wrong..Originally posted by Ponders:The GOM i read GOM-MP... about medical leave... was very vague and ambiguous on whether they can be called back.
k, i read it somewhere in Jan 2005 when i was tasked to "research" on the kind of actions my OC can take... so i kinda forgotten how it is exactly phrased.
Basically, it says like, [serviceman who has medical certs issued by private doctors may remain at home and rest until the MC ends.
However, serviceman may be required to endorse the MC by MOs.]
The ambiguity comes from.... "until the MC ends", but in practice servicemen have been asked to book in the night of their last day of MC.
I think lately this practice has been changed to requiring them to book in next morning.
"may remain at home and rest", it does not specify if serviceman must STRICTLY stay home and rest with provisions for meals.
"may be required to endorse"... it never state if the MC has to be endorsed on the day the serviceman returns after his MC ends, or he can be called back to first endorse the MC and then use his MC.
So which one has more power???Originally posted by binZ:wrong..
to sum it off, the GOM stated that as long as the unit deemed fit, the unit can restrict the serviceman to report sick in medical centres only.
for endorsement of MCs by MO, is anything more than 3 days MC. Normally the senior medics endorse tat on MO's behalf.
u can find all this in HQ MC directives. They dictate all medical directives.
I would consider a GOM to be higher than a sub-SAF directive.But do read the fine print about certain directives superceding GOM.Originally posted by Ponders:So which one has more power???
GOM-MP or HQ MC Directive???
Because it is a GOM and I personally read it. But I never had access to HQ MC Directive, so I dunno what's contained there.
i hate this kind of people too. chao keng here chao keng there, when it comes to doing duties, take MC. don't even know how the others suffers because of their selfish actions.Originally posted by KenPlus:Aiya if sick and take MC,it best to stay at home unless u r going to buy food and also when u take mc try to think of those in camps,i HATE those who take MC while they are going to do guard duty the next day,in the end who suffer,the standby guards suffer
i got it once,i was actually taking leave for my birthday,in the end someone take MC and i was being call back for standby guard and know what,my buddy saw that fellow on MC outside shopping with his gf.
Taking MC to escape duties is a NO-NO.Originally posted by Gordonator:i hate this kind of people too. chao keng here chao keng there, when it comes to doing duties, take MC. don't even know how the others suffers because of their selfish actions.
The various directives in GOM are decided by individuals SMEs.. ie: MSD, HQ MC etc.. it is all the same stuff nia~ just tat individual formation HQs go into more details~Originally posted by Ponders:So which one has more power???
GOM-MP or HQ MC Directive???
Because it is a GOM and I personally read it. But I never had access to HQ MC Directive, so I dunno what's contained there.
salute!Originally posted by Fatum:Come to think of it ... I've never taken a single day of MC during my 2.5 years ....
I didn't even clear all my leave ! ... cos my boss (who was very kind to me) needed extra help with a CPX ... so went down to help lor ....
True...but if the unit finds out you are well enough to go and chiong somewhere, they will ask the MO to review and cancel or reduce your MC, at least. The nasty ones will simply charge you...Originally posted by LazerLordz:Personally, I don't see what is wrong if you go out for a while.I would do the same, but if I'm am really unwell, I will not do so la.
You do not expect a person on MC to be house-bound for 2mths right? have some common sense everyone..
Tell you what we used to do with these kengsters...You cannot cancel their MC if they have a whole string of MCs from specialists etc...so we admit them into SAF ward, keep them there for several weeks until they cannot tahan and beg to be discharged.Originally posted by Ponders:aiyah... for me one of my man damn obvious lor
every sunday take MC then sometimes extend up to 3-4 days.
We started to suspect him when he book in late, then ask why he's late, he say he was rushed to A&E in town.
We called that hospital and there's no record of that. So he got himself 3 confinements which he intentionally booked medical appointments on those days.
So we tell him to book out and come back for confinement after the appointment. But this @sshole get MC during the appointment.
Then the MC would extend till monday or tuesday.
So we did spot check during his MC and we are ready to collect evidence already.
Called him twice, his mom pick up saying he went to lunch. Then a couple of mins after hanging up, he would call camp and say he is out for lunch. So we asked him to call from HOME to PC's handphone in 30 mins.
He did.
But we wanted to recommend him for BMT recourse, we looked thru the records and he showed only 30% attendance.
Brought matter up to CO, CO just say let him go!!!!!
We (OC, PC, PS, Sgts) looked damn stupid man!!!
because my encik is one bloody slacker himself, many of the good-for-nothing kengster are taking advantages and exploiting the loop holes in his system.Originally posted by nismoS132:then those guys won't get any kind of punishment one meh?
over here, these guys are marked so badly, even a simple fall in late also will tio summary trial.
MO can reduce your MCs if he find it to long. Imagine if the NSF get 1 week MC for URTI u think the unit would not do anything...especially if you are hopping clinic.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:True...but if the unit finds out you are well enough to go and chiong somewhere, they will ask the MO to review and cancel or reduce your MC, at least. The nasty ones will simply charge you...
wah. I really respect this man of yours. Not because of what he did, but the determination in which he did. Hahaha! But how, in the end? Didn't want revenge for being played by enlisted man?Originally posted by Ponders:aiyah... for me one of my man damn obvious lor
every sunday take MC then sometimes extend up to 3-4 days.
We started to suspect him when he book in late, then ask why he's late, he say he was rushed to A&E in town.
We called that hospital and there's no record of that. So he got himself 3 confinements which he intentionally booked medical appointments on those days.
So we tell him to book out and come back for confinement after the appointment. But this @sshole get MC during the appointment.
Then the MC would extend till monday or tuesday.
So we did spot check during his MC and we are ready to collect evidence already.
Called him twice, his mom pick up saying he went to lunch. Then a couple of mins after hanging up, he would call camp and say he is out for lunch. So we asked him to call from HOME to PC's handphone in 30 mins.
He did.
But we wanted to recommend him for BMT recourse, we looked thru the records and he showed only 30% attendance.
Brought matter up to CO, CO just say let him go!!!!!
We (OC, PC, PS, Sgts) looked damn stupid man!!!
so?? mc stay @ home and rest, go out chiong wtf............... u tell me go relatives hse ok lar, but dbl 0.......Originally posted by mschumacher84:haha i am not a troublemaker in my office..just nice xmas eve wanna soak up the festive mood so i went to dbl o to drink abit..haha..then dont know how my head found out..must be some1 sabo or check the photos in my server..haha...hope i dont kena anything on account its the festive season and my parents know and allowed me to go out while on mc till cny
This kind of ppl must go slap balls & report this matter to CSM & demand that the day u do his duty must be paid back double...Originally posted by KenPlus:Aiya if sick and take MC,it best to stay at home unless u r going to buy food and also when u take mc try to think of those in camps,i HATE those who take MC while they are going to do guard duty the next day,in the end who suffer,the standby guards suffer
i got it once,i was actually taking leave for my birthday,in the end someone take MC and i was being call back for standby guard and know what,my buddy saw that fellow on MC outside shopping with his gf.
CSM told us to settle amongst ourselves.Learn what it is like to be a negotiator.Originally posted by larrenV2.003:This kind of ppl must go slap balls & report this matter to CSM & demand that the day u do his duty must be paid back double...
That's damn true.And it's not as if you don't have the chance to put in your duty forecast, furthermore, your roster is always out in advance, therefore already giving you two chances to plan your schedule.If you cannot plan it well, or forget to forecast it, then just too bad ain't it.Don't make your problem fall on the shoulders on the others who have to pick up the slack.Originally posted by fudgester:My viewpoint is that if you have an MC, then you're expected to stay at home for the duration of the MC. Of course, it doesn't strictly mean that you should confine yourself to the four walls of your home... going to the nearby coffeeshop to buy supper or something should still be ok.
I remember being called on my handphone by my COS once while I was on ATTC. He had called my home phone, and my sis told him that I was outside. The COS said that my Encik was angry with me for not staying at home, but I managed to explain to him that I was outside only to buy supper from a nearby coffeeshop (which was completely true). I managed to convince him - nothing happened to me. I guess it helps not to be an MC king.
That said, going shopping at Orchard Road, chionging at MoS, or soccer at a nearby field is a definite no-no if you're on MC. If you're fit enough to do all that, then you're fit enough to return to camp.
If you want to skip duties because you want to go out with your gf or something, for goodness' sake, exchange duties with someone else. If you can't find someone else, then bo pian just do your duty. To take MCs at every whim and fancy when you're not actually sick is extremely selfish to other people who have to carry out your duties in your place.
Sadly most CSM practise that...Originally posted by LazerLordz:CSM told us to settle amongst ourselves.Learn what it is like to be a negotiator.
That applies if your unit has 100 over ppl doing duty on that month...Originally posted by lwflee:My unit used to have a settle yourself policy. So the CSM just allocates the duties and if your name is on the board you better make sure you turn up or get someone to do put their name down.
A bustling black market in Duty-buying soon arose. Illustrated to me first hand what a free market is. During, NYE, CNY, prices were steep! One of my friends was even talking about offering a package - $X for y amt of duties over a period of time.
Excellent system I must say! Those who are there might be more motivated to be there because they are being paid extra, and those who really do not feel like being there have a way out!
Long live free enterprise!