Move from cover one or two at a time, with an equal number to provide cover fire.Originally posted by lwflee:Ok, be sensible in what you say here please. I dunno how far or how much we can discuss here.
Anyway, in the course of your SAF service, you would more likely than not have been taught something that clearly and obviously does not work. Let's mock some of the instructors or doctrines here (no names of course- that would be too...mean)
Now...when i was in BMT, many ppl were making remarks like "stoopid fire movement...confirm die one lor if do like that..." Well, after having had one game of airsoft, I feel that i am well informed enough to say...say movement works!
Now try and picture a group of people w/o any concept of proper fire movement and team work...now picture them trying to attack an enemy position.
What will happen is that everyone will do...nothing. they will move into range, go behind cover and shoot from behind cover. no one dares to move forward, no one knows what to do. Sooner or later, the enemy from the safety of their entrenched position will realize that and one or two of them will flank you and kill you, etc. So w/o fire movement, your attack has no momentum. You will almost never succeed in your attack.
So fire movement is imo not bull shi t. It works. One point though - i was told in BMT that when you are near enough you charge at the enemy firing at full auto from the HIPS! That made no sense to me and I still think it is bull shi t.
Thoughts?
nothing wrong. you are not expected to meet an enemy with loaded rifleOriginally posted by Hellraiza:prowling with an unloaded rifle.
I tot it is the same way in judo also?Originally posted by ditzy:The only bu||sh|t is the breakfall move in UC.![]()
Poor tiles.Originally posted by Geforce3:breakfall is usefull......., saved my back once when i slipped and fell @ home on tiles![]()
Originally posted by lwflee:Where did you play airsoft? And when? After you NS? PM me im interested
[Well, after having had one game of airsoft, I feel that i am well informed enough to say...say movement works!
b]

I am not in Singapore.Originally posted by mrwonderful:Where did you play airsoft? And when? After you NS? PM me im interested
why bullshit? Just becoz you never try it wif concrate floor before? you didn't watch wrestling before?Originally posted by ditzy:The only bu||sh|t is the breakfall move in UC.![]()
When you are wearing SBO, don't even need a breakfall. Your helmet and webbing can protect you quite adequately.Originally posted by fudgester:Well, I do think that unarmed combat sessions are plain bullsh*t.
The instructors simply teach the techniques, and the soliders just wayang in front of the instructors. For example, the 'victims' have to show pain by slapping their thighs.
In addition, I'm having doubts as to the effectiveness of UC in actual combat situations. UC sessions are conducted in clean fatigues in a training shed, and I don't think it'll quite be the same in a real jungle while wearing SBO.
depends where u prowl lah.Originally posted by Icemoon:nothing wrong. you are not expected to meet an enemy with loaded rifle![]()
co_ck_end_nathan...Originally posted by lwflee:Oh, and i remember when i was in BMT, i was told by the instructor to run and secure a junction. Now, this was when i was still very 'green'...so i did not really know what to do. So i drew on my years of experience playing computer games and had a eureka moment. I would run like this:
Sgt never say anything, hence I must be doing it right.
BALLS! I now know the instructor either did not care or did not know better.
1. You cannot get a sight picture whilst running. It is physically impossible
2. Even if you can, you are almost inevitably going to trip and fall. And look like an idiot.
Mind, holding it with the butt tucked into the shoulder is fine. But not like in the picture, with the rifle raised up to your eye.
where? in enemy territory?Originally posted by Hellraiza:depends where u prowl lah.
Breakfall is bullshit???U shld b glad that wat u learning is same as wat the SWAT is learning.If useless, then they learn for wat. SWAT leh.Not ah dog or ah cat unit.Dun believe, c this http://forum.mil.sina.com.cn/cgi-bin/view.cgi?gid=71&fid=4642&thread=66157&date=20051119&page=6Originally posted by ditzy:The only bu||sh|t is the breakfall move in UC.![]()
can vomit blood....nevermind...take it as im babbling.....of course ROE prevails lah im a bloody ex-rp...but to me prowling with an unloaded rifle in certain sensitive areas of a camp where there HAVE been instances of inflitration...u cant help but think twice of what could happen. better safe than sorry, is my mottoOriginally posted by Icemoon:where? in enemy territory?
on singapore soil, rules of engagement prevail. so you're not expected to shoot instantly.
Originally posted by Hellraiza:can vomit blood....nevermind...take it as im babbling.....of course ROE prevails lah im a bloody ex-rp...but to me prowling with an unloaded rifle in certain sensitive areas of a camp where there HAVE been instances of inflitration...u cant help but think twice of what could happen. better safe than sorry, is my motto
The SAF has a way of doing that to people...Originally posted by nightzip:co_ck_end_nathan...![]()
I havent done CCT, but I think I know what you are referring to (That you are supposed to slap your/opponent's thigh when you feel pain).Originally posted by fudgester:Well, I do think that unarmed combat sessions are plain bullsh*t.
The instructors simply teach the techniques, and the soliders just wayang in front of the instructors. For example, the 'victims' have to show pain by slapping their thighs.