Yeah true... depends on Base requirements... if many of the ROD RPs going off, they will pick from regular recruits.. I was formerly going to MP school.. but kena picked to RP in airbase... quite okie la.. but...Originally posted by Ponders:not really lah
depends on intake.
Most are ppl who expressed disinterest in being a commander.
but some intake, a substantial number will go RP.
i know that air base RP are definitely combat fit, cuz air base is very different from normal camps. but i heard normal RP (in those ulu camps) are usually downgraded personel. true?Originally posted by jchantw:Yeah true... depends on Base requirements... if many of the ROD RPs going off, they will pick from regular recruits.. I was formerly going to MP school.. but kena picked to RP in airbase... quite okie la.. but...
As RP in airbase, still got light infantry/combat training.. but cheong sua only within airbase.. this is our ops area ma.. so must know the area like the back of our hand...
Mostly guard duties lor.. plus field training in training days.. also, we are not downgraded troopers la.. most of us were PES A. IPPT many gold winners too...
wads BTCOriginally posted by Luc85:most of them are BTC one leh... those army camps i went to..
my bmt buddy is nw an air base rp...Originally posted by lousyboiboi:i know that air base RP are definitely combat fit, cuz air base is very different from normal camps. but i heard normal RP (in those ulu camps) are usually downgraded personel. true?
air base rp are normally called FDS, stands for field defence squadron.Originally posted by lousyboiboi:i know that air base RP are definitely combat fit, cuz air base is very different from normal camps. but i heard normal RP (in those ulu camps) are usually downgraded personel. true?
RPs usually knows everyone in the camp, cos everyday see them book in book out.Originally posted by gnoik:RPs got strong legs due to standing for so long!!
But now everyday rain so they got to stand in the rain...![]()
but everybody knows ... if you need some shit done, just go to the nearest lao chik you're gam with ... and he'll squeeze a few RP's balls to get it done for you ...Originally posted by dragg:not true.
FDS is ' bao shan bao hai ' (cover mountain cover sea), any sh!t also must doOriginally posted by Ponders:In FDS.
RPs are asked to chase birds away. haha
SUpposed to be fms's job.
Ha ha ha... yeah true.. sometimes..Originally posted by Zooish:FDS is ' bao shan bao hai ' (cover mountain cover sea), any sh!t also must do
FDS = Forever Doing Sai kang
If I'm not wrong, there's no more mono intakes for FDS. The course for RSAF RPs is 3 months, excluding BMT.Originally posted by jchantw:Ha ha ha... yeah true.. sometimes..
RPs in airbase pull guard duty, and on off-days do infantry training...
Bec in conflict time, we are ground troops for airbase..guard duty only part time job..Got to remember base CO car no. etc bec if forgot to salute or stop his car
, then siao liao... sure sign extra!! ha ha ha!!
Sai Kang got la... move stuff here and there, guard of honor, gardening!, traffic control etc... but now mono intake training is 3 mths bec they direct recruited to airbase during recruit trg.. last time is after BMT, then trg is 2 weeks la...
RP life sianz la...
Originally posted by off_service:Oh... now RP course so siong one meh?? got what to learn for 3 months AFTER BMT? Looks like RSAF RPs now becoming half trained "commandos" liao..... Hee Hee...
If I'm not wrong, there's no more mono intakes for FDS. The course for RSAF RPs is 3 months, [b]excluding BMT.[/b]
Originally posted by jchantw:Basically is similar to BMT. Except that the course touches more on military laws and section weapons.
Oh... now RP course so siong one meh?? got what to learn for 3 months [b]AFTER BMT? Looks like RSAF RPs now becoming half trained "commandos" liao..... Hee Hee...Still cheong the same sua in the same ops area la..
Anyway, after their training, still back to guarding the gates la...sianz.... [/b]
Yeah we all carry m16s... also not senang la... bec stand under hot sun and rain.. the damn ol poncho is also thick and hot.. salute up and down hand also tired..Originally posted by Hellraiza:A regimental policeman is considered a combat vocation, hence only PES A/B are selected. But i have heard of a few downgraded RPs, drawing combat pay also...
Fatum i don't know which era of soldiers you're from but RPs now DO carry arms. It's one of the army's most under-rated vocations lah. Looks senang but in fact it's a mind-numbing job. Heard my dad say the RPs of the past had the power equivalent to today's MPs...too bad the RPs now are relegated to security guard status.