mmm what u mean by previously non-infantry? can't be armour or arty personnel become PDF during NS right? i heard that the instructors (BMTC, SIW etc) will be posted to PDF during teir NSOriginally posted by LazerLordz:If you were previously non-infantry, you might have to go to BCTC for a course during your ICT.Then after that..it's chionging time.
If you're under 2PDF, you might become part of KINS too.
I had a fellow tech spec posted to PDF as an Armored Infantry.Go figureOriginally posted by relackjack:mmm what u mean by previously non-infantry? can't be armour or arty personnel become PDF during NS right? i heard that the instructors (BMTC, SIW etc) will be posted to PDF during teir NS
Possible - I was from 2 PDF. My unit was a Guards unit. We started training on V200 vehicles when we were in our final reservist years. So during the course of our full-time NS and the 13 years of reservist training, my unit have deployed from helicopters, ships and armoured vehicles.Originally posted by relackjack:hahah wth man? he is not trained as an AI during active times right? then how is it possible to become AI?
I am a technician during NS. Got call up to infantry reservist unit at 2PDF. Tot it will be very siong. But have tahan 3 years of ICT alrd..Originally posted by Shotgun:What does a PDF rifleman have to do? Eg for ICTs and their Ops role?
Very skared later really kena that one... den really suay until lao sai.
So that means the tech specs(3SGs) will be section commanders or men?Originally posted by lemon1974:I am a technician during NS. Got call up to infantry reservist unit at 2PDF. Tot it will be very siong. But have tahan 3 years of ICT alrd..
My unit make up of ex-store man/technicians/drivers/cooks etc.. All not from Combat unit, except for sergeant/pc/oc..
Basically, rifleman just do a lot of defence exercise.. 1st ICT, basically do all the things that u learned before again.. stripe/assembly of rifles, introduce u to SAW/M203 etc.. go range...go outfield doing movement.. learn all the hand signal again.. chiong around in the forest.. go section live firing at second last day of ICT..
2nd ICT... do back what u do in first ICT.. but in slightly faster pace.. go FIBUA as well. ALso, got 4 days 3 night defence exercise at Simpang where 1st two days, u will spend all the time,digging trenches, and filling sandbags.. You will see the SUN, THE SAND, THE SEA cos Simpang is at the yishun seaside...
at the 3rd day, everything have to be ready and you will standby in your trenchs for attacks by enemy forces..Just wait in the trench, eat, talk cock etc..
If lucky, the ememies go attacks other sections, and u just wait until exercise is cut. If you suay, the whole section/platoon, might be deploy to go patrolling and go reinforce other section/platoon and u have to run around in the darks... You will get little sleep during these three days. It is a bit siong, but just enjoy yourself out there.. Pray that u r only digging your own trench and not the command post or what...that is siong, even though "tobelco" are indented... 4th day is the packed up day.. unfilled all the sandbags, remove the iron picket from the trenchs, fill up the trenchs.. even though u feel shacked, u will do things very fast, cos finally can go back camp to bath..
u will go back to camp from Simpang on thursday and friday will be spend cleaning up all the stores, which is big big headache... and sat outprocessed liao.
3rd year is actually more relax... went for range (zeroing/practise/atp test) for the first week + one or two field movement exercise.. then spend whole saturday of first week in camp, preparing the things/stores for the defence exercise the next week... basically relax all the way in the first week. during range, just sleep while waiting for your turn.
and we go through the same exercise for 4 days at SImpang and we finally turn operational in this ICT.
Just dun worry abt it. Everyone is doing the same things and just do your best and for one thing, there is actually no rank difference between officier and mens in my reservist unit. My PCs/OCs/Sergeant, all do the same things as us. They dig trench as well. They move the logs. They clean up the stores. Oil the iron pickets..During the defence exercise, they are more tired than us but they still do their jobs well. We can be filling sandbags in the middle of the nights and our PCs just doing the same things as well.
This is what touch us and motivate us to do our jobs even better. Rather than those officers who only know how to arrow people and do nothings.
Dun worry, 2PDF is not that siong..
hmmmm .... now that's a good question ....Originally posted by LazerLordz:So that means the tech specs(3SGs) will be section commanders or men?
when you are old and unfit that 2 weeks can be hellOriginally posted by khk:better xiong for a while during reservist than xiong during NSF days...u rather xiong for 2yrs or for a few daes a year? anyway try to see things positive, few daes exercise surely can take it, see it as a retreat from city life...
U askin if I'm garang? Hrmm... I think thats quite subjective. If they ask me to chiong, I will chiong lar. (Shotgun is just a callsign when I play Mplayer flight sims n stuff)Originally posted by insouciant:Wow, your report on your 2PDF experience lots of detail. You keep diary ah?
Actually my unit got posted to 2PDF as well. It seems that they do post a few Guards and SIR units into PDF. They tend to operate with the V200s.
Sometimes those guys that defer for too long from the orginal combat unit get posted to the 2PDF units as well. Basically to bring their experience from being in combat unit to all the cooks, storemen and drivers.
But ya, in most of the 2PDF units, you have to learn how to dig and stay awake for 2 nights slogging away. After that, no so bad. Even the old bird guards and SIR units whose role is a tad different will have to experience one ICT where they dig like all the other "composite" infantry units.
Don't worry lah. It's only so siong now. Especially with the new TSRs, compared to active days, almost like holiday. And with your nic, you should be quite garang rite?![]()
for armt specs..being converted to trooper is strangely against the SAF's policy of making expertise count, but with ST Synthesis coming on line in greater lower level support...hmm...I guess they might end up as part of the Coy.And the combat fit ones sent for some course to get them up to line with their new roles..the PES C ones..well..anyone here knows?Originally posted by Fatum:hmmmm .... now that's a good question ....
no sense asking a former admin or storeman spec to lead former infantry or guards troopers right ....
I know thatOriginally posted by nightzip:PES C ones can go for canteen break everyday when back to reservist.![]()
Not really true about digging trenches for my unit. I was from the Guards unit that operated with the V200s, and we never had to dig trenches or do defensive exercises while in PDF. It was business as usual for my unit, accept that we now had V200s for some missions.Originally posted by insouciant:Wow, your report on your 2PDF experience lots of detail. You keep diary ah?
Actually my unit got posted to 2PDF as well. It seems that they do post a few Guards and SIR units into PDF. They tend to operate with the V200s.
Sometimes those guys that defer for too long from the orginal combat unit get posted to the 2PDF units as well. Basically to bring their experience from being in combat unit to all the cooks, storemen and drivers.
But ya, in most of the 2PDF units, you have to learn how to dig and stay awake for 2 nights slogging away. After that, no so bad. Even the old bird guards and SIR units whose role is a tad different will have to experience one ICT where they dig like all the other "composite" infantry units.
Don't worry lah. It's only so siong now. Especially with the new TSRs, compared to active days, almost like holiday. And with your nic, you should be quite garang rite?![]()
From what i know, all the 3SGs in my unit are from Combat Unit/BMTC and not Tech Spec. All PC/OC also previously from Combat Unit or BMTC. All the 3SGs are section commanders but they are more siong than the mens.. kenna 3 weeks of ICT and do more things..Originally posted by LazerLordz:So that means the tech specs(3SGs) will be section commanders or men?
actually, my unit is only in its 3rd yr of ICT, but most of the guys in my unit are borned in the early 70s. All over 30s+ , except for those Spec/PCs, which are much much younger than us...Originally posted by crazy monkey:when you are old and unfit that 2 weeks can be hell![]()
errr.. not really.. depend on what they are being excused..Originally posted by nightzip:PES C ones can go for canteen break everyday when back to reservist.![]()