Silly OCT. You should have just pushed him back to the end of the line or something.Originally posted by lemon1974:During my NS (1993-1995), were an ammo technician in Pasir Laba camp. In charge of issuing and receiving ammo from Unit training. When OCS come to return ammo, alway tekan those OCTs and their officers, arrow them to bring the cartridges here and there, ask them to check the empty cartridges.Tell them to help carry those unused ammo back to the storehouse in the middle of the night... Tell them that there are live rounds mix in the cartridges, and tell them that empty cartridges are short. Need to go back and find again the next day, else we will book them.
Even though i am PTE for the first year, still can arrow them to do things, since this concern ammo.. They got no choice and have to obey and they dun even know my rank, cos i am wearing vest and slack..
There was one time, when it is around 2 am in the morning,when they come back to return ammo after exercise and they messed up with all those unused ammo and we have to slowly check through. Then one OCT was shouting at me, asking me to hurry up cos he was tired and want to go back camp. I just tell him to shout up cos this is concerning ammo and i also tell the officer that if his OCTs make some more noise, i will make sure that the officer and his OCTs, wont go back to camp early... I dun mind delaying the returning process slowly, cos i can go back home to sleep the next day at 8.30am. They cant...
Wats so funny abt tat?Originally posted by Gordonator:anyway for those who don't know, a naval cadet is call a Midshipman, MIDS.![]()
when u r in charge of the ammo, u r the biggest fark... my frens even ask those units LTAs to carry ammo boxes here n there.. tats y they say the most 'guai lan' storemen r from "Ammo Base"... 'PLAD' tis 4-letter word strikes fear to all units ammo ICs... lolOriginally posted by lemon1974:During my NS (1993-1995), were an ammo technician in Pasir Laba camp. In charge of issuing and receiving ammo from Unit training. When OCS come to return ammo, alway tekan those OCTs and their officers, arrow them to bring the cartridges here and there, ask them to check the empty cartridges.Tell them to help carry those unused ammo back to the storehouse in the middle of the night... Tell them that there are live rounds mix in the cartridges, and tell them that empty cartridges are short. Need to go back and find again the next day, else we will book them.
Even though i am PTE for the first year, still can arrow them to do things, since this concern ammo.. They got no choice and have to obey and they dun even know my rank, cos i am wearing vest and slack..
There was one time, when it is around 2 am in the morning,when they come back to return ammo after exercise and they messed up with all those unused ammo and we have to slowly check through. Then one OCT was shouting at me, asking me to hurry up cos he was tired and want to go back camp. I just tell him to shout up cos this is concerning ammo and i also tell the officer that if his OCTs make some more noise, i will make sure that the officer and his OCTs, wont go back to camp early... I dun mind delaying the returning process slowly, cos i can go back home to sleep the next day at 8.30am. They cant...
You say like that then i suppose you were your BMT platoon best lah..Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:haiya...nwadays...officers dun look like officers....platoon best dun even get to go ocs...2nd best oso dun go....3rd best OSO dun go....dunoe 7th best or 8th best go...wth manz...nonsense...
ya right... am from PLAD. We are indeed very "guai lan"...Originally posted by monoslayer:when u r in charge of the ammo, u r the biggest fark... my frens even ask those units LTAs to carry ammo boxes here n there.. tats y they say the most 'guai lan' storemen r from "Ammo Base"... 'PLAD' tis 4-letter word strikes fear to all units ammo ICs... lol![]()
haha...nope...i'm nt...but i tink i was top 3..Originally posted by cornyfish2000:You say like that then i suppose you were your BMT platoon best lah..![]()
Actually the ranking during bmt is confidential. Prob u did well in ur IPPT and got along well with others in the platoon but tat doesnt mean u wld go ocs. SIT test, PC and peer appraisal play a big part too.Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:haha...nope...i'm nt...but i tink i was top 3..
gt 2nd in sispec...
den i decide to slack...no pt wrkin...but i still gt 2nd in spt...
i'm nt tryin to boast over here...but juz to say hw farked up saf's system is...
haiya...bmt stuffs...hw confidential can it get? i dun find the present system gd enuff...Originally posted by KKK84:Actually the ranking during bmt is confidential. Prob u did well in ur IPPT and got along well with others in the platoon but tat doesnt mean u wld go ocs. SIT test, PC and peer appraisal play a big part too.
No system is flawless, but the present system, i feel, is gd enough to filter those who leadership qualities and those who dun. Of course, it wld be betta if they decide to choose prospective officers-to-be from the SISPEC cohort rather than bmt. Many pple who get into ocs have leadership qualities, but when they get commissioned, they rest on their laurels, thinking that their one bar wld spare them from any hardship in future.
Anyway, why din u express interest to go ocs when u were in SISPEC?
Perhaps a better way to guage their abilities is to see whether they can make it out of ocs or not. Many pple can go ocs, but those who get their bar in the end shld at least have the bare minimal to lead.Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:haiya...bmt stuffs...hw confidential can it get? i dun find the present system gd enuff...
i'm nt unhapi bcoz i'm 1 of the top few n din make it to ocs...but it is those ppl who made it...
some worth to b there...but mostly those i c aren't...esp my platoon best...wayang...super wayang...
i understand wat u mean but unfortunately dat chap do things in front of commanders n another up at the bunks...Originally posted by KKK84:Perhaps a better way to guage their abilities is to see whether they can make it out of ocs or not. Many pple can go ocs, but those who get their bar in the end shld at least have the bare minimal to lead.
Sometimes, its oso very hard to decide wat is considered wayang and wat is not. Some pple may be so determined to get into ocs that they are very enthu abt everything, thus making others feel that they are wayanging. But then again, i have to admit many others only do things in front of commanders while behind their backs, they are totally different.
Anyway, u've excelled in SISPEC and this shows alot abt ur abilities oso. Eh, u haven say why din u crossover to ocs??
sure anot?? 5 wks of guard duty out of the 10 wks course..Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:i understand wat u mean but unfortunately dat chap do things in front of commanders n another up at the bunks...
i was kinda aimed by the instructors....5 wks of guard duty out of the 10 wks course...i almost went to my pc n tell him to put me out of course...gettin thru n outta sispec was my piority...wanna get out of being a trainee...
ya...c hw tramatisin it was...Originally posted by monoslayer:sure anot?? 5 wks of guard duty out of the 10 wks course..![]()