Originally posted by gnoik:If don sing loud and clear, go back company line sure kana jialat jialat.![]()
what an irony..on march 7th at 2100, 1GDS recruits began their 24km route march in battallion lvl..guess this resident would be rudely awakened 3times again.Originally posted by Manager433:Awakened thrice at night by recruits' singing
Today
March 7, 2006
Letter from Tan Lay Yan
I AM a resident of Marine Parade and my apartment block is situated next to East Coast Park.
In recent months, I have noticed the park has been increasingly used as a training ground for army recruits. On Feb 28 at midnight, I saw a huge group of recruits marching along the pedestrian walkway in the park. They were singing and chanting loudly.
I was rudely awakened at 3.30am when the recruits marched past the stretch of park near my block. Little did I expect that I would be awakened again at 5.30am and 6am by the recruits singing at the top of their voice!
While I appreciate the need to build up the recruits' stamina through road marches, such training should not be carried out at the expense of the residents' sleep. Ideally, army training near residential areas should be done before midnight. If it has to take place after midnight, the noise should be kept to a minimum.
and as quiet as fish.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Complaining about the wrong things in life, when it comes to vital issues like politics and rights, they suddenly become as compliant as sheep.![]()
Don't let people like her get to you.Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:I'm actually one of those soldiers taking part in the route march which unfortunately disturbed poor Ms Tan's sleep that night. I don't think we were singing that loud and besides, I wonder how she could've heard us from her flat, when East Coast Park is separated from Marine Parade housing estate by a belt of trees and an expressway.
Refer to my previous post. I live in Marine Parade, and yes, I heard you guys loud and clear. Heck, I could identify exactly what songs you were singing, and could even hear your Song I/C sometimes. Tell your Song I/C that he did a job well done.Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:I'm actually one of those soldiers taking part in the route march which unfortunately disturbed poor Ms Tan's sleep that night. I don't think we were singing that loud and besides, I wonder how she could've heard us from her flat, when East Coast Park is separated from Marine Parade housing estate by a belt of trees and an expressway.
i shall be a Fudgester!Originally posted by fudgester:Just remember that for every Ms Tan who's ungrateful of you, there's a Fudgester who appreciates you for what you're doing.
agree. but khatib camp cannot hear ppl singing leh. dieppe barracks also. lol. too quiet la these 2 camps in my area.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Don't let people like her get to you.
It's not as if you all march 24 clicks every night.What a petty woman...
If I hear troops marching and singing, I'd stand at the balcony and nostalgia might take over me..![]()
Even if they don't appreciate you, don't let that stop you from doing the right thing.Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:Thanks for all the positive comments. But it seems that they come from the guys mostly. Don't seem to have any girls showing some appreciation for us NSFs.
ohh weiii... what no gal appreciate ? Got lah , dnt worry auntie appreciate wor..Originally posted by dakkon_blackblade:Thanks for all the positive comments. But it seems that they come from the guys mostly. Don't seem to have any girls showing some appreciation for us NSFs.