Yar lor .. in the end all of them need to do area cleaning!Originally posted by acwire_2125:Well, it is defenietly up to wad type of operation they are doing.
This is the doctrine of the SAF if we know everything under the sun than SAF will not have anymore classify informationOriginally posted by Icemoon:Yar lor .. in the end all of them need to do area cleaning!
Elite sweeper and toilet cleaner.![]()
COLs and Generals wears different crest on their berets.Originally posted by acwire_2125:BTW, when I go to all the open house and all, see many high rank officers wear Khaki Berets and Maroon Berets, But all the crest is some funny crest and not the Guards crest or the commandos crest. CAre to explain?
Really 3 months? Because I was under the impression that the course was 5 Weeks. Remember, I am talking about the Guards Conversion course alone.Originally posted by acwire_2125:Yes, that's wad I heard from a Guardsman. 3 solid months of HELL! I heard they really give you big headache in the 3 months. But after the 3 months, you get to wear the coverted Khaki beret and have the words GUARDS sew on your left sleeve. REally proud to wear the tab!
BTW, when I go to all the open house and all, see many high rank officers wear Khaki Berets and Maroon Berets, But all the crest is some funny crest and not the Guards crest or the commandos crest. CAre to explain?
GCC is about 5 weeks. Heard from my fren who was frm 3guards..Originally posted by lwflee:Really 3 months? Because I was under the impression that the course was 5 Weeks. Remember, I am talking about the Guards Conversion course alone.
That is NOT a "sword". The Gds "blade" is a bayonet. What you flt on a rifle. To reflect their infantry status.Originally posted by NT2:y Gds the sword point down and whereas Cdo the sword point up?![]()
yah it is. The high heels got their name from this ancient assassin weapon.Originally posted by Hellraiza:the commando dagger is called a stiletto right?
Coincidentally isn't a stiletto also a type of ladie's high heels?![]()
no wonder my gal pal always says "i'm gonna wear my new pair of KILLER heels to town"....Originally posted by Icemoon:yah it is. The high heels got their name from this ancient assassin weapon.
So guniang the commando logo.![]()
Originally posted by acwire_2125:
Yes, that's wad I heard from a Guardsman. 3 solid months of HELL! I heard they really give you big headache in the 3 months. But after the 3 months, you get to wear the coverted Khaki beret and have the words GUARDS sew on your left sleeve. REally proud to wear the tab!
Unless the SAF says that all guardsmen -must- attain gold in IPPT, your point is as pointless as a blunt pencil. It would be like saying 'Guardsmen are Elite because we say they are'.Originally posted by trueno86:Check out the most basic requirement like IPPT, CDO/GUARDS/DIVERS share the same gold award standards, which "SIMPLY" the only way for people out there to see the difference. The other way, simply by being in the unit. The term "rapid reaction" through seabourne, heliborne and faster movement/contact, imagine the kind of training and sweat to achieve that. Of cos. CDO need even more rapid reaction with secrecy, hence tougher training.
it's a men's thing I guess ... more generally, it's a Singaporean thing ....Originally posted by lwflee:Right...now that certain...inconsistencies have been ironed out, let's get back to why Guards are being labelled 'elite'. Do they still deserve that label?
[Note: Academic argument here. Don't gert personal]
Unless the SAF says that all guardsmen -must- attain gold in IPPT, your point is, like a blunt pencil, pointless. It would be like saying 'Guardsmen are Elite because we say they are'.
Ditto the point about being in the unit.
Re insertion, IMO, insertion methods does not mean anything much. Parachuting into enemy territory does not make one elite. It qualifies one to hold the title of 'cannon fodder'. After all, we do not call suicide combers elite do we?
What would make those soldiers elite would be the level of trg and selection each and everyone of those soldiers have been subjected to. Can we say that about our Guardsmen? I hardly think GCC qualifies someone as elite. Commandos? Probably since we have all heard about how sh1t their BMT is. Soldiers of the British Army's Parachute Regiment? Probably. Since we know how hard the selection is and we know everyone of those soldier have passed selection.
-Lies down in hastily prepared shell scrape and awaits incoming -
Originally posted by tt3:Armour also wears beret with no.1 dress what, why not bitch about them? So ur a commando?
[b]
proud meh?? dun tink so lor.. just another clothe on e sleeve onli mah... wear ranger more proud lor... but 1 tink i dun get it... commando wear beret when wearin no. 1... y guards xtra go follow them ah?? veri wat lor...[/b]