lol i am also wondering if now recruit have to go do natural camoflage or not.Originally posted by cairocks:Ready made camo net no good meh....
Haiz...We old soldiers last time where got such luxury....Still remember BMT camo lesson, blur blur use CB leave to camo, kenna tekan. Pull lalang for camo, hand kenna cut. Made to jump, do push ups, if cammo drop off, tekan again. Top of helmet exposed, Another round of shit....
But in reservist, when issued camo net, dunno how to attached, have to ask new birds to help . Hahaha, Malu again![]()
Which guards are you?Originally posted by insouciant:erhhh... I do believe most of the COMBAT units use the camo net with the plastic "leaf" already attached (I wonder who actually does the tying? Cheap labour in Batam?).
Well, at least I know my active unit (gaurds) used it. And now reservist unit uses it.
ya, correct, i totally forget about the helicopter part.Originally posted by equlus84:Hmmm........My NSF Guards dun use it, as I think it is a hazard when u board helicopters as it risk coming out and suck into the rotor. But, according to my RSM, the cammo net was introduced instead of the camou smock, as it is give the SAF soldier a more "garang" appearance.![]()
May I know whats a camou smock?Originally posted by Ponders:ya, correct, i totally forget about the helicopter part.
actually i think it is RSAF who doesn't allow the net.
instead... 3GDS now issued with camou smock.
So now all units officially can use this or not? I'm thinking of getting one to fit on my helmets.Originally posted by decepticon25:its a cloth with a camouflage pattern design to fit a helmet like the US soldier's helmets.. its not standard issue though
something like this.Originally posted by decepticon25:its a cloth with a camouflage pattern design to fit a helmet like the US soldier's helmets.. its not standard issue though

The hazard for heli ops thing, I think its just either RSM, or Air Force side playing safe. For your reservist training, I think they are just too sian being too picky to ask you NSman doing things. haha.Originally posted by bcoy:Just wondering - since when has the helmet camo netting become a hazard for heli ops? I never heard of such a problem during my NS or reservist training for heli ops.
The camo net is used to breakup the shape of the helmet. And I don't agree with the US style cloth cover for helmets. It does not break up the shape of the round helmet, which is basic knowledge to any army around the world.
Israel has these funny netting which is suppose to flatten the shape of the helmet against the ground - too bad they look like circus clowns.
Maybe its all the really old bird units that used it lah. Dunno about the new units. But when I go to reservists, I still see it being sold in the e-mart, I would assume some units still use it then.Originally posted by Ponders:Which guards are you?
My 3 Guards don't use leh.
Must be really cock to have these safety regulations. Totally KS and unrealistic. But again, I've never encounted such a thing.Originally posted by Ponders:The hazard for heli ops thing, I think its just either RSM, or Air Force side playing safe. For your reservist training, I think they are just too sian being too picky to ask you NSman doing things. haha.
Because for my heliops, it went to the extent of no ID tags, nothing in pockets, no additional pouches on SBO, black bands on helmet removed. But spectacles allowed haha.
US Helmet smock at least got slits for them to insert grass or natural camou when needed. Singapore one doesn't.
AFAIK, there is no Army-wide standard of helmet camouflaging . Battalions got their own discretion on their helmet.
I dunno any SIR who uses camou net.
SAR i know some uses.
That's what I am thinking too. Sounds like if they can, they would rather have the them run up stark naked to the planes, with their private parts securely super gluedOriginally posted by bcoy:Must be really cock to have these safety regulations. Totally KS and unrealistic. But again, I've never encounted such a thing.
As for helmet netting - I've always assumed its standard - almost all other units I've come across use the netting. During NS, we made made our own netting, during our reservist training - we use the common commercial netting from day 1. I still have my helmet with the camo netting after 13 ICTs.
Deh! Must remember to shave ur lil bro too. Ur bro's hair might kena sucked up into somewhere sensitive and crash the chopper toO!Originally posted by cairocks:That's what I am thinking too. Sounds like if they can, they would rather have the them run up stark naked to the planes, with their private parts securely super glued![]()
actually cannot trim lah. those BMTC sergeants just taking easy way out.Originally posted by decepticon25:i hate wearing the netting on the helmet, especially if the netting is new, the stuff will block your vision and you have to "trim' it a bit. For those who had it since BMT it would turn brown/yellow due to water soaking it up.