lol saf mottoOriginally posted by Aveme:well,i would think that with the more recently frequent reported death of NSF (as compared to last time where few such cases reported),it may have made some parents (particularly mothers who are more ignorant of NS stuff)to become more "aware" that the army is now dangerous and thus getting their unwanted worries rising.
But anyway hope those who still worry so much that they try to keng will get punished,NS now is already such a good life still want to keng,might as well go change gender to be a girl
What you're doing is the accentuating the rich and poor.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Make NS optional, but those who do not serve NS will be banned from University, banned from government jobs and not allowed to buy HDB flats.....you see everyone kuai kuai volunteer to serve....
First off, alittle paragraphing would help alot.Originally posted by Acerguy_007:I don't know whether to comment on this but i find it really something to share with all of you
Heard from my cousins that they have some friends who are so afraid of serving NS til the point of being paranoidSome of them even deiberately injured themselves! and end up in some light vocations. Recently there is this friend of my mum who even went to the point of caliing CMPB to ask them if they can exempt her son from NS just because her son don't seem to be able to take hardships! I have also heard and seen many cases where people fake some illnesses or injuries during their pre enlist medical checkup. Oh god isn't NS should be a growing and learning experience which everyone should and must go through? NS grooms an individual to cultivate a certain level of independence and tolerance for hardships. Shouldn't this group of people reflect on themselves a little? Ns should be a learning experience for all, it should be the most significant phase in our life which we must go through, and in the midst make certain positive turning points in our life before we become a man from boy
what we should do is take it like a man and go through NS with positive mindset,afterall it is just 2 years but lots can be learnt and achieved thorughout the process which can help us to do wonders in the later part of our life
Do you guys agree?
So are they inferior to us in any way?Originally posted by Weirdo80:In short, be smart, but have fun. It's a once in a lifetime opportunity! Guys in other countries don't even have a chance to hold a rifle. You have an opportunity to shoot lots of rounds, throw real grenades, fire grenade launchers and rockets, learn martial arts, get fit, blow things up and get paid for it!![]()
his mum's overprotective actions is actually doing your friend no good.Originally posted by Acerguy_007:his mother even arrange a date with my mum to collect holy water from the temple a week before his son and me are enlist but my mum din agree to that.
why go to that extent of praying to god collecting holy water?
Yes if you love to play with weapons.I'm still considering taking up pistol shooting at SGC..argh school is playing hell with my time.Originally posted by iveco:So are they inferior to us in any way?![]()
You going PA? Then I think you should consult those at SPF forum for more info.Originally posted by CyanSupra:dun nid to be scare of ns de lah..
I at 1st aso a little bit scare de..
After heardin wad my friends said to me..
Now really lookin forward to it le..
btw, i goin in on the 13 dec 2005 to police academy
I will dread the day our youth become over-pampered like some of the China's "little emperors".Originally posted by Gordonator:his mum's overprotective actions is actually doing your friend no good.
i strongly believes parents must always educate their children to be independent, to be able to take care of themselves. if parents dotes on them too much, the children will be spoilt, making them unwilling to step out of their comfort zone, always relying on the parents.
thats great i hate those pple who are smarter than me i wish they will all fail in lifeOriginally posted by kc_leung:I will dread the day our youth become over-pampered like some of the China's "little emperors".
In ST recently there was an article about a super-smart China boy... such a genius that he went for uni at the age of 12, if i remember correctly. Then he ended up dropping out of uni. Why? Cos he kena spoilt at home and have to rely on momma for everything including basic housekeeping. This means his stay in the uni's hostel is a nightmare. And he is so absent-minded he keep forgetting the times of his classes. In the end the uni have no choice but to kick him out until he can rejoin with better housekeeping skills and better memory.![]()
Haha i don't mind making friend with those from different backgrounds and characters (erm of course not those who are irritating and arrogant)Originally posted by sinicker:i think the recent spate of deaths have made parents very concerned abt the safety of NS.
even my mom is doing so. just because i have WPW(Wolff-Parkinson-White syndrome), she doesnt want me to go NS?? like.. i bloody hell wanna go NS and throw grenades, shoot, buff up my body and all.
but honestly, i do not know how some recruits will cope. for example, in my class, the characters are varied. there are the cool, outgoing type.. there is the.. nerd type. may i know how these nerd individuals cope in NS? a nerd classmate of mine, during civics, when asked what traits his future wife should have, he answered "lips and nose small small, must cook like my mother."and his mom cuts his hair. doesnt go to the barber. he tucks his shirt in damn high one. he has zero friends. how do these individuals cope with NS, may i know?
Are you serious??Originally posted by hisoka:thats great i hate those pple who are smarter than me i wish they will all fail in life![]()
Dun be too jealous.Originally posted by hisoka:thats great i hate those pple who are smarter than me i wish they will all fail in life![]()
trust me, there nothing to be afraid of.Originally posted by Ito_^:actually.. i am really scared too. about training, hardship, how to update my skills, what goes after, during.. etc etc. but really dun need go injure myself to get lighter vocation la..![]()
NS taught me, you don't need to chiong sua in order to peng san... that was a myth i had in my BMT days... and i realised it's not true.Originally posted by Gordonator:trust me, there nothing to be afraid of.
for those who thinks chao kenging to get a lighter vocation equal a easlier life in NS, you are wrong, most probably u will get looked down at, talk down to, arrowed at and also have to listen to superiors. why not just do your best and be a specialist, better yet, an officer. even better life.
ok. That sounds much better. I like to migrate to Perth.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Make NS optional, but those who do not serve NS will be banned from University, banned from government jobs and not allowed to buy HDB flats.....you see everyone kuai kuai volunteer to serve....