Originally posted by Optique:haha! i also haven't receive my enlistment letter too. same as you, just graduated and failed napfa. I don't think will be next year la. probably they would send at a later date. just wait lor...
when did u take ur Napfa test ? i took it in april
I'm enlisting on the 29th of July, sch 4. Anyone same as me? =)
Hi, I will be going for a pes c recourse this July. However, as I enlisted quite a while ago, I don't have those pixelised SBO etc. As such do I need to buy them or something, or will they provide me with one during the recourse?
Also, they will provide a new range card, camo cream etc?
Originally posted by Shermanbok:Hi, I will be going for a pes c recourse this July. However, as I enlisted quite a while ago, I don't have those pixelised SBO etc. As such do I need to buy them or something, or will they provide me with one during the recourse?
Also, they will provide a new range card, camo cream etc?
SBO I doubt they'll issue you another if you already had one....unless that one is spoilt. Range card I think tell issue again as for carmo cream.....depends lah. last time my coy did not required to put on carmo cream.....so throughout my NS, I had never used carmo cream before.
@ leonzerz: Me too....wat time is ur reporting time?
Hi, heard that pes C recourse is now 4 weeks... any idea what will we do there? Am pes c9l3. Thanks!
@ leonzerz: haha...cool....same as me...is it ok to continue our discussion thru pm?
29th july 10.45am... anyone same as me?
wowz.....i can see so many things to standby....in my time..its less than half u need to become a soldier...
there was no NTUC caterer or auntie to wash toilet...not even air con buses to drive u to shooting range...we sit on one another's lap with our SBO and helmets on...we squeeze till all are in the three tonner.....
i could still recall the orange street lamps passing through each and every one of our tired half woken faces with the camouflage make up on....
2010 SAF....soldiers or recruits...treasure your times of camaraderie...it will never come again when u leave the army....
Hi, anyone know the specific enlisting periods? I'm still waiting for the letter to come, and it has been maybe, 3 - 4 months since my medical check up. At this rate, when will my official enlistment be? December? Any ideas, anyone?
Also, do people still do childish things like bullying in the army?
Originally posted by Living in peace:Hi, anyone know the specific enlisting periods? I'm still waiting for the letter to come, and it has been maybe, 3 - 4 months since my medical check up. At this rate, when will my official enlistment be? December? Any ideas, anyone?
hey dude.. anw i enlisted in 08 apr, ord this yr feb.
really every1s' ns experience is different. there all kinds of ppl but most of them just want to serve then fo.
bmt will be xiong.. in fact training schs shd be xiong. after that will be ok alr. u will adadpt one la dun worry. so many ppl go in come out alr. impt thing is dun do anything stupid can alr.
Any inputs on the, "stupid", things one can do? I'm guessing you don't count klutzy things as being "stupid", because clumsiness isn't intentional and is hard to correct. Or.. Am I wrong?
Also, mind sharing your experiences in the army? I'd prefer the bad ones though. A simple sentence will do, unless you don't mind typing up a story of it.
Originally posted by Living in peace:Any inputs on the, "stupid", things one can do? I'm guessing you don't count klutzy things as being "stupid", because clumsiness isn't intentional and is hard to correct. Or.. Am I wrong?
Also, mind sharing your experiences in the army? I'd prefer the bad ones though. A simple sentence will do, unless you don't mind typing up a story of it.
just out of curiousity.. what is ur educational level and do u intend to go like ocs or sispec.
also if u just want to pass ns life peacefully, e best way would be to lie low under the radar.
u'll make gd frens in ns dun worry. with regards to the stupid things you can do, there's plenty of that, you'll find out more inside and yes sometimes clumsiness will get u into trouble. the general rule is think b4 u act. always think of the consequences. and if u really have to do it, just dun get caught.
I'm sorry, but what is ocs and sispec?
And I have only an N level certificate.
Unfortunately though, I am a real klutz. I've had a colleague at work tell me that at the rate in which I do things, I would get myself killed. Like pulling the pin off a grenade and then throwing the pin.
I will keep the general rule in mind.
EDIT: I have just read the OCS FAQ and the SISPEC FAQ on this board. I might change my mind afterward, but for now, I have no intentions of applying for either.
On the enlistment day, can we bring mp3? A cheap not expensive type, can or cannot?
Can. No video playing or camera function
Ya just only for listening to music or radio stations only, can right?
So can we really bring MP3 players without any video or camera functions? Because I've heard from my brother that all memory storing devices are not allowed?
Originally posted by Living in peace:So can we really bring MP3 players without any video or camera functions? Because I've heard from my brother that all memory storing devices are not allowed?
MP3 they allowed..but lost it will create lot of problems lah.
Originally posted by Living in peace:I'm sorry, but what is ocs and sispec?
Unfortunately though, I am a real klutz. I've had a colleague at work tell me that at the rate in which I do things, I would get myself killed. Like pulling the pin off a grenade and then throwing the pin.
EDIT: I have just read the OCS FAQ and the SISPEC FAQ on this board. I might change my mind afterward, but for now, I have no intentions of applying for either.
Grenade during ur BMT if u feel anxious pls sound off to the superior.
My bmt lastime gt one too anxious cant throw grenade.
Luckily he sounded off to superiors.
Originally posted by Living in peace:I'm sorry, but what is ocs and sispec?
OCS need at least poly or JC to enter into. OCS come out be officer.
SISPEC i think at least O levels as minimum qualifications. SISPEC come out be specialist sergeant.
Originally posted by Living in peace:Hi, anyone know the specific enlisting periods? I'm still waiting for the letter to come, and it has been maybe, 3 - 4 months since my medical check up. At this rate, when will my official enlistment be? December? Any ideas, anyone?
As long as u can stand up for urself be assertive bullying is nt a problem.
If u keep on saboing the whole platoon maybe will get bullied. But as long as u r assertive and able to protect urself should not be a problem.
Originally posted by -StarDust-:
As long as u can stand up for urself be assertive bullying is nt a problem.If u keep on saboing the whole platoon maybe will get bullied. But as long as u r assertive and able to protect urself should not be a problem.
Thanks for your advices. I will try my best to be assertive from now onwards. Though, I think I might be a little on the low confidence side. Judging from yours, and other peoples' advices, I think I might need a little mental preparation.
And about saboing my platoon. I am not the type that will gossip or complain about others to get them into trouble, but I am extremely worried that my clumsiness would be the one to land me in hot soup. Any advices on this one?
@tarutaru I just asked my brother again, and he said that they would not allow MP3 players with a usb port? Maybe I should just bring a CD player..