First day- 8km route march to a rubber plantation. Set up bashars, do some pushups and crunches, dismantle bashars, do some more pushups and crunches and set up bashars again -_- then rain poured and we ate combat rations in the rain.... Had IFC lessons...many many lessons...in the rain..damn sian!!! dinner in the rain also ack!!
second day- the whole company late for fall in. massive tekhaning all over. cant blame us though! first time wake up in outfield...a lot of confusion
then 5bx, breakfast and many IFC lessons. Had some contact drills. Morale dropped to low levels when it started pouring just before last light...most of our lousy bashars couldn't hold up well in the rain. Mine was ok though
third day- Woke up early to pack up to march 6km to oil palm plantation. Some tekhaning. The route march was like hell cos most of us had almost no sleep in the previous night. Morale low until we reached the oil palm. Pitched the bashars quickly and dugged the drainage. Had fire and movement lessons and practices. Fired blanks for the first time!
fourth day- super tekhan day for my platoon! leopard crawl on the cheebye gravel..machiam crawling on iron nails. pushups and crunches. had turnout, inspection of FBO. many many pushups all around. afternoon- technical halt! showered with WATER briefly!!!! cleaned rifles and cooked. I did guard duty ...quite exciting. Cos all the commanders plus the medic and clerks took part in rifle stealing. Us guard duty guys stopped many but they had the camp password so we lan lan let them steal lor.
firth day- what else? tekhan day cos some lost their rifles lor. all the platoons being tekhan all over the camp site...funny sia. "ONe sir two sir three sir"
"one two three four two two.." "1 MINUTE TO PUT DOWN YOUR WEBBING AND HELMET AT THE BASHARS AND RUN BACK"
Much leopard crawling all round then had fire and movement practice and test.
6th day- Packed up and marched to reclaimed land. Digged shellscrapes and foxhole. KNN!!! tiring sia. Took about 2 hours to dig our individual shellscrapes and 3 hours for the whole section to dig the foxhole..i think. Damn sian cos of the rain. Blistering with sand sweat and camou cream all over
Morale at lowest point. After dinner had a turnout in the dark. TMD.
Just as we thought all was fucked suddenly ALL The field camp companies were transported to SISPEC by tonners to stay for the night. We changed to dry clothes and powdered bath and slept on the dry floor
Apparently the CO decided to give us a bit of welfare lol. Cos all the shellscrapes all flooded and insects prowling all over the ground. Remembered a nearly 6 inch long mantis and an equally long red centipede. WAAHHHHA!
7th day- Covered up the dug up ground. Had arty drill and we lost about 10 casualties = more work for the rest of us!!! Fucking rained again. Went BIC ground...just as it reached my platoon's turn it fucking cat-1ed!!!! waited for 1+ hours there before doing the BIC...took less than 10 minutes. zzz
after that take tonner back to camp to shower and pack and CLEAN RIFLE!!
overall: quite a good experience, lah. but the rain ruined many things. out of the 7 days, i think it rained on 5 days. rain really really loweres morale. fire and movement drills are fun...even in the rain. i think field camp not tough actually....should be a bit more hoing. if not for the rain field camp really like schoolboys camp.
combat rations: the lunch and dinner mostly CMI lah...i know many of u lao jiaos will say we pampered haha. well the rice is edible lah...peraknakan style and chilli flake gluttinious rice not bad. the noodles all totally CMI except pasta bolognnaise. the noodles make one nauseous. The accessory pack...not bad lah...but the proportion a bit fucked. The biscuits give us too much that we cant finish but the tuna and ribena pack not enuff
all in all Im just glad to be back home. Tough times dont last tough men do!
ahahaha just one more thing to share. i remember near on the 5th and 6th days. The rain really fucked up. We all drowsy lethargic, covered in mud and sweat and cold. All of us started stoning. Once dismissed we stood in the same position without moving...just in a daze. Hilarious. Especially at night. Once standing, dont feel like sitting. Once sitting, dont feel like standing.