aoss i go til 3rd interview but my napfa fail....Originally posted by usck:i thot u aiming for AOSS? going to apply for senior tech?
you sound like you don't know what you want.Originally posted by jerry82:aoss i go til 3rd interview but my napfa fail....
when train myself for pull up, over stretch then injure my arm.
the same week they ask me go take napfa then i just tell them i cant take now,,,,,,,,,,,,, so fail my aoss loh.
then i apply for senior tech.
hmmm well most of the AOSS i've come across to do speak well. But that shouldn't hinder your progress. Besides, what you say is pretty standard. The pilots and groundcrew communicating with you via the radio sets are not going to ask what you had for breakfast or how's your sister doing. Answers are standard, what you go through while in tower is mental stress. You have to watch the traffic, direct traffic on ground and air, update the airfield users on the status.Originally posted by jerry82:yup true i dun know wat i want til the 2nd interview of aoss....
from wat i understand from the web, it about communication.....
probaly technical stuff on communicaion system & tower control command
i know it a mix of 2 things.
during 2nd interview the officer told me is a
80% in tower 20% on technical
then i sian liao~~~~~~~
cos i like more to hand on things,
my english is not that good, i wont perform well in it, somemore 80% in the tower.... is like anyone hav stong command can do well....
later then i find out ST is more in to wat i want,
i like fixing thing tamiya car & lab lesson in sch,
hate to sit in office, paper work.
did plan to call to cancel my 3rd aoss interview, but i take it a chance to sound out that i want to be a ST.
remember the officer ask me wat if they post me to ST.
i reply "I be glad".
information i get from web is not enoughOriginally posted by kopiosatu:hmmm well most of the AOSS i've come across to do speak well. But that shouldn't hinder your progress. Besides, what you say is pretty standard. The pilots and groundcrew communicating with you via the radio sets are not going to ask what you had for breakfast or how's your sister doing. Answers are standard, what you go through while in tower is mental stress. You have to watch the traffic, direct traffic on ground and air, update the airfield users on the status.
and being a technician isn't just about fixing stuff like fixing tamiyas and lab lessons. You have a whole lot of paperwork to go through, its not just service and relax. every component u fit and remove, u have to have paperwork for that. your normal servicing, u need to prepare the paperwork. there isn't a clerk there to prepare all this for u.
The headache part is the paperwork and after u get so tired from fixing up stuff, u realise u have to close the paperwork you opened. When u sign/acknowledge that a job has been done and something goes wrong, you're responsible for it. Officers do not clear aircraft for flight, specialists do.
The way I see it is that you still do not fully understand what a ST's job scope is... not to discourage you but you have to sit down and really think about it.
job scope isn't enough too... have u ORD? or been through army?Originally posted by jerry82:information i get from web is not enough
Only if i start to wrok as ST then i can understand the job scope well.
i am sure not everyone can know it until u start to do.
so i would accept wat the thing is require to do.
hmmm one person i can refer u to is duotiga.Originally posted by jerry82:havent been to army
waitng for enlistment notice
let me find the link, i've explained quite a few times alreadyOriginally posted by jerry82:since i really dun know the thing u all do as a ST
can share with me wat the real thing there?
yup go through.Originally posted by usck:so u mean u have gone through briefing for ST, 1st interview and the 2nd interview? i rem the captain say that the interview which i attended is one of the last 6th session for this year, the next session will open by april next year. but dunno the things he say is true anot![]()
argh.....sianz sianz sianz...but i like the feeling when the helicopters flew pass me....haha....din noe that u're in sbab....haha....small world...Btw...me not regular...hehe...Originally posted by kopiosatu:ok maybe just to help u a little, here's an almost detailed description of what I do as a DCC, its just ONE of the many different 'jobs' you can get in the airforce. Anyway I'm in a helicopter base so what happens at the fighter squadron I won't know, much like them not knowing what the hell I do.
Base : SBAB
Unit : 125
Appointment : DCC
Let's say I do the morning shift. I arrive at work, briefing starts. I'm assigned to an aircraft to work on, it will be B/F (Before flight) servicing. I will take note of its :
1. Fuel state (how much fuel is needed and how much is in the aircraft)
2. Requirements (leak checks, oil sampling, compressor wash before flight, aircraft wash due)
3. Role (trooplift, underslung, roping etc.)
I will then grab the aircraft's 1400 (Read as fourteen hundred, in layman terms its the aircraft logbook) then look through the key pages :
1. Limitations Log (What the aircraft can't do due during flight like can't fly more than certain hours due to some modification to the aircraft or the aircraft can't do a certain function because that component has been taken out)
2. Trial Mod Log (What modifications have been added or removed)
3. Acceptable Deferred Defects Log (Defects on the aircraft but it can still fly without limitations, like paint flakes on the structure, debonding on the structure, aircraft wash overdue)
After that there's the 1400-5 (fourteen hundred dash five) :
Where we fill in the fuel state, what servicing we've done (e.g. zone : 0-4, zone : 5-10, TFOA), this is where the pilot signs out the aircraft and clocks their flight timing. In this booklet you can also see who serviced the aircraft previously.
1400-6 :
Over here, jobs that are not finished will have their entries left open. Let's say I wanna remove a component, on the left page I write "Component s/n : 10 removed for blah blah blah" then on the right side of the page it is blank till the component is fixed back. When it is fitted back, that person will write "Component s/n : 10 fitted i.a.w. (in accordance with) MET 12.34.56.78 para 9" So my job is to check what entries are left open and do the necessary follow up actions when required.
1400-7 :
Engine records, make sure the info is updated. Servicing on the engine not overdue.
Then I will go to the back where there is the 1400-9-1 and 1400-9-2.
1400-9-1 = checks due on the aircraft, like oil sampling etc.
1400-9-2 = checks due on items on the aircraft, like cabin fire extinguishers, seatbelts etc.
So after I'm done with the 1400, I will open my entries in the -5 and -6. Any items/components due for servicing will be highlighted to the shift IC who will inform the respective trades to do the servicing on the particular component/item.
I proceed to the toolstore and POL store to grab my tools (e.g. servicing toolbox, grease gun, pail and bottles etc.) then i make my way to the aircraft. B/F servicing takes 3 hrs to do and A/F (After Flight) takes about 4 hrs. I do the checks listed in the checklist (e.g. tyre pressure, oil levels, structural damage, electrical failure etc.) then i make my way back to the office where I'll close the entries i've opened.
Let's say my aircraft is planned for trooplift, and there are no seats in it I will go get the seats and set it up. If there isn't enough fuel or too much fuel, I will have to call the Bowser (refuelling truck) to come so that I can refuel or defuel the aircraft.
Once I'm done, the pilots should be heading out soon. When they come out, we prepare the aircraft by towing it out to the bay, prepare the ladders for them and prepare the GPU (ground power unit). We then marshall the aircraft till it moves off.
After we're done, we have to prepare the roles for the spare aircraft. Because a spare planned for one flight might be planned for another flight after the first one takes off. So we have to proceed with refuelling/defuelling and role change. We've got alot of different roles available, some roles take hours to fit up, some like fixing seats and rappeling kits are easy and fast. It all depends on the flying program. All these role changes will have to be recorded in the -4, -6 and -9. Not only that, some role equipment have log books so we have to update that too.
When the aircraft that took off lands later, we gotta go out and do a comp wash. Some aircraft have requirements like I stated earlier (oil sampling, run down time check, leak checks) so all these are done once the aircraft shuts down. The hottest job is the Rundown time check where the pilot starts timing how long it takes for the compressor blades to stop spinning. We open up the top of the aircraft, make our way to the front and put our faces into the air intake (because the space is so small and u have to put ur face in there to see the blades turn) and tahan the bloody heat. For engine oil sampling, we have to collect it within 15mins of shutting down, so the engine is still bloody hot, we still have to be right beside it to collect the engine oil.
After doing all that we still have to go back and settle the paperwork in the -6, -7 and -9. Around that time, the other shift would have arrived and finished their briefing... then they finally take over and we get to go home.
Suay guys get aircrafts that have aircraft wash due, run down time due and all SOAP (Spectrometric Oil Analysis Program, or what i've been saying, oil) sampling due.
alot of people here from sbab too... u just dunno only.Originally posted by dcx:argh.....sianz sianz sianz...but i like the feeling when the helicopters flew pass me....haha....din noe that u're in sbab....haha....small world...Btw...me not regular...hehe...
RSM still the same ahz??![]()
so now waiting for 3rd round or 2nd round? more ppl then can slack abitOriginally posted by jerry82:yup go through.
still no reply from them
gone case........
wondering y they need so many ppl to join?
no 3rd round,,, only 2 interview~~~`Originally posted by usck:so now waiting for 3rd round or 2nd round? more ppl then can slack abit
u coming sep go tekong??
lost count liao,,, i think 2 months ba.Originally posted by usck:u wait how long liao?
if they nvr accept then u dun go in at sep???
me now waiting for them to call for the date for 2nd interview. training for my napfa at the same time![]()