OMGOriginally posted by Gordonator:btw, that's no a sword.![]()
Even the chinese label for Guards is Jin4 Wei4 Bing1. ("near defense soldiers")Originally posted by ferryman2393:Why Guards are called Guards? Security guard job scope maybe.
Historically, that's what Guards do i.e. guarding those kings and queens or whoever ruled the country. In Singapore context, maybe guarding LKY - no Sultans to guard, what.
The Guards logo is way more cool than the commando one.Originally posted by NT2:y Gds the sword point down and whereas Cdo the sword point up?![]()
dagger? hand knife or wat u call ttOriginally posted by Gordonator:btw, that's no a sword.![]()
guards is bayonet. commando is stiletto.Originally posted by NT2:dagger? hand knife or wat u call tt![]()
Talking abt bayonet, recently saw a couple of ADF polo t shirt lurking round. Front logo is a simple triangle enclose with a bayonet pointing up, behind is written ADF, AlWAYs READY. Something like that. Front looks like Delta Force logo from far.Originally posted by Gordonator:guards is bayonet. commando is stiletto.
A stiletto is a form of dagger.Originally posted by Gordonator:guards is bayonet. commando is stiletto.
Diver====> All Rounder (Air, Land, Sea)Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well, honestly, CDO,Guards,Infantry, AI are all Infantry. CDO=Airborne Infantry, Guards=Heli-borne Infantry (something like the cavalry troopers in "We Were Soldiers"), Infantry(needless to say the boots on the ground), AI similar to cavalry too.
Our divers are not exactly SEALs. While they might be airborne qualified (are all of them airborne qualified?), during ops I doubt they be given roles meant more for commandos.Originally posted by MGGUN:Diver====> All Rounder (Air, Land, Sea)
CDO====> Airborne Specialize (land)
Gurads----> Gurads actually to be exact is not elite troops....They are
like US marines......strategy solider.....i,e Specialize on something
like Heli-borne........They are to react fast to capture objective....
Just like they are the spearhead force... Gurads still belong to
the infantry formation...
AI Troopers-> AIs does not belong to infantry formation belong to the armour
formation....Do just like what infantry does but added that
AIs fight togethter with their IFV and AIs are different from
mechanize infantry where they just move around with the aid
of veh.......AIs move and fight with vehicle and they are the main
battle force...
coincidentally ADF is called "D-Force" sometimes...Originally posted by trueno86:Talking abt bayonet, recently saw a couple of ADF polo t shirt lurking round. Front logo is a simple triangle enclose with a bayonet pointing up, behind is written ADF, AlWAYs READY. Something like that. Front looks like Delta Force logo from far.
Then maybe we should change the Istana guards from MPs to the Guardsmen.Originally posted by Icemoon:Even the chinese label for Guards is Jin4 Wei4 Bing1. ("near defense soldiers")
You could be right. The monarch always have a skilled group of people around him. Think the Red Guards around Emperor Palpatine, the 4 elephant warriors from Tom Yum Goong, even Zhan Zhao (the Jade Cat) in Justice Bao shows.
This is a testament to the Singapore Guards' skillfulness and loyalty.
Well. I don't think you read through this whole forum topic.Originally posted by Hellraiza:Then maybe we should change the Istana guards from MPs to the Guardsmen.![]()
Oh yah hor. My bad.Originally posted by Eiizumi:Well. I don't think you read through this whole forum topic.
Guards were actually guardsmen outside Istana last time.
NEXT!
Actually AIs are not spearhead to be exact..............Originally posted by Icemoon:Our divers are not exactly SEALs. While they might be airborne qualified (are all of them airborne qualified?), during ops I doubt they be given roles meant more for commandos.
Guards and certain infantry units are the spearhead. Armour is the main battle force. Actually from our rather heated exchange last time, you gave me the impression AIs are also the spearhead.
But to be the spearhead, AIs have to abandon their vehicles which means they don't get to move and fight with vehicle. I still find this quite dumb. How can the machines be without the men?
Mech. Infantry is purely infantry riding onto their armour vehicle and transport them to their objective faster...i.e bronco and terrex...One of the different is that these APC main objective is just to transport troops to their objective nearer to enemy territory and not right into the territory......Because they only with basic defensive weapon i.e MG ....Just enough to protect them from light assualt from infantry troops.....And their armour protection is much more light than IFV.......They are just act like war taxi.....Originally posted by SpecOps87:I need someone to explain to me whats the diff. between Mech.Infantry and Armoured Infantry?
I agree. Guards are simply helimobile, rapid-reaction infantry. IMO, the label 'elite' has been brandished around too often. I cannot see why and to what end guards are being labelled as the 'elite'.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well, honestly, CDO,Guards,Infantry, AI are all Infantry. CDO=Airborne Infantry, Guards=Heli-borne Infantry (something like the cavalry troopers in "We Were Soldiers"), Infantry(needless to say the boots on the ground), AI similar to cavalry too.
I do not think that commandos are airborne infantry in terms of operations. Airborne infantry are infantry units trained for parachute operations, once on the ground, they like other infantry units, but more well trained, motivated and experienced. Commando operations are different. Another example or contrast is the US marines and UKÂ’s royal marine commandos.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Well, honestly, CDO,Guards,Infantry, AI are all Infantry. CDO=Airborne Infantry, Guards=Heli-borne Infantry (something like the cavalry troopers in "We Were Soldiers"), Infantry(needless to say the boots on the ground), AI similar to cavalry too.
i know 1 who is currently serving, mr_sotong.Originally posted by bcoy:I wonder how many current or former guardsmen are in these forums.
Check out the most basic requirement like IPPT, CDO/GUARDS/DIVERS share the same gold award standards, which "SIMPLY" the only way for people out there to see the difference. The other way, simply by being in the unit. The term "rapid reaction" through seabourne, heliborne and faster movement/contact, imagine the kind of training and sweat to achieve that. Of cos. CDO need even more rapid reaction with secrecy, hence tougher training.Originally posted by lwflee:I agree. Guards are simply helimobile, rapid-reaction infantry. IMO, the label 'elite' has been brandished around too often. I cannot see why and to what end guards are being labelled as the 'elite'.