I duno the diff.. but i'll probably see u there..Originally posted by kuekj:I just got my posting.. I got posted to HQ MC at Nee Soon Camp to be service medic. what's the diff between service and combat medic? do i still have to go onto the field?
what courses will i go thru? quite interested to know..
(mods, maybe can consolidate a posting FAQ sticky :p)
most probably yes.Originally posted by Gordonator:posted to HQMC as service medic? souldn't u go for your medic course 1st at SMM?![]()
MRF modules for normal medics?Originally posted by dk999:yep... CKtalon is correct....
you will be reporting on monday, 20th June.
Just to prepare u.... the first half of the day will be spent sitting at a super dusty place... after that u will go for lunch then be sorted into platoons 1-4....
roughly 240+/- of you....
your platoon instructors willl then pick u up, send u to the accomodation blocks, do some admin, assign bunks etc etc.
btw u will probably be in platoon 4 (service and paramedics)
the MO thingy results will determine whether u remain in course anot, but in my opinion service medic is less xiong than storeman when it comes to loads... so its probably better that u actually remain....
the diff btw service and combat medics is actually the 100$ combat pay....
combat medics CAN be platoon medics although only half of them will be..... (v xiong) others will be doing admin work or medical center duties and 'cover medic' for the rest of the NSF life... quite slack basically....
however..... for this coming batch (yours)... something special is in store... you'll know when u get there, but it will not affect you, only combat medics
Similar to Armt Specs but yet different in method.But I guess the SAF is trying to maximise whatever combat fit people we have.Originally posted by dk999:not mrf modules....
but all medics nowadays have to go thru chem. defence pacakge, learning how to wear the suit and a trial run in CS gas
3sg ah....
that thingy is going to be re-vamped v v soon
meaning that either this or the next (supposed to be 2 batches ago but u know saf.....) batch will be the last last batch that has the non-sispec sgts
basically next time u have to goto sispec (bslc) then come to SMM for a combined crash course in basic medic course and SPEC II
nah..a revocation usually means a clerk..Originally posted by kuekj:yup I am in PES C and I have heart condition which I have highlighted during BMT. kneeling is fine but squatting can be quite bad for me cuz I have bad foot ie they land on the sides when i walk. so i just highlight? (very thankful for this vocation liao, i dun wan storeman..)
mine is stay in, so I can book out on weekends? no first-week confinement like BMT i hope..
The problem is that the course take a long time to train a medical spec so where got time for SISpec the para lvl II already took so much time liao if learn the full SISpec and medical spec the course would takes 6 mths.Originally posted by dk999:not mrf modules....
but all medics nowadays have to go thru chem. defence pacakge, learning how to wear the suit and a trial run in CS gas
3sg ah....
that thingy is going to be re-vamped v v soon
meaning that either this or the next (supposed to be 2 batches ago but u know saf.....) batch will be the last last batch that has the non-sispec sgts
basically next time u have to goto sispec (bslc) then come to SMM for a combined crash course in basic medic course and SPEC II
Svc medic where got siong so relax no BCS.Originally posted by kuekj:Service medic week 1 over... quite siong lor.. never expected service medic to be like that de... seems like the combat peeps are having a better life.... we all machiam like SOF medics liao..
anyway, what do those MRF guys learn and do? Why are they always in that black admin?
u should see the time taken to train an officer. almost one whole year.Originally posted by tarutaru:The problem is that the course take a long time to train a medical spec so where got time for SISpec the para lvl II already took so much time liao if learn the full SISpec and medical spec the course would takes 6 mths.
but you have to keep in mind what you're getting at the end.Originally posted by Gordonator:u should see the time taken to train an officer. almost one whole year.
working hand-in-hand with 39SCE, the CBRE Defence Group.Originally posted by tarutaru:MRF is a unit in treating chemical warfare.
That's the reason why MO also trained only at the later stage in OCS while most of the time in SMM..........if they attend both in full course they would takes more than one yr to train.Originally posted by Gordonator:u should see the time taken to train an officer. almost one whole year.