of coz as long as u are medically fit and of sound mind....Originally posted by Acerguy_007:Can i?
what unit are u in currently?Originally posted by Acerguy_007:Can i?
I've known a Armt Spec with a degree in Mass Comm.Originally posted by Gordonator:correct me if i'm wrong.
for regulars the highest education standard the SAF wants for their specialists is diploma.
so i assume u are interesting in joining as an officer since u are interested in going university.
but from what i heard, commandos get their officers from commando specialists and let them go for officer conversion course right?
am i correct to say that?![]()
Pretty much correct.Originally posted by Gordonator:correct me if i'm wrong.
for regulars the highest education standard the SAF wants for their specialists is diploma.
so i assume u are interesting in joining as an officer since u are interested in going university.
but from what i heard, commandos get their officers from commando specialists and let them go for officer conversion course right?
am i correct to say that?![]()
BAC is conducted in PTW.Not in OCS.If you are posted to OCS as a CDO Officer, you can choose to remain as an NSF.Originally posted by Acerguy_007:Thanks guys for your valuable informations between how do they choose the best to go for OCS? In terms of education? physical fitness? how do they know if you have leadership qualities? They find it out during basic commando training? Do commandos undergo basic airborne course in OCS? Is the pay in OCS high? If go OCS does it mean have to sign on?
For most part that'Originally posted by Gordonator:but from what i heard, commandos get their officers from commando specialists and let them go for officer conversion course right?
They choose leadership, fitness, education everything. You are judged based on official appraisal, peer appraisal, situation test, fitness test, rifle test, field camp blah blah. Pay in OCS is about 1k which is very low compared to any permanent job out there. go OCS dont have to sign onOriginally posted by Acerguy_007:Thanks guys for your valuable informations between how do they choose the best to go for OCS? In terms of education? physical fitness? how do they know if you have leadership qualities? They find it out during basic commando training? Do commandos undergo basic airborne course in OCS? Is the pay in OCS high? If go OCS does it mean have to sign on?
For normal cadets, the monthly allowance is $730..Not sure if CDO cadets get $930 (since they are CDO vocation, but I doubt so)Originally posted by Gasfene:They choose leadership, fitness, education everything. You are judged based on official appraisal, peer appraisal, situation test, fitness test, rifle test, field camp blah blah. Pay in OCS is about 1k which is very low compared to any permanent job out there. go OCS dont have to sign on
I had a fellow recruit with double honours in Business and Economics from Uni. of Michigan.Originally posted by Master -_-:haha
my registry clerk has a Bsc in Economics at Cornell Uni (Magna Cum Laude).
Beat that![]()
My personal pt of view,don't get offend.Seriously i think if u get a degree , why sign on,if u love the job ok loh but dun do it just becos of the money.i have a lot of my poly friends who regretted signing on,i think u should consider it after u get enlist 1st.it quite a waste for your degree.Originally posted by Acerguy_007:haha i have not serve ns yet but posted to commandos so can i sign on after completing my uni education?
crouching tiger hiden dragons indeed. who needs white horses anyway?Originally posted by LazerLordz:I had a fellow recruit with double honours in Business and Economics from Uni. of Michigan.
And one of the instructors in Tekong has a Masters in Aeronautics from Leeds.![]()
Yeah lor.Originally posted by Gordonator:crouching tiger hiden dragons indeed. who needs white horses anyway?![]()
ok...u beaten meOriginally posted by LazerLordz:I had a fellow recruit with double honours in Business and Economics from Uni. of Michigan.
And one of the instructors in Tekong has a Masters in Aeronautics from Leeds.![]()
Infantry earns $1100.Originally posted by CKtalon:For normal cadets, the monthly allowance is $730..Not sure if CDO cadets get $930 (since they are CDO vocation, but I doubt so)
When Infantry Officers commission, they get $1020 as a 2LT..A Commando 2LT will earn $1170..That's hell lot for an NSF..
By the time a Commando OCT goes to OCS, he would be wearing his red beret and have his airborne badge and a 3SG rank which he will take off when he gets into OCS..He won't have walked 72km yet (That will be in his CCC)
He would be trained in almost all weapons (SAR21, M203, SAW, GPMG, CARBINE, etc)
The only 'new' thing to a Commando OCT will be Spade..since Commandoes do not need to dig trenches..
Well a 2LT rank pay is $870..Infantry = $150 combat pay?, CDO = $300 combat pay?Originally posted by Master -_-:Infantry earns $1100.
Commando 2LT earns 1290 leh![]()
without CPF somemore, can take home $1290 a month that's freaking lots of money.Originally posted by Master -_-:Infantry earns $1100.
Commando 2LT earns 1290 leh![]()