combat unit RPs most will use SAR21. support unit RPs definately uses M16. Only sentry carry rifle, Gate IC, Desk IC don't carry rifle. get it?Originally posted by gnoik:Why some RPs carry M16, while some carry SAR21 and some dun even carry at all?
No la... desk IC also draw arms... when not enuf people to do duty, he also must help out what... Gate IC take turns with sentry, so also need to draw arms for other duties...Originally posted by Gordonator:combat unit RPs most will use SAR21. support unit RPs definately uses M16. Only sentry carry rifle, Gate IC, Desk IC don't carry rifle. get it?![]()
I always let my men sleep at night, and do the 1am - 6am shift as Guard Comd.Not fair to the guys, they have to prowl and do sentry in the day, it's only fair that me and G2IC do the night desk duty.Originally posted by jchantw:No la... desk IC also draw arms... when not enuf people to do duty, he also must help out what... Gate IC take turns with sentry, so also need to draw arms for other duties...
Only person no need to draw are the NCOs ( who dun do duty, only plan.. damn lobos!) and the duty PC, who just sleep the whole day... at night they get bored they come and disturb the men by activating intruder drill la... shit as& Hol*s... we no need to sleep liao when kena intruder drill.. like game to them when we run ard la... haiz.... 1 more reservist to go!
total prowling distance is 4km. just the distance from the starting of Range Road to the gate the of Range and back alone is 2km. and that is just 1 prowling point.Originally posted by wuming78:i quite respect RPs - they have to work odd hours, shift hours, day and night. and they have to prowl the entire camp! at nee soon, i really cannot imagine them having to prowl the entire camp - the size of the camp, not to mention the slopes, can really kill man!
but at the same time, i do notice that RPs when conducting prowling may tend to be slack - they simply rush through the entire tour. that about defeats the purpose rite?
Guys, ever wonder why they use the term prowling?Originally posted by Gordonator:total prowling distance is 4km. just the distance from the starting of Range Road to the gate the of Range and back alone is 2km. and that is just 1 prowling point.
the RPs are very slack when it comes to prowling, the good-for-nothing ones will either draw their rifles and hide in the lockers and hide somewhere or simply don't go at all.
the rest who are responsible will go for the prowl, but usually walking at normal speed, within 1 hr is all u need. faster i've seen is 30 to 45 mins. assumming u know all those short cuts.![]()
Wah, not scared that the RSMs will show pattern ah?Originally posted by Gordonator:the RPs are very slack when it comes to prowling, the good-for-nothing ones will either draw their rifles and hide in the lockers and hide somewhere or simply don't go at all.
power lah your RSM. paste paper on the fence.Originally posted by Zooish:Wah, not scared that the RSMs will show pattern ah?
The RSM at my base will paste a piece of paper on the fence with the words "hole in the fence" once in a while. If the prowlers fail to report it, they will kena.
Can't beat a 2WO from 6DISCOM. He makes the GOM look thin.Originally posted by Gordonator:power lah your RSM. paste paper on the fence.
the CSM in charge of the RPs i mentioned is one slacker himself. his men are all exploiting the loop holes in his system and taking advantage of it.
and he 8 to 6 lah. the person in charge of ensuring the guards do their duty including prowling is the duty officers, consisting of junior commission officers, enciks and SSG/MSG.
got 1 particular SSG from the old DETC, super garang, can talk about the guard duty standing order to the guardcom/2IC for hours.![]()
eh, i used to think so too... but during my last DO duty, my guards spotted/caught a illegal workerin my camp!!Originally posted by gnoik:I tink guard duty very bo liao.
Who will in the rite mind to sneak into a camp?![]()
Man.I only had guards telling me they found spiders at the STK central workshop.Originally posted by Gordonator:long time ago in my camp, prowlers found a dead construction worker.![]()
Yeah, we're into this whole lot of crap & more....Originally posted by LazerLordz:And yes, FDS RPs are full-fledged combat troopers, with infantry and MG training, plus the base protection training.