When i was with the Army Shooting Contingent last time we compete with them in mens pistol competition.Originally posted by trueno86:What you guys think of this group of troopers in Singapore Prisons?
You can't compare SPEAR to police. SPEAR is prison's elite unit. If you wanna compare to police, you should compare to their elite unit i.e. STAR. And AFAIK STAR does not use revolvers. Its a semi-auto though I don't know which model.Originally posted by Ponders:I am actually quite surprised with SPEAR's equipment...
they seem well-funded.
1) S&W pistol (when police are revolvers)
2) Surefire (looks like M3 model) with holster.
3) telescopic baton
I don't understand why SPEAR needs firepower. Because in US, introducing firepower in a prison situation will be the last resort since any firewpower involved would be risked falling into the wrong hands.
So they will train most of the time? What's the age limit for SPEAR? Can't seem to find the info on their web. Paiseh to call and ask too.Originally posted by sgf:You can't compare SPEAR to police. SPEAR is prison's elite unit. If you wanna compare to police, you should compare to their elite unit i.e. STAR. And AFAIK STAR does not use revolvers. Its a semi-auto though I don't know which model.
SPEAR is called in only when there's hostage situation, prison riots or attempted prison breaks which is damn rare in S'pore. The other function of SPEAR is escort of high risk prisoners to court for sentencing or hospital for treatment. SPEAR does not go around patrolling the prisons.
FYI prison wardens do NOT carry firearms. They have an extendable T-baton similar to what police are using. Don't know if they have any thing else like tasers or mace though.
And from what I heard, they have moles amongst the prisoners who act as eyes & ears who report any possible plans of prison break or uprising.
If the situation gets out of hand, that's when SPEAR gets called in. And not forgetting the watch towers at Changi are manned by Gurkha snipers.
Ya, this pepper spray training is a standard training for North American Police.Originally posted by chunyong:SPEAR ah....pepperspray, u have to ganna spray urself and then u will see how a simple bucket of water is so important to u after dat. other details i not saying cos wait i ganan whisked away tonight ah
Originally posted by sgf:You can't compare SPEAR to police. SPEAR is prison's elite unit. If you wanna compare to police, you should compare to their elite unit i.e. STAR. And AFAIK STAR does not use revolvers. Its a semi-auto though I don't know which model.
SPEAR is called in only when there's hostage situation, prison riots or attempted prison breaks which is damn rare in S'pore. The other function of SPEAR is escort of high risk prisoners to court for sentencing or hospital for treatment. SPEAR does not go around patrolling the prisons.
FYI prison wardens do NOT carry firearms. They have an extendable T-baton similar to what police are using. Don't know if they have any thing else like tasers or mace though.
And from what I heard, they have moles amongst the prisoners who act as eyes & ears who report any possible plans of prison break or uprising.
If the situation gets out of hand, that's when SPEAR gets called in. And not forgetting the watch towers at Changi are manned by Gurkha snipers.
I would think they train most of the time since fortunately the prison scene isn't too chaotic. No idea about age limit. Wat so paiseh to ask about? They don't even know your name wat.Originally posted by trueno86:So they will train most of the time? What's the age limit for SPEAR? Can't seem to find the info on their web. Paiseh to call and ask too.
Shot guns way up on watch towers definitely don't make sense esp if they're using buck shots. The range isn't fantastic plus when the bearing spread out, you'll probably end up injuring not just the escaping convict but probably his pursuing officers too. Its probably some older model sniper rifle 'cos I doubt they need the firepower of say that latest sniper rifle SAF just acquired.Originally posted by Ponders:Ya, makes more sense now, made the mistake of comparing SPEAR with normal police.
STAR uses Browning HP. Dunno if they have changed it.
The prision Gurkhas are snipers? from the bottom of tower they seem to be carrying shot guns. haha. but then i never dare to stay long enough to actually check out the gun.
But shot guns on towers won't make sense, so you may be right.
go SPEAR for wat...no future one...go there u stuck there liao...henta kaki there...wats the pointOriginally posted by sgf:I would think they train most of the time since fortunately the prison scene isn't too chaotic. No idea about age limit. Wat so paiseh to ask about? They don't even know your name wat.
Whether you are stuck depends on the individual. If you are outstanding & reach a certain rank, you can get posted to other departments within prisons. There's no standing order that 'cos you join SPEAR means you are there for good. Just like when army regulars sign on, there's no rule which says they are stuck at that vocation & that unit forever.Originally posted by chunyong:go SPEAR for wat...no future one...go there u stuck there liao...henta kaki there...wats the point
post in to Elite units easy, post out hard...is like dat one. Army different thing altogether lah.Originally posted by sgf:Whether you are stuck depends on the individual. If you are outstanding & reach a certain rank, you can get posted to other departments within prisons. There's no standing order that 'cos you join SPEAR means you are there for good. Just like when army regulars sign on, there's no rule which says they are stuck at that vocation & that unit forever.
You think SAF & SCDF don't have ppl who henta kaki meh?
And why is it different? Aren't there ppl from CDO & Guards getting posted out?Originally posted by chunyong:post in to Elite units easy, post out hard...is like dat one. Army different thing altogether lah.
Think it's a matter of whether you go for the ladder or you go for the self fulfillment. I once gave up a really well paid job in a really reputable MNC cos I didn't enjoy doing it. Best can get a job which can substain a decent living, a little sense of pride, enjoy keeping fit and still got time for family. IMO lah.Originally posted by chunyong:go SPEAR for wat...no future one...go there u stuck there liao...henta kaki there...wats the point
Spear logo got wings right? Airborne trained?Originally posted by sgf:Police has STAR, Prisons has SPEAR. Can see them from a mile away. Prison officers normaly wear caps, these guys wear berets & behind the Prisons crest is a red backing. Oh & there's that cool looking SPEAR logo above their left b-r-e-a-s-t pocket too.
I doubt it. Don't see why prison officers need to parachute out of a C130. Probably trained in heli-rappelling though.Originally posted by trueno86:Spear logo got wings right? Airborne trained?
Which criminal highly dangerous?? Osama?Originally posted by Eiizumi:Obviously, SPEAR escort highly dangerous criminals.
If I am not wron it is Singapore Prisons Escort Arm.. Something.