in the family (very sad). Body eventually found off the road near four-track junction. Still remember seeing the coffin drill rehearsal in the parade square...
After SAFINCOS, I was posted back to ITD Camp 1 as instructor and spent another 2 years there. Sorry to disappoint -- didn't hear any story re Charlie from fellow instructors nor knew anyone who had any "contacts" throughout my 2 years there.
Another wide-spread myth -- no night training on Thursdays -- totally untrue. Night IFC (individual field craft) lessons were conducted on Thursday nights.
Like this oso can die?Originally posted by Gordonator:he was having fever, then he drank cold water. since his body temperature is already very high, it is like poring cold water onto hot class. sure break.
Thur nite trainin haf always been a tabboo....Originally posted by maui78:i seen the three door bunk
it was the only bunk wif 3 doors
as for the story im not sure if its true
but during my time in 1997
ther was no trainin on thurs nite...
his internal organs ruptured.U go try running a high fever, followed by doing a run march in your FBO ..then after marching for 5-6 hrs,Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Like this oso can die?
im not a kid okay -.-
this is very possible...Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Like this oso can die?
im not a kid okay -.-
taboo meh? during my time, thurs nite trainings were as usual leh...Originally posted by Qo|phin:Thur nite trainin haf always been a tabboo....
wanna hear e stories?
+1...![]()
So the trainee died while on a route march due to his frail condition? And the commanders did not notice that he had fallen midway? Or did he wander off somewhere during a break and just collapsed?Originally posted by one-niner:his internal organs ruptured.U go try running a high fever, followed by doing a run march in your FBO ..then after marching for 5-6 hrs,
its not as literally as hot water on cold glass kind of crack.
They did count people during the stops, but platoon mate who reported sick re-joined the platoon. That's why didn't realise someone has fallen out.Originally posted by iveco:So the trainee died while on a route march due to his frail condition? And the commanders did not notice that he had fallen midway? Or did he wander off somewhere during a break and just collapsed?
Then this platoon mate signed on as a regular and stayed with BMTC for 13 years before he was found dead in the supposedly haunted bunk, didn't he? As one story goes, his body was mysteriously disembowelled and there were bloodstains on the wall in the shape of a doorway.Originally posted by w88:They did count people during the stops, but platoon mate who reported sick re-joined the platoon. That's why didn't realise someone has fallen out.
Bear in mind that it was Tamasek green days -- when tough training and suffering are norms during training. First route march at BMT was 16km. That was March 1983 intake so weather as hot as what we have now in April. Given punishments like "rifles over head" or push-ups along the route march are not unexceptional. So the route march can be quite chaotic.