interestingly there is a unit..or should i say company...logo with the guards wings and laurels..but the bayonet is pointed UPwards...hmmmOriginally posted by Hellraiza:the commando dagger is called a stiletto right?
Coincidentally isn't a stiletto also a type of ladie's high heels?![]()
I do not think that our guards units are like the US Ranger units. In terms of size - the units maybe "lightweight", but so is all our infantry units.Originally posted by Hellraiza:Armour also wears beret with no.1 dress what, why not bitch about them? So ur a commando?
Anyway IMHO, our Guardsmen are elite Infantry, much like the US Rangers (btw, US Rangers are not considered SF) difference being the Ranger's airborne status, and of course the duration of the RIP is maybe a month longer than our GCC. End of the day it's all about operational roles and requirements what. Just like Warcraft, you won't use a PEON to do a Berserker's job right? So let it rest about who's more elite lah...knn u all can kpkb until kingdom come, once u all ORD already also like that, bo chap bo hiew.![]()
The air assault course had been stopped already.Originally posted by bcoy:I do not think that our guards units are like the US Ranger units. In terms of size - the units maybe "lightweight", but so is all our infantry units.
A closer match for the US Rangers would be our commandos. Both are expected to do very similar missions. Besides - "commandos" is a British commonwealth term, which the US chooses to describe as "Rangers" instead.
In my view, our guards units are more alike to the US 101st Air Assault and US Marine units. (But we don't have as many helicopters or ships) I remember going for a joint exercise with the marines during NS. Also, some of the old regulars during my NS had the US air assualt badge, don't know if anyone still goes for those courses these days.
Does SAF require all Cdos to be IPPT gold? I am very sure not all Cdos can get gold, at least on 1st try. However they will be train till they get it as a unit requirement. What I am trying to say is SAF requires Grds to be on the same par with Cdos at least in IPPT gold, but of cos not all Grds can get it, and it's not die die must get gold like Cdos. That is why half f**k Cdos comes abt in Grds.Originally posted by lwflee:Right...now that certain...inconsistencies have been ironed out, let's get back to why Guards are being labelled 'elite'. Do they still deserve that label?
[Note: Academic argument here. Don't gert personal]
Unless the SAF says that all guardsmen -must- attain gold in IPPT, your point is as pointless as a blunt pencil. It would be like saying 'Guardsmen are Elite because we say they are'.
Ditto the point about being in the unit.
Re insertion, IMO, insertion methods does not mean anything much. Parachuting into enemy territory does not make one elite. It qualifies one to hold the title of 'cannon fodder'. After all, we do not call suicide bombers 'elite' do we? Selfless, brave, courageous, dedicated, maybe. But not elite.
What would make those soldiers elite would be the level of trg and selection each and everyone of those soldiers have been subjected to. Can we say that about our Guardsmen? I hardly think GCC qualifies someone as elite. Commandos? Probably since we have all heard about how sh1t their BMT is. Soldiers of the British Army's Parachute Regiment? Probably. Since we know how hard the selection is and we know everyone of those soldier have passed selection.
-Lies down in hastily prepared shell scrape and awaits incoming -
Stiletto is an assassin weapon. Commandos are supposed to take the enemy by surprise.Originally posted by acwire_2125:Why they want to use stiletto? Why not Tanto or some other knive?
Originally posted by Hellraiza:
So ur a commando?
haha... they realli tink they r... they tink they r commando... haha... dun b a fool...Originally posted by dreamboi:5) Due to their believe in them being elites, they are fucking garang, thats e main diff in mindsets
what u mean about the tong for 1 week....then what about infantry and armour???Originally posted by dreamboi:Ok lets see... i'm a Current NSF in 7SIB
7SIB is a Guards Formation Bridage, which consist of 1st and 3rd guards aka 1guards n 3guards.
The GCC (Thats for commanders only) and ATI (this is e 1 for MEN).
ATI if i'm not wrong is ard 2 months. They will also need to go for CSB (Combat Skill Badge). The 1 with a SAR21 Icon on it de.
The diff between Guards and INfantry is...
1) They do Heli-repel
2) They do Costal hook
3)They have Lightstrike company, a kinda of vehicle that does hit and run effectively to support them, not to mention they have Spike platoon, ATGM Platoon, 84MM as well
4) They are to bring the fight to the country..... They are those that tong e place for 1 week b4 our main blockforce comes..
5) Due to their believe in them being elites, they are fucking garang, thats e main diff in mindsets
6) They are taught to fight differently, as in formation, etc
Thats about it.
don't like this say them.i will feel sad if i were them.Originally posted by tt3:haha... they realli tink they r... they tink they r commando... haha... dun b a fool...
infantry and armour?they will be sleeping until all the security guards got killed then they get into action and keo sai.Originally posted by MGGUN:what u mean about the tong for 1 week....then what about infantry and armour???
isn't Spike platoon the ATGM platoon?Originally posted by dreamboi:Ok lets see... i'm a Current NSF in 7SIB
3)They have Lightstrike company, a kinda of vehicle that does hit and run effectively to support them, not to mention they have Spike platoon, ATGM Platoon, 84MM as well
5) Due to their believe in them being elites, they are fucking garang, thats e main diff in mindsets
Thats about it.
Pls do some research and for your information armour will never keo sai one....Originally posted by CuteBeat:infantry and armour?they will be sleeping until all the security guards got killed then they get into action and keo sai.
wahahaha
First, Infantry men go through AIT and CSB as well.Originally posted by dreamboi:Ok lets see... i'm a Current NSF in 7SIB
7SIB is a Guards Formation Bridage, which consist of 1st and 3rd guards aka 1guards n 3guards.
The GCC (Thats for commanders only) and ATI (this is e 1 for MEN).
ATI if i'm not wrong is ard 2 months. They will also need to go for CSB (Combat Skill Badge). The 1 with a SAR21 Icon on it de.
The diff between Guards and INfantry is...
1) They do Heli-repel
2) They do Costal hook
4) They are to bring the fight to the country..... They are those that tong e place for 1 week b4 our main blockforce comes..
6) They are taught to fight differently, as in formation, etc
Thats about it.
ignorant...Originally posted by CuteBeat:infantry and armour?they will be sleeping until all the security guards got killed then they get into action and keo sai.
wahahaha
Ya totally agree with you.........Everyone plays part in war not only elite.....Even a store man play its part too...wothout them did you think that the warriors at the front line can get their food and water supply......Everyone plays a part......even is a clerk.....Originally posted by lwflee:First, Infantry men go through AIT and CSB as well.
1) No big deal, not strenous by any stretch of the imagination. Further, I was once told by a LTC that heli rapelling is more a confidence course than an operational need. We have so many LZs and if you can rappel down, chances are that you can hover jump(?) of the chopper.
2) So? Coastal hook does not require immense physical prowess. Is it inherently more siong than marching all night into battle? Dun think so.
3) Clothes do not make a man. Neither do equipment. Btw, infantry have support coy too.
4) Really? So they are suicidal then? Read my post. In any case, are you saying the infantry does not take the fight to the enemy? I've always though that a deliberate attack on an enemy position is taking the fight to the enemy. Guess I was wrong.
5) Really? Well...maybe. Though if you think about it, thinking you are elite != you are elite. I would like to think that I am hung like a horse, but so far, I have never seen anyone gasp in awe when i drop by trousers.
Maybe that mindset makes them try harder? But I've always thought that the best motivation is an NCO screaming at you to move your fu.ckin arrse or else you're not going to be going out this weekend.
6) They fight differently? I'm stumped. I've always thought that the prescribed method of killing is to aim and shoot. You mean Guardsmen do things differently? Do they have a special handshake? Do they squeeze the trigger with the little finger? Can't see how this makes anyone an elite?((
ai ya... COA is juz a clumsy old guy who hasn't seen a SOC ground 4 yrs.... i tink he wont fight in a real war 1 lor... he will run far far 1...Originally posted by Hellraiza:If COA says they're elite, they're elite. Don't need any armchair generals/chairborne troopers to back that up