y spend ur own money on the military?Originally posted by Rockhound:Always heard from my instructors that once in unit....u could get ure own barang barang like own vest...pouches....own ruck....own boots even....
is there any limit?...
in my experience..issued items arent enuff as they tend to be small..and lack some features that makes my job easier........buying one myself allows customization to my needs. such as Blackhawks molle strike load bearing vest system......so is there really any standard in different units?...or they juz allow as long as it makes my job easier?Originally posted by TVaddict:you will be issued your own vests, slacks, sbo, .... when u enlist either in tekong or unit... dun worry![]()
Depends on unitsOriginally posted by Rockhound:in my experience..issued items arent enuff as they tend to be small..and lack some features that makes my job easier........buying one myself allows customization to my needs. such as Blackhawks molle strike load bearing vest system......so is there really any standard in different units?...or they juz allow as long as it makes my job easier?
yeah...i kinda find it more useful to have medical equipment on the left handside of the body and ammunition on the right handside...Originally posted by deathscythe99:Depends on units
2ntm onli for reservist rite?Originally posted by equlus84:Rockhound, my advice to u is not to buy all this personal gears. Bcos during 2ntm, everyone must carry standard SAF issued items. This is for my unit.
i actually have their catalogues since 2000....found out abt sheares onli in 2004Originally posted by palmerised:Does everyone here only know about BHI?! let me guess, Sheares. zzz
ooooh i see......so that means its safer to retain my current one over the one i planning to make for parades?...wat happens if wayang events are exercise-wise..lan lan suck thumb?Originally posted by lwflee:Depends on your unit. No matter what however, you will need your issued item for use in parades, and other wayang events.
Personally, i would consider getting my own boots. Coz SAF boot-size, unlike SAF running shoes, is very limited.
I actually wore uk 11.5 size boots when i was in service! In fact, i am uk10.5, with extra width.
no...Originally posted by Rockhound:2ntm onli for reservist rite?
precisely...Originally posted by LazerLordz:If for any reason I get called up for reservist, I would only get the drop leg pouch to store my personal equipment.
That having been said, many units are very stubborn about PE even on a daily basis, which is silly.Parades with standard equipment are alright and acceptable, but to prohibit or denounce a soldier for using his own equipment for daily tasks and exercises is quite myopic, especially if the fellow benefits and actually performs better with the new kit.
BH stuff overpriced lah...Eagle Industries buay pai oso...Originally posted by Incedrius:Some times it's good to bring your own kit. But if you appear wearing the latest in fancy Gucci high-speed-low-drag tactical nylon, and do so without prior consent, your RSM may have some comments to make.
Like so many other things, if its unobtrusive, useful and tactical, your superiors will probably approve. But dont over-do things. The fussyness about 'standardization' MAY be going away (Thank GOD!!!) but dont go over board.
And no, BHI is not the only high-speed brand out there. But since Singapore has a ready retailer in Sheares, it's not surprising that it's the most common.
Have you actually USED a drop-leg pouch in the field? It's a pretty brilliant concept... except that when you take it out into the field, it starts getting uncomfortable VERY fast. It's hot, it makes running awkward and you have difficulty making quick entries and exits into vehicles, especially into the driver's cabin.Originally posted by LazerLordz:If for any reason I get called up for reservist, I would only get the drop leg pouch to store my personal equipment.
That having been said, many units are very stubborn about PE even on a daily basis, which is silly.Parades with standard equipment are alright and acceptable, but to prohibit or denounce a soldier for using his own equipment for daily tasks and exercises is quite myopic, especially if the fellow benefits and actually performs better with the new kit.
The drop leg pouch is more useful for tools and tech equipment that cannot fit well into the SBO and when you readily need them and its not field advisable to move around with a toolbox.Originally posted by Incedrius:Have you actually USED a drop-leg pouch in the field? It's a pretty brilliant concept... except that when you take it out into the field, it starts getting uncomfortable VERY fast. It's hot, it makes running awkward and you have difficulty making quick entries and exits into vehicles, especially into the driver's cabin.
Having said this, it's still a good concept. Just make sure that you take the SLIMMEST possible configuration. I doubt many SAF troopers get issued pistols, but when we trot out the P226's for our requisite fashion shows infront of CIO etc, we also get drop-leg holsters for the P226. That's really about the furthest Id go. Dont try to put much more on a drop-leg platform than you would normally stuff in your pants cargo pocket.
Of course, this is for field use. If using a drop-leg platform makes you feel more macho, and the most you do in the field is on-site technical stuff... than GO FOR IT!![]()
Likewise, only that I found out about Sheares 2 years back when I went for a show with my friend..Originally posted by Rockhound:i actually have their catalogues since 2000....found out abt sheares onli in 2004