can lah...their bloody mascot statue so big, frog with wings, trident, bomb....Originally posted by CuteBeat:wonder why people like to compare guards and sometimes divers also(always kana suan when comin for airborne course...froggies can never fly..) to commandos
trying to prove they are elites??
Originally posted by CuteBeat:Wow....elite ?!?!?...................if you have time pls ask those in Comandos become Guards' enemy in Taiwan back in 83...ask them how we wack thier buts
there is only 1 elite force in SAF - COMMANDOS.
enough said.
Cdo and Gds always fight wan lah, especially in the old ATEC days. Cdo eager to uphold their motto, Gds all hokkien bro. In my batch, my platoon including PS hold our rifles by the barrels and whack liao. FIBUA is the best battle grounds of all.Originally posted by 88guards:Wow....elite ?!?!?...................if you have time pls ask those in Comandos become Guards' enemy in Taiwan back in 83...ask them how we wack thier buts
back then...is like cats & dogs. See each other end-up fighting....those are the days when 265hills are not big enough and had to bring the fight at Changi point...lol...
I belive those Comandos in the 83-88 reading this will bring back some memory..if they were involve..whuahahaa....
Man, u fr 88 GDS? I was wif you guys when u did ur reservist ATEC at Marsiling back in 96, was in 3 GDS then.Originally posted by 88guards:Wow....elite ?!?!?...................if you have time pls ask those in Comandos become Guards' enemy in Taiwan back in 83...ask them how we wack thier buts
back then...is like cats & dogs. See each other end-up fighting....those are the days when 265hills are not big enough and had to bring the fight at Changi point...lol...
I belive those Comandos in the 83-88 reading this will bring back some memory..if they were involve..whuahahaa....
Guards n the naval diver truly elites esp the diver they proved tobe versatile land, sea and air operations. They conducted training for the maritime counter terrorism group.Originally posted by CuteBeat:wonder why people like to compare guards and sometimes divers also(always kana suan when comin for airborne course...froggies can never fly..) to commandos
trying to prove they are elites??
Hmmm ... seems like I should know quite a few people from this forumOriginally posted by trueno86:Man, u fr 88 GDS? I was wif you guys when u did ur reservist ATEC at Marsiling back in 96, was in 3 GDS then.
Originally posted by will4:
Guards n the naval diver truly elites
Originally posted by tt3:Please tell us why u think in this manner?
[b]
i dun tink guards r tt gd lor...[/b]
Actually, I think they are more akin to the British Army's Paras (who don't really do much operational parachuting anyway) who are a permanent part of the Air Assault Brigade. Light, rapid reaction infantry.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Nope.Our Guards are similar to the Marines in operational sense, naval and helo insertions with small combat teams that are highly mobile.
Guards are Infantry end of. If anything, the Infantry formation has been given too little credit.Originally posted by will4:Guards n the naval diver truly elites esp the diver they proved tobe versatile land, sea and air operations. They conducted training for the maritime counter terrorism group.
The red beret elite? They receievd too much publicity already esp the media.
Because they guard the royalty? Seems kinda obvious. In britain, today, these units still perform ceremonial duties. However, they are operational troops as well, so they rotate among roles. I think.Originally posted by nightzip:heheh...then again comes the questions, why are the other countrie's guards called guards?
where's the origin of the name? Guards?![]()
When did you ORD? It must have been quite a while ago...Originally posted by will4:Please tell us why u think in this manner?![]()
Five years back n u?Originally posted by lwflee:When did you ORD? It must have been quite a while ago...
Gds and SIR are like brothers. Cdo is like someone which we need to harass and pick a fight with, especially during ATEC. Of course, all these mindsets are during nsf days.Originally posted by lwflee:Guards are Infantry end of. If anything, the Infantry formation has been given too little credit.
It is more Guards against the red beret cause the red beret often had condescending attitude to Guards.Originally posted by trueno86:Gds and SIR are like brothers. Cdo is like someone which we need to harass and pick a fight with, especially during ATEC. Of course, all these mindsets are during nsf days.
i always think of this whenever i go for attack, defense trainings.Originally posted by LazerLordz:that's assuming the enemy fights according to the SAF's plans.![]()
btw, that's no a sword.Originally posted by NT2:y Gds the sword point down and whereas Cdo the sword point up?![]()