LBV lor. If i'm not wrong most of the SIRs are using it already.Originally posted by laurence82:Got new SBO?
i am actually looking forward to be called up.Originally posted by LazerLordz:No reservist call-up.![]()
LBV lah dey....load bearing vest...phucking hot wearing that thing...Originally posted by Shotgun:I want the new SBO also!!
not exactly the same as yours but i also wish 1 day i can also get my hands on one.Originally posted by Hellraiza:LBV lah dey....load bearing vest...phucking hot wearing that thing...
but looks damn cool! lols

Inability to pass IPPT is related more to lifestyle habits and diet. So we should urge NSmen to maintain their fitness and eat healthily so that they'll have no need to worry about IPPT. Lowering the passing standard is not really logical. Anyway, I don't think the current standards are unreasonable.Originally posted by maggot:Lower IPPT passing standards for Reservists please
Got people died from RT due unable to pass IPPT so possible to lower it a more passable standard?![]()
u can bet my bottom dollar that no. 10 will never happens, not until MG Desmond Kuek take over.Originally posted by Ponders:SAF's wishlist
1) less people who complain about SAF
2) More people who supports NS (according to newspaper, Mindef was heartened to know that people still support NS from that Melvin Pianist saga... my foot)
3) No deaths.
4) Lesser bodoh recruits
5) More camera-less phone models
6) BMW X5s or similar SUVs
7) Regulars with passion rather than money-driven ones
8 ) Apache come home smoothly
9) Less conflicts with Australian Customs and Agriculture ministry.
10) trim & fit CDF
no.7 takes time.But I see the seeds of a small dedicated force building up, which might move the SAF much more on the path of international peacekeeping operations and relief work.Originally posted by Gordonator:u can bet my bottom dollar that no. 10 will never happens, not until MG Desmond Kuek take over.![]()
hmm ..the PVS-14 isn't issued yet ? Hmm..well maybe its the price tag on one such equipment,but i can also vounch on the clarity and the ease of use. darn fine piece of equipment.Originally posted by Incedrius:The new LBV is here already. Like the SAR21, like it or hate it, it's here to stay. So no choice about the matter. And if you're a support arms chap... heh, please be REAL patient. You won't touch the LBV for many moons yet
On that topic... A *certain* unit has chosen to fight their ATEC in the old style SBO, despite being issued the LBV, and the certainty of having to fight in their LBV in the event of a real shooting war. Oh well... train as you fight
The new field pack is here. It has a main pack and an assault pack. Unfortunately, they cannot be piggybacked, so it's one or the other. No aluminium stays or frame sheet, and no waist belt for either. ALL the weight is thus on your shoulders. On the plus side, the straps are fairly wide, and much better shaped. The main pack is a humongous mother, easily able to fit what you will need. Unfortunately... once loaded, the lack of a waistbelt becomes a REAL pain...The assault pack is pretty decent. It's small enought that you wont be tempted to overload it, yet can hold enough to let you do limited 24 hour patrols etc. I dont have pics of them, but they're out.
Id like to see something similar to the British Personal Role Radio. Intra-section comms is very critical, especially if they are serious about this 3G army and the 'strategic corporal' concept.
Please... a new Section Automatic Weapon. Something that allows a section to provide effective suppressive fire.
When are we going to get a replacement for the venerable Land Rover? The army is in love with the Light Strike Vehicle, and Guards is (justifiably?) proud of them, but the media claims that the Landie is being replaced by a COTS 4x4 off-road vehicle hasn't been borne out yet. A decent general utility 4x4 would be much appreciated.
Hopefully within the (very) near future, the army would issue the PVS-14 NVG to all infantry and Guards units, and to every soldier. The older mini N-SEAS just shift too much on your helmet. The PVS-14 is already issued to *some* units, and I got to use em on ops. Slightly heavier, but much clearer and waaaaay more secure. A fair trade I say.
Of course, all this has a definite Infantry slant... but as the fellow carrying the pointy stick and charging at the ugly nasties, I think some decent kit for Poor Bloody Infantry is in order.
You are using the LBV now? what your comment beside hot? better than our old SBO?Originally posted by Hellraiza:LBV lah dey....load bearing vest...phucking hot wearing that thing...
but looks damn cool! lols
It's a good deal better than the old SBO. Spreads the weight better, can hold alot more, and is considerably more comfortable. For commanders, who have to carry signal sets, maps, compasses, writing materials, and pen flares in addition to the normal load of ammo and stuff, the new webbing is a god-send.Originally posted by MGGUN:You are using the LBV now? what your comment beside hot? better than our old SBO?
Becoz my P. C tried before and he also say very hot....
we got the place for NDP'07 liao wad....since Cmd ARMCEG announced this shld be quite accurate liao....Originally posted by Gordonator:Combat Engineers to win best support unit. Advance and Overcome.![]()
hummers are rubbish...I'd stick to the landrover....but bring in new defender variants...everytime i see the SPF LR and the SAF LR i really shake my head...world of diff...but the landcrusier Prado is good wad....nt a bad choice as a replacementOriginally posted by LazerLordz:COTS 4x4 for a LR replacement is a joke.Can you imagine Landcruisers doing the work?If it's a minivan replacement, okay.
But LRs should be replaced by new LRs or Hummers.
I'd rather have something that can be sent into a mission zone.Prado cannot do so, maybe the 78 TC variant can.http://lc78.toyota.com.au/toyota/vehicle/HomePage/0,4666,1961_702,00.htmlOriginally posted by AE86tofu:hummers are rubbish...I'd stick to the landrover....but bring in new defender variants...everytime i see the SPF LR and the SAF LR i really shake my head...world of diff...but the landcrusier Prado is good wad....nt a bad choice as a replacement
drinks petrol with a fearsome thirst...slow,Big...still off road capabilities lose to LROriginally posted by LazerLordz:I'd rather have something that can be sent into a mission zone.Prado cannot do so, maybe the 78 TC variant can.http://lc78.toyota.com.au/toyota/vehicle/HomePage/0,4666,1961_702,00.html
Hummer is better than any commercial off-road vehicle, IMHO.Care to share your views on what makes it lousy?