Agree with you.Originally posted by wuming78:it is pretty disturbing that recruits nowadays cannot seem to tahan the slightest discomfort. i guess we are all equally guilty - of listening to the complaints and acting on them, thus creating this environment and changing the culture.
being objective-oriented during training is good - training is focused, no time and resources are wasted. however, the larger and more amorphous goals that cannot be objectively measured and thus "trained" hence get lost - those of mental strength, camaraderie, etc. i think that is where we are headed - soldiers who are technically and clinically proficient, and task-oriented, but not necessarily tough as what our collective mental images of soldiers should be. perhaps that mental image itself needs upgrading, and we are all behind time. mabbe gu niangs can be soldiers nowadays because everything else that he gets and has make it up for his gu-niang ness. you know, how wars become more stand-off, like computer games.
just my rant, and it is certainly not directed at anyone in particular. jus expressing my heartfelt thoughts. as i told my friend once, we have and are developing alot of excellent planners, but we not necessarily have the best executers. and that is a shame isnt it?
in a war zone, the enemy is not going to know and care about what kind of training we went through. so if we faint at the slightest insult, then the only way to defeat them really is for them to laugh to their deaths. the japanese respected the chinese as worthy adversaries even though they of course defeated the chinese. will our soldiers ever be considered as such in a real war?
I wont be the only person asking.Originally posted by wuming78:try asking the WHOLE world to disband their armed forces.![]()
i've posted this before here somewhere, but of course, some people won't be able to grasp this concept.Originally posted by shade343:ANd without those people who shout vulgarities. And whats the first step towards a world without War? Disband the armed forces.
Well in a way i will disagree with you on that.Singaporeans will pick up their arms whenever our livelihood is threaten esp. when the time comes.Originally posted by thingy:aiy, serve NS for what... its a know fact that s'pore will lose in any war. the manpower alone is pathetic. the technology.. .. hahaha dun even know what to say
u think all the so called tough ns boys can do anything?? won't be surprised if they're the ones snatching their way on the first plane or boat that leaves this country.
NS is just for deterance... our army is so called showing off that we're not to be played with... also s'pore very good in boot licking, butt kissing their way up big nations so we can hide behind their backside and be protected.
that's life for u... that's why we have to hire other foreigners, paid soldiers to defend our country, cos they can die doing it.....
s'poreans? nahhhhh....
Can u imagine ur Sir or sergeant saying, 'Recruits, PLEASE pump 20?'Originally posted by shade343:The world will be a much nicer place without those people who shout vulgarities.
Yah. Why not? I would respect such people greater.Originally posted by nanren4ever:Can u imagine ur Sir or sergeant saying, 'Recruits, PLEASE pump 20?'
mm... maybe the previous generation baOriginally posted by FX_82:Well in a way i will disagree with you on that.Singaporeans will pick up their arms whenever our livelihood is threaten esp. when the time comes.
Recruits, PLEASE pump 20.. don't make my job hard leh...Originally posted by nanren4ever:Can u imagine ur Sir or sergeant saying, 'Recruits, PLEASE pump 20?'
its a military camp, nt a pri or sec sch...Originally posted by shade343:Yah. Why not? I would respect such people greater.
i agree...Originally posted by sgFish:as they say in latin...
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
(When catapults are outlawed, only outlaws will have catapults)
if the world disbands its armed forces on the pretext of having war, just a small group of dissidents who do not like the system can easily cause mass havoc. Armed forces are neccessary to preserve stability and peace, however paradoxical it may seem.
If like that might as well dun pump la.Originally posted by thingy:Recruits, PLEASE pump 20.. don't make my job hard leh...
come pump 20 and u can have xtra bowl of soup later... break 5 mins longer
ok? come lah... don't like that....
*recruits all sitting down acting ignorant
Only a commando BMT and here you are bitching and whining.Originally posted by Acerguy_007:i was enlisted few days ago on 6th Jan at Pasir Ris camp, guess life isn't nice there at all sian Zzz To pass out from commando bmt must pass IPPT SOC Individual fieldcraft test and Range shooting test. IPPT categorisation test i almost reaching gold le just need to bring down my 2.4k timing by 20 seconds to 9 14 but what the hell is individual fieldcraft test??? is it tough? Officers there are damn damn strict and ill disciplined i should say because they keep scolding vulgarities and every single little thing we do must shout COMMANDO! so ridiculous haha..I really need advices from you people on how to pull through commando BMT .Everyday kenna shout by those officers morale also low man Zzz
please, commando BMT is not tekong BMT. You are training to be commando ok? last time used to be much worse, they can make you "everything out of your cupboard", "everything in" for half a day, or make u "duffle bag overhead". Nowdays commando training has toned down alot already because of all the training safety regulation. The idea of all these verbal harassing is just to make you strong, not to become a weakling that whines at everything. That is wat commando training is all about...to make you think that nothing is impossible, and let u redefine where your limit really is...i stil remember my officer's fav line "Can be done understand??"Originally posted by Acerguy_007:i was enlisted few days ago on 6th Jan at Pasir Ris camp, guess life isn't nice there at all sian Zzz To pass out from commando bmt must pass IPPT SOC Individual fieldcraft test and Range shooting test. IPPT categorisation test i almost reaching gold le just need to bring down my 2.4k timing by 20 seconds to 9 14 but what the hell is individual fieldcraft test??? is it tough? Officers there are damn damn strict and ill disciplined i should say because they keep scolding vulgarities and every single little thing we do must shout COMMANDO! so ridiculous haha..I really need advices from you people on how to pull through commando BMT .Everyday kenna shout by those officers morale also low man Zzz
Yeah. Guess the degree of toughness varies and you somehow fell into the more extreme vocation. Aniway..to a person who is tough, tough training would be moderate but to someone who is not....moderate training will be hell. So just have to adapt i guess.. And shouting...hmm..kinda hated it too when pple shout at me. But after some time when u understand the culture and the purpose of them doing that..i guess it will shed some light...But ill discpline wise..matter of individual bah...Originally posted by enginboi:please, commando BMT is not tekong BMT. You are training to be commando ok? last time used to be much worse, they can make you "everything out of your cupboard", "everything in" for half a day, or make u "duffle bag overhead". Nowdays commando training has toned down alot already because of all the training safety regulation. The idea of all these verbal harassing is just to make you strong, not to become a weakling that whines at everything. That is wat commando training is all about...to make you think that nothing is impossible, and let u redefine where your limit really is...i stil remember my officer's fav line "Can be done understand??"
Anyway, shouting "commando" is to instil into you a sense of belonging to this elite organisation. But of cos u have to earn the qualification to be there. And after u get your red beret you will definitely feel so proud to be part of commando. Imagine whenever you step into any camp with your red beret on, i can bet all heads will turn to look at you, just because everyone knows what it takes to done that red beret. So if u think shouting "commando" is stupid? please get out of there, u dun deserve to be there