It all depend. If u r guards unit, then you will not be digging trenches. Only for SIR unit, then u will be digging trenches. If you are heng, u become part of POI.Originally posted by bcoy:Not really true about digging trenches for my unit. I was from the Guards unit that operated with the V200s, and we never had to dig trenches or do defensive exercises while in PDF. It was business as usual for my unit, accept that we now had V200s for some missions.
mmm those from combat unit aren't they supposed to follow the mono into their reservist unit?Originally posted by lemon1974:From what i know, all the 3SGs in my unit are from Combat Unit/BMTC and not Tech Spec. All PC/OC also previously from Combat Unit or BMTC. All the 3SGs are section commanders but they are more siong than the mens.. kenna 3 weeks of ICT and do more things..
i am not sure abt that, but i do ask my sect com and they told me that they are from Unit and some from BMTC where they are instructors.Originally posted by relackjack:mmm those from combat unit aren't they supposed to follow the mono into their reservist unit?
If u r studying, then u can definitely defer.. In my case, i am a technician during NS and got called up to 2PDF during study at NUS. I just got letter from Adminstration and tell them that i am full time student.. And i got defer from ICT. and after 3 year after i graduated (which is 7 years after i ORD), then they called me up to another SIR unit for ICT.Originally posted by Shotgun:Dun defer den how? I mean I'm like studying, and the only time i have available to go for ICT is like vacations. I don't think SAF is that accomodating to say that "Its okay, then we will just call u back during vacations for ur ICTs and courses."
its quite![]()
You're also a tech right?Hmm.Which DSMB were you from?Or were u part of a BN.Originally posted by lemon1974:If u r studying, then u can definitely defer.. In my case, i am a technician during NS and got called up to 2PDF during study at NUS. I just got letter from Adminstration and tell them that i am full time student.. And i got defer from ICT. and after 3 year after i graduated (which is 7 years after i ORD), then they called me up to another SIR unit for ICT.
Unless for those combat units, they are usually go into the same reservist unit and for this, they will usually plan their ICT during University holidays as far as i know.. cos i got friends during NUS, who go to reservist during the holidays periods.
Err.. was an Ammunition Technician... from Ammo Base, attached to PLAD at Pasir laba.. but only an corporal.. never got promoted to 3SG. Lucky though..Originally posted by LazerLordz:You're also a tech right?Hmm.Which DSMB were you from?Or were u part of a BN.
Oh not Engg Tech Spec.Hmm thanks anywayOriginally posted by lemon1974:Err.. was an Ammunition Technician... from Ammo Base, attached to PLAD at Pasir laba.. but only an corporal.. never got promoted to 3SG. Lucky though..
I know, I was from one of those "V200" units, whose role was... You know lah. We still had to dig once. Just so that we knew what it was like.Originally posted by bcoy:Not really true about digging trenches for my unit. I was from the Guards unit that operated with the V200s, and we never had to dig trenches or do defensive exercises while in PDF. It was business as usual for my unit, accept that we now had V200s for some missions.
better to do ict with ppl u know than another unitOriginally posted by Shotgun:Wah, thats kinda sad leh. Vacations are times to spend at sentosa, tanning, playing volleyball with bikini babes. Not in the trenches with a bunch of guys. Hur hur.