Sing, residents KPKB.Originally posted by Gordonator:3rd guards recruits, u know what to do now right?
LOL!Originally posted by LazerLordz:Sing, residents KPKB.
Don't sing, sergeants KPKB.
Oh boy.What to do..what to do..
no lah. i have to agree with the guy. i'm pretty sure got other place to traina nd other stuff. even if dun have also if late at night inresidential or places with pple, they can always not sing and keep the volume down. from my experience its not like the soldiers cannot march or run without singing. the singing is extra one.Originally posted by Hellraiza:LOL!
But seriously that person who wrote in is really....dunno what to say. Sigh. Singaporeans take NS and the defence of our country for granted.
well for one,singing is actually to help the trainees forget about their fatigue as much as possible.It is also to help in training up the lung muscles so that the general stamina of the soldiers are betterOriginally posted by hisoka:no lah. i have to agree with the guy. i'm pretty sure got other place to traina nd other stuff. even if dun have also if late at night inresidential or places with pple, they can always not sing and keep the volume down. from my experience its not like the soldiers cannot march or run without singing. the singing is extra one.
i always foudn it a bother and unnessary personally truth be told.Originally posted by Aveme:well for one,singing is actually to help the trainees forget about their fatigue as much as possible.It is also to help in training up the lung muscles so that the general stamina of the soldiers are better
no lah the stamina and fatigue part makes sense if you think of it. the problem is it doesn't work on all, for example i tend to reject and hold back(okz i admit my rational is not to push myself too ahrd cos i dun wanna get hurt or die for nothing) so the fatigue part is useless to me.Originally posted by lwflee:It is not to increase stamina lah...If you are singing, you are not working hard enough!
It is probably one of those things they ripped off the US army and marines again. You know...they have a HooAH culture...and all that nonsense.
Hao shue Bu shue, shue ze zong mei yong de don xi.
of coz ppl everything also complain la....worst complain i saw on the forums is that one b!tch wrote to ST forums saying that the "MANGO" fashion boutique was playing inappropriate music.... singaporeans these days...everything must also complain....Originally posted by kopiosatu:everything also complain.
i think i should write in and say our water starting to taste like pee.
are the filters working at the newater plant?
(don't tell me how reverse osmosis works. its just a crap comment, like the 30K posts i have contributed)
see edited post.Originally posted by hisoka:no lah the stamina and fatigue part makes sense if you think of it. the problem is it doesn't work on all, for example i tend to reject and hold back(okz i admit my rational is not to push myself too ahrd cos i dun wanna get hurt or die for nothing) so the fatigue part is useless to me.
well when you sing,it will tax your lung power,so actually at first it will make those singing to have problem regulating their breathing but the lung now know its is not powerful enough and will try to build itself up to try catching up with the increase demands of it,just like if you do body building,the muscle will try to build itself up from heavier and heavier demands of working out.So it is actually to make you work to your max instead of not working hard enough.Originally posted by lwflee:It is not to increase stamina lah...If you are singing, you are not working hard enough!
It is probably one of those things they ripped off the US army and marines again. You know...they have a HooAH culture...and all that nonsense.
It is also dumb to train them to forget their fatigue in this way. The british army's Paras call route marches Tactical Advance to Battle. They are right. We seem to have forgotten that we are route marching for a purpose. Do we really want to advertise our presence by singing?
Hao shue Bu shue, shue ze zong mei yong de don xi.
3rd Guards where recruits last year Dec 04 to Mar 05 leh.Originally posted by Gordonator:3rd guards recruits, u know what to do now right?
If you want to train their hearts, to train their body to handle oxygen deprivation, then I suggest that short sharp busrts of speed, followed by periods of rest is the way to go (interval trg). Professional sprtsmen do that, why not the army? Singing does not really tax their lungs and there is no real way of monitoring who is not actually singing. Again, If you can sing, you are not training anything other than singing.Originally posted by Aveme:well when you sing,it will tax your lung power,so actually at first it will make those singing to have problem regulating their breathing but the lung now know its is not powerful enough and will try to build itself up to try catching up with the increase demands of it,just like if you do body building,the muscle will try to build itself up from heavier and heavier demands of working out.So it is actually to make you work to your max instead of not working hard enough.
True they can do this another way by making the trainees walk or run faster so that their breathing is more ragged,but well they will also involve way more muscular demand and lead to muscular fatigue way faster than is ideal for a long march.
Complaining about the wrong things in life, when it comes to vital issues like politics and rights, they suddenly become as compliant as sheep.Originally posted by AE86tofu:of coz ppl everything also complain la....worst complain i saw on the forums is that one b!tch wrote to ST forums saying that the "MANGO" fashion boutique was playing inappropriate music.... singaporeans these days...everything must also complain....