those are cdo trainees. SOF different.Originally posted by Special Splint:can't u read the above post? If education and fitness dun count then wun commandos consider lousy? From what i know i quite agree with paradise and hell...cos in commandos majority are A lev students and they are quite fit and only a minority are from ITE sch dropout failed napfa etc...
tt sounds interesting...Originally posted by Rockhound:my sgts went thru selection..
got unlimited route march..
unlimited trap water in long 4...
and other things...
The onli onli standard there is is a quota...lets say 200 join...but they want onli 10...
so the instructors will hammer the trainees till they reach their max recruitment quota of 10....
Hmm... one of my tri-service mates is undergoing SOF training now. Heard from him tat there isnt any quota for the selection. During his selection last yr, 8 out of 80 trainees were selected. But for the sebsequent selection, only 1 guardsman pulled thru. Anyway, I can be sure tat so long as u make it through the selection and the 1-yr long training, U will be an SOF member. As for the academic requirements, I can only say tat they accept pple from diverse academic backgrounds.Originally posted by Rockhound:my sgts went thru selection..
got unlimited route march..
unlimited trap water in long 4...
and other things...
The onli onli standard there is is a quota...lets say 200 join...but they want onli 10...
so the instructors will hammer the trainees till they reach their max recruitment quota of 10....
Its around 3 weeks and u will be pushed beyond your physical and mental limits. Tats all i can tell u cos the exact things u will do during the selection are classified, I think. Actually my advice for u now is to continue to improve on ur physical fitness, do well during ur bmt be it in tekong or wif the cdos. I've seen many guys being so keen abt signing on or becoming part of the elite units b4 enlistment and during bmt, perception of SAF just changed completely. There's a role for everyone to play in the SAF, doesnt mean u have to become a commando to contribute. If u dun get into cdo, just continue to have tat "positive" mentality and I'm sure u will do well else where.Originally posted by Special Splint:how was the selection carried out as in how long it takes? is it a long term selection process or short term one....i mean the selection takes place like only in a day?
Wah... First time heard something like that leh??!!....Even a Cdo needs to go through the 3 tests......Dun talk about the tri serivce guys.Originally posted by yunao:U need to stay in hendon camp ard 15 days as u need to pass 3 phrase before the selection..But the problem was they just ask me to go for the selection without going through the 3 phrases.What i'm worry was sure to lose out alot if the 3 phrases all was about training..
Well, four of the guys from your platoon ended up in force line, plus your BMT PC. You ought to be familiar enough with them.Originally posted by chanmalichan:Well, 'I' am a Cdo from 1st Cdo Bn and not from Hq Cdo. we only know that much as we dare not look at them (SOF) because will kena 'F' by the trainer there.... Sometime we meet at the cockhouse during meals, as we share the same cockhouse but different table.
Information was from those pl mate whom when for the test and selection and some witness by 'me'. We can see them at Swimming pool area, in and out of the main gate etc.......During test and selection.[quote][/quote
Most fundamental difference is that STAR is from the SPF while SOF is from the SAF... STAR would handle most of the domestic affairs (eg. supporting other police units, high risk arrest, criminal hostage rescue etc...) SOF wise, they would handle things of 'national/sensitive' aspect (eg. plane hijack, terrorist threats, classifed missions etc...).Originally posted by Special Splint:hey ppl asking...if u were selected for commando bmt...do u receive enlistment letter from school of commando(Pasir Ris camp) or do u still receive letter from CMPB..Let say i am studying for A lev now,i have acheived gold in napfa and need not to go for PTP,if i were to be selected for commandos,when will i receive the enlistment letter? i went for the VA last mth on the 30th...btw ppl can tell me the difference btw STAR unit and SOF? It seems that they are about the same ...
What you mean in force line?Originally posted by Gedanken:Well, four of the guys from your platoon ended up in force line, plus your BMT PC. You ought to be familiar enough with them.
SAF 1005/1026 is the medical booklet/dental cardOriginally posted by yunao:Paiseh, jus receive the letter today.Going this month 24 for 2 phrase selection onlyl.Letter did not state abt phrase 3.There some items i need to bring for the three weeks selection but i need to bring SAF1005 and wat is that?Thanks..
Correct. If you guys remember the 1991/2 SIA hijack. SOF did it. only with one minor injury.Originally posted by Prestroz:Most fundamental difference is that STAR is from the SPF while SOF is from the SAF... STAR would handle most of the domestic affairs (eg. supporting other police units, high risk arrest, criminal hostage rescue etc...) SOF wise, they would handle things of 'national/sensitive' aspect (eg. plane hijack, terrorist threats, classifed missions etc...).
SOF are trained in a wider aspect as compared with the STAR due to their different mission requirements (not that the latter is lousier!!!). Extra things would be things like diving and parachuting (Static line, HALO and HAHO) etc...
Erm u seems to know alot....li hai...anyway which unit u from?Originally posted by Prestroz:Most fundamental difference is that STAR is from the SPF while SOF is from the SAF... STAR would handle most of the domestic affairs (eg. supporting other police units, high risk arrest, criminal hostage rescue etc...) SOF wise, they would handle things of 'national/sensitive' aspect (eg. plane hijack, terrorist threats, classifed missions etc...).
SOF are trained in a wider aspect as compared with the STAR due to their different mission requirements (not that the latter is lousier!!!). Extra things would be things like diving and parachuting (Static line, HALO and HAHO) etc...
You were in the batch where the 3 guys died? What year did you enlist?Originally posted by chanmalichan:What you mean in force line?
1989, 2nd copy 3 died during heli-repe...( live decent).
Haha!!!Originally posted by Special Splint:Erm u seems to know alot....li hai...anyway which unit u from?
haha oh i seeOriginally posted by Prestroz:Haha!!!I haven't serve my NS, just that since young I'm always interested in these military and law enforcement stuff... plus, my extended involvement in NCC also gave me access to these knowledge (eg. toking cock with my officers and enciks etc...).
Like you, I just went for my Commando VA on 5th September though, still waiting for the letter...![]()
good luck! i think u will need it.Originally posted by yunao:Paiseh, jus receive the letter today.Going this month 24 for 2 phrase selection onlyl.Letter did not state abt phrase 3.There some items i need to bring for the three weeks selection but i need to bring SAF1005 and wat is that?Thanks..
Sure...Originally posted by Special Splint:haha oh i seehey do u know if we were selected ,when will we receive the letter...erm anyway if u receive yrs can tell me? i mean in this forum....thanks