YOU watch your words. Or do u want me to copy and paste what u wrote in your blog here?Originally posted by huaqing:watch your words...
I think it will be good for u to say these after u have serve the army,b4 i was enlisted,i have quite similar mindset,after serving hahaa what a joke,even after ord my studies and exams are still affected,and very realistic loh,after ord,the CPF straight away send me repayment bills for my poly fees and the interest was accumulated durning i was serving NS HaHa how am i suppose to earn enough to pay for my poly fees durning NS, what a joke Man!!Originally posted by huaqing:defending singapore is the responsibility of men
we cannot depend on foreigners, eg. The british to defend singapore for us, for the history of singapore tells us so
so the ppl of singapore has to defend their homeland
but we cannot possible let women and old ppl defend rite?
therefore it is such an honourable responsibility for men to defend singapore
i understand the tough training (although i am not in NS but in NCC), but it is necessary.
in singapore some ppl dun wan go army or NS, whereas in China ppl would fight for a place in the army. such a great difference.
every male citizen should understand the importance of NS, and that it is not a waste of time of two years.
those who are trying to escape from NS, think about it again.
if everyone wants to escape from ns, then who will defend singapore?
cheers
one camp is not even local .. what a joke.Originally posted by wuming78:if this thread is going to degenerate into yet another of those flame wars between the two camps (i wonder how it is always so clearly black and white and never shades of grey...), i (and im sure the other mods too) will have to close it.
If you realize .. there're regulars who fill the critical roles .. like pilots and navy ships.Originally posted by huaqing:but the main point is that is no one go NS den ppl can anyhow attack singapore easily...
That's why we're trying to tell him that it's not his place to be commenting about such things in the first place.Originally posted by depressed:go easy on huaqing lah
his only 14
maybe when he comes out to work he will realise things are not that simple as he make it out to be
No need to close. Just edit posts and request to ban the two most quarrelsome parties.Originally posted by wuming78:if this thread is going to degenerate into yet another of those flame wars between the two camps (i wonder how it is always so clearly black and white and never shades of grey...), i (and im sure the other mods too) will have to close it.
Originally posted by Hippo69:I think the argument on the need of NS being served in Singapore will never end in the near future. As much as we know the importance of National Security, we will still stop to ponder if NS is really necessary.
Before going into NS, my peers have already gone through the BMT. Well I belong to the Poly batch and my Sec Sch friends who chose the JC route, have already been enlisted. So the weekends when we meet, I felt lost when the conversation wanders into the days they spent outfield or range. Amongst the "KPKB" about their officers and enciks, I could see some kind of bonding among them. They have a common topic.
Then when its my turn to go into NS, I experienced all the things I have heard from them. But definitely, when we are going through it, it was like hell. How I wish I could fast forward the time while I was in NS.
Then stepping onto the working life, when good friends meet, more often than not, we start to talk about the days when we were "Tekan-ed". Most of us, I guess, will have a good laugh. Despite the difference in years amongst the guys, we often can relate to the same shit, different day.
I also agreed cause I also Spore PR served 2.5 year of NS as a clerk.
I rememebered an uncle telling me, NS will make us more MAN and more resposible in our undertaking. This is coming from one who gone through the Mono-Intake. I tend to believe so.
One of my first job in the society was to be posted overseas. And there I was in my mid twenties, feeling really great about being so young and able to work overseas. There I met several Singaporeans who are at least about 32 before they get the chance to be posted overseas. Truly I feel kinda exclusive.
But soon I began to know some Malaysians who are SPR. Younger than me but have already been overseas 3 years ago. Upon completion of their Diploma, they went on to accept posting overseas. They are from the electronics line and to be frank, when they had graduated, that was the IN thing.
Meaning that, usually many of us will take a course that will be very in demand in the market. Then at Diploma level, we chose the path. Yet upon completion of our diploma studies, we proceed to NS. Anything can happen within that 2.5 years (for now 2 years), will we get a job then?
I rememebered my friend who was in IT, and by the time he completed his NS, all the technology had moved to a distance that was beyond sight. To get a job, he had to take up several night classes to keep up.
After 3 years, I am still an engineer whereas the Malaysians/SPR (who are no liable for NS) are already regional managers or even technical managers given the fact they have double my experience!
I do know there are people who are high flyers and can achieve better. But out of the many Singaporeans, how many have such determination? I am being frank here as if we do show talent while we are young, we would be some scholars for some GLC and not wasting time replying to the forum here.
In summary, my view is that NS should go on but maybe we could adjust the time we enter NS. For example after O Levels then we go into NS. Then those who prefer Diploma, can proceed. Those who can make it for Uni, they can go for the JC. I believe JC can be compressed into a year. Some universities abroad have 1 year Pre course before they began their Uni studies. Then we all have an equal chance. Hopefully.
Lastly, I think NS should be a MUST for SPR too and not optional for first generation. If not, we will see a dwindling number of Singaporeans. Then really no one will shed a tear for Singapore then.
Don't test my patience.You have not served, and you have not been through military service, so I will remind you to know your place and not inflame anyone unnecessarily.These people here are soldiers, citizens and professionals, some are even family men.Don't presume to talk for them and threaten them with some innuendo.Originally posted by huaqing:watch your words...
It is already possible. You can enlist at 16 years of age. Remember the exit permit business?Originally posted by Hippo69:In summary, my view is that NS should go on but maybe we could adjust the time we enter NS. For example after O Levels then we go into NS. Then those who prefer Diploma, can proceed. Those who can make it for Uni, they can go for the JC. I believe JC can be compressed into a year. Some universities abroad have 1 year Pre course before they began their Uni studies. Then we all have an equal chance. Hopefully.
Originally posted by LazerLordz:cool down .. da4 ren2 bu4 ji4 xiao3 ren2 guo4.
[b]Don't test my patience.You have not served, and you have not been through military service, so I will remind you to know your place and not inflame anyone unnecessarily.These people here are soldiers, citizens and professionals, some are even family men.Don't presume to talk for them and threaten them with some innuendo.
Anymore unjustified nonsense will result in post deletion.[/b]
Ya.. But make it compulsory lahz.. If not 16 year old will be quite scary if your peers are like 3 years older. Hahahaha...Originally posted by Icemoon:It is already possible. You can enlist at 16 years of age. Remember the exit permit business?
oh...Originally posted by Ito_^:there is the saf, look, you really think those ns man can fight in a war arh. please lor. wayang only. waste of time and money.
Originally posted by LazerLordz:and this is?
[b]Don't test my patience.You have not served, and you have not been through military service, so I will remind you to know your place and not inflame anyone unnecessarily.These people here are soldiers, citizens and professionals, some are even family men.Don't presume to talk for them and threaten them with some innuendo.
Anymore unjustified nonsense will result in post deletion.[/b]
what do u think?Originally posted by Icemoon:does huaqing understand the hanyu pinyin?![]()
Originally posted by lwflee:erm NCC is not a armed force...
****. Wanker. The NCC of today is a bloody joke. The sgts do not even have the power and authority to get their men to STFU. Bloody useless puss[b]es.
NS is not a 2 year thing. It spans many years. That is the problem. It affects our careers, our prospects. It ties us to this country. It is a huge embuggerance.
You are obviously trying to wind us up, seeing as you have made similar posts on other threads.
- edited for (a little) civility, moderation and spelling. -
Originally posted by equlus84:Hmmmm..... Huaqing...
For once, u need to do some reality check on the issue of Chinese ppls dying to serve in the PLA......... Firstly, let me explain why so many ppls here are letting out these negative comment abt the NS, which has seem to amaze u abt why ppls are reluctant to do NS. To u, it may seem tat Singaporean are not Patriotic or sense of belonging.
First of all, I have completed my NS 2 yr terms in one of the Guards battalion. So I can more or less explain the sentiments faced by some of the ppls here who have done NS alreadi.
Firstly, to let u the truth, the pay one gets during his NSF and NS term is veri MISERABLE. Of course, if u believe 100% into wat the Govt say, " increase welfare and pay",...... then, I realli hope u can go in and have a first hand experience. The pay, we receive do not realistically reflect the true market rate outside. This is also true for the regulars. I once heard my 2nd sgt back during my NSF days commenting that the pay he receive could hardly sustain him his wife and two kids. He still needs to pay for his three room flat, CPF, Electrical and water bills and his Children education. After paying all those, he hardly have any savings left. Another reason is when this regulars get old and must retire, they find difficulty getting jobs outside in the REAL world. Unless u are those lucky handful that eventually become consultants in ST Engg, or become OM of Schools...... most of those lao cik have difficulty getting employed bcos they are in the army too long and have been totally detached from the workforce. They may not have relevant skills like IT, Marketing, management which is going to be a hinder for them. More-over, companies are looking for leadership roles or skills in coporate rather than ur army skills!!
Secondly, is the general attitude ppl around us, and the general picture, impression of ppl in Green. Unlike in China, which the ppls see their troops as an icon or a poster-boy, something ppls look forward to with pride..... we do not have this in Singapore. To tell u the truth, most ppls around the world join the armed forces due to the Iron rice bowl, and lack of relevant marketable job skills, I believe this is true for China. Most ppls in the forces, especially the NCOs sign on bcos of their low education level and they cannot get employed. In China, most of the senior leaders in the CCP, also hold military titles or appointments. Furthermore, there are many 'propaganda' movies aired on TV in China, potraying their troops in a veri postive manner, some wat like a prima dona. Also, it is a common knowledge that if one serves in the armed forces in China, it opens up a window of opportunities for them. From wat I know from my PRC classmates, getting into the forces is like having a Uni cert in Singapore. In China, if u serve in the forces, even if u are an NCO or u are on a short term contract, the chances of u getting employed and getting a better job in the Government owned enterprise is very high. Besides, u will also receive lots of subsidies and incentives, which is something u will never get in Singapore.
Thus with this in view, one could understand why China ppls are dying to get a place in the PLA.
you have to be responsible for what you write dude .. censorship or not.Originally posted by huaqing:and this is?
censorship..........................
I think many servicemen went thru BMT n had a tough time. Those neverOriginally posted by huaqing:ok i apologize to u if my post on responsibility of male citizens to defend singapore if it hurts ur feelings.
basically i read that from Lianhe Zaobao and that is what, MOE says...
cool down...take it easy.
maybe they should increase the NS men' pay
I'm the furthest thing from censorship, because I always give fair warning.Originally posted by huaqing:and this is?
censorship..........................
u need to learn not to believe everything u read or hear from the newspapers n MOE. whats the point of being a robot without capacity for independent thought? Thats how yr sch teach u to think har? If so I guess I can see how much they have fallen from grace since the mid 90s.Originally posted by huaqing:ok i apologize to u if my post on responsibility of male citizens to defend singapore if it hurts ur feelings.
ok i apologize to u if my post on responsibility of male citizens to defend singapore if it hurts ur feelings.gasp! you actually believe the 140th?