wow, u are rich...Originally posted by nomood:I had quite a bit of time to adjust. + i went for a 3 month holiday overseas.
May not be unless the officers dun change their mindset. If they continue wif the kinda attitude, won't go far in the coporate world.Originally posted by Gordonator:this is something i find very interesting. imagine a CPL and a 2LT, both diploma holders, ORD at the same time, they apply for the same job as an engineer, i find that both of them are the same, eventhough one is a man and one is an officer, once outside they are equal.
but i believe the CPL can adjust better to the working world outside as compare to the officer. for example the CPL might be a clerk in his NSF days so he'll has a idea on how office management is run.
the CPL is also used to interacting with superiors, listening to orders and getting the job done. but for the 2LT, it might be more difficult since he is used to giving out the orders, less of the get-down-and-do-it type.
just my 2 cents, what do u think?![]()
Very true.Originally posted by Gordonator:this is something i find very interesting. imagine a CPL and a 2LT, both diploma holders, ORD at the same time, they apply for the same job as an engineer, i find that both of them are the same, eventhough one is a man and one is an officer, once outside they are equal.
but i believe the CPL can adjust better to the working world outside as compare to the officer. for example the CPL might be a clerk in his NSF days so he'll has a idea on how office management is run.
the CPL is also used to interacting with superiors, listening to orders and getting the job done. but for the 2LT, it might be more difficult since he is used to giving out the orders, less of the get-down-and-do-it type.
depends lah some employers may feel that a person has leadership qualities if he is officer during NS especially those govt orgs.Originally posted by Gordonator:this is something i find very interesting. imagine a CPL and a 2LT, both diploma holders, ORD at the same time, they apply for the same job as an engineer, i find that both of them are the same, eventhough one is a man and one is an officer, once outside they are equal.
This was hard for me initially, i swore like mad in army...Originally posted by crazy monkey:use less vulgarities![]()
hahaOriginally posted by Gordonator:this is something i find very interesting. imagine a CPL and a 2LT, both diploma holders, ORD at the same time, they apply for the same job as an engineer, i find that both of them are the same, eventhough one is a man and one is an officer, once outside they are equal.
then how about those 3sgs from OETI? they do technical things in ns will it increase their chances of applying a job?Originally posted by bismarck:haha
my 2IC told us this during our EI survey.
" if u go sispec or ocs it will look good on yr resume because when they compare u with another job seeker with the same grades but with a rank of a cpl, they will choose the sispec/ocs guy.
why? because they have some leadership skills and can lead, inspire and work with others in a grp at work"
me: err.......*speechless*
anyway i do wonder if he has a vested interest when he said that...
Well i just ord about a few months ago n i was an armt tech too,i think the stuff learn in army is completely useless in searching for a job in the society.Unless working as a tech in ODE,that one i am not sure liao.Originally posted by chikopek:then how about those 3sgs from OETI? they do technical things in ns will it increase their chances of applying a job?
ODE might take you in, but you still need your certs.It's not as if you are joining them as a retired 1WO.Originally posted by KenPlus:Well i just ord about a few months ago n i was an armt tech too,i think the stuff learn in army is completely useless in searching for a job in the society.Unless working as a tech in ODE,that one i am not sure liao.
i never went for civillian conversion course. wat for?Originally posted by Gordonator:Calling all NSman, especially those recently ORD personel, how is your Civilian Conversion Course? any problem adjusting to civilian life?![]()
strange, i'm actually looking forward to it.Originally posted by maggot:When you receive a call-up.......the feeling is really sian![]()
what film?Originally posted by LazerLordz:Very true.
Anyway I enjoyed my free time..worked on my photography and was part of a local film production.So no time wasted..![]()
Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:what film?
army daze?![]()